12YO BATTLING BRAIN CANCER

Let’s Help Omarion
Now!! … Share Share SHARE THIS POST NOW !!!! Please SHARE NOW
Troy Jackson is like any other 12-year-old boy. He often sneaks away for a game of football or other sporting activities in his Parade Gardens community, and he has a huge appetite. Currently, the youngster is unable to attend classes and spend lunchtime with his friends at Holy Trinity High School as he is a patient at The University Hospital of the West Indies (UHWI), battling brain cancer.

His mother, Latisha Reid, said that not only is she finding it difficult to come to terms with Troy’s harsh reality, but she is also unable to find the $1.3 million that is needed for his chemotherapy.

“I really want him to do chemo, but I can’t afford it. It hard to look at my son in a hospital bed … . He is a very strong boy, and I am really seeking the assistance for him to do the treatment that is required. He is so young and full of life, and he has his whole life ahead of him and did well the last term in school. Please help, we will be appreciative of every dollar we receive,” she said.

Troy, a first-former at Holy Trinity, was hospitalised on New Year’s Day. His mother told THE WEEKEND STAR that she knew he wasn’t his usual self when he began losing his appetite late last year.

“In November, I realised he wasn’t eating or anything, and I find that really odd because he loves his food. He loves to play football and was a very active child. In early December, he was walking, and then him just trip and drop. Him nuh knock out or anything, but him keep on a drop,” she said.

“I was shocked when I saw him having seizures. I can’t explain the amount of thoughts that ran through my mind because I had no idea what was happening. He kept saying he had a headache.”

Reid said she decided to get her child checked out by a doctor and took him to the Bustamante Hospital for Children when he began having seizures. He was later transferred to the Kingston Public Hospital, where doctors recommended he undergo a variety of examinations, including a CT scan.
“After reading the results of the CT scan and MRI, I was told that he had a tumour at the back of his brain and was sent to the UHWI, where he did a surgery to remove the tumour,” she said.

Portions of the tumour were sent to a lab for testing, but Reid said the results were life-changing.

“They said he has cancer on his brain, and that is the worst news I have ever heard in my life. It is really hard to accept because this minute he was a healthy and active child and now, he is in a hospital bed with cancer. And $1.3 million is a lot of money to find, so I am just reaching out to whoever reading this article to help us,” she said.

Persons wishing to assist Troy Jackson may contact his mother, Latisha, at 876-539-1947.
Kezian Hibbert

3 thoughts on “12YO BATTLING BRAIN CANCER