MA’AM WE FEEL FI BUJU BUT US HAVE DI HANDLE AND WE HAVE DI BLADE

47618buju_florida-Optimized

Dear Editor,

The news that the US Federal prosecutors dropped the gun charge against international reggae star Buju Banton was bittersweet. The prosecutors only agreed to drop the charge if and only if Buju dropped his appeal.

This is tragic for Buju because he had an excellent chance of winning his appeal due to juror misconduct in his trial. One of the jurors that decided Buju’s fate is now being prosecuted for illegally conducting independent research and lying about it in court. Her case is set for trial in Tampa, Florida, in August.

Buju, who has probably lost all faith in the American justice system, appears to be tired of the battle with Uncle Sam. After two trials, two appeals, and three lawyers, Buju no longer believes he can get justice in the US and does not want to have to do an additional five years if he gambles and loses his appeal.

I am not surprised, and I understand his position. What I don’t understand is the Jamaican Government’s silence in the face of such a miscarriage of justice. Uncle Sam can steal away one of Jamaica’s favourite sons on trumped-up drug charges and we don’t put up a fight?

Granted, the appeal for justice on Buju’s behalf may fall on deaf ears, given the Obama Administration’s seemingly close relationship with gay rights groups and the grudge misguided gay groups have had against Buju for over 20 years for a song he penned as a teenager. However, despite the obstacles, the Jamaican Government should speak up for Buju and not blindly accept the US Government’s version of the facts surrounding his case. Especially since, the US criminal justice system has one of the worst reputations in the world and Buju’s case was fraught with holes.

Buju’s music has inspired many in Jamaica and the world. His album Til Shiloh is regarded as one of the best reggae albums of all time. Even Lisa Hanna, Jamaica’s minister of youth and culture, recently posted the lyrics to Buju’s song Not an easy road on Instagram during her recent tribulations. In the footsteps of Bob Marley and Peter Tosh, Buju championed the cause of the oppressed and was indeed the voice of the voiceless. Now that he is unable to speak, we must speak for him and fight for his freedom. In the fight for justice for Buju, the Jamaican Government should be on the front lines.

Tasha C Rodney, Esq

Miami, Florida

[email protected]

0 thoughts on “MA’AM WE FEEL FI BUJU BUT US HAVE DI HANDLE AND WE HAVE DI BLADE

1. What miscarriage of justice? Buju is lucky he only got 10 years in prison; you have many black people in prison now doing 25 years to life because of the Rockerfeller laws back in the days. If he went through with his appeal and won it, he would probably have gotten a new trial but that is no guarantee of freedom. Entrapment defense rarely work nowadays esp when you have the defendant on video tasting drugs plus the copious amount of wiretap evidence and him engage others in a conspiracy.

1. It is a miscarriage of justice. Remember it was the U.S government who sought to set up Buju it is not that they caught him in action. The system is wicked and unfair. No wonder many Jamaicans are becoming radical

1. Do you believe that Buju was involved in the drug trade even before he was set up by this guy? In his own words he said he was an investor in the drug business (putting up his own money to finance others actively involved in the process). You would be surprised at the individuals in Jamaica who are passive investors in the drug business. I know quite a few, including women.

He seems to be very familiar with the drug routes through one or more of the smaller Islands. This intimate knowledge was pointed out by the Judge in his case, to refute his claim of being set up.

Also, He is on record as saying that he was involved in the trading of “Blood” Diamonds.

1. it nuh matter if he was..what they should have done if they knew he was involve was to try to catch him doing his thing since dem did feel that way..setting him up was very unfair

2. I agree with you. A star of his magnitude he should not have found himself in this situation, its pure greed on his part period. In regards to the Jamaican government, why should they get involve? whether or not it is entrapment, if he was not interested in the deal, they would not have been able to catch him, greed. when you go to another country and break their laws, you have to suffer the consequences and not expect your government to get involve which could cause a political crisis which Jamaica can do without.
      The only issue I find with the case is him being convicted for fire arm offences which they did not find him with. I would have appeal that.
      His musical career and those it has influenced has nothing to do with the case. One important reason why him being influential should not have even been mention, is, the fact that he was caught trying to deal in heavy drugs, a drug that has destroyed many a lives including Jamaicans. Reflect on those Jamaicans who were in the US from back in the days, many made ridiculous amount of money, many started smoking what he was looking to get involved with and their lives were destroyed one way or another. If it was not death it was prison or if it was not those it was pauperdom (if there is such a word) where they got so broke from using the substance until they were no longer able to maintain their addiction, where families were profoundly affected because of the whole devastation of the said drug . Is that the kind of influence you miss ESQ think Jamaica or any where else in the world need to influence the Citizen?
      Again, I am not sorry for him one bit, I would probably have more sympathy for a little struggler who don’t have any thing and just a try. Don’t do the crime if you cant do the time simple.

2. We know that the system wicked but nobody force Buju to do anything. I disagree with your opinion bout miscarriage of justice. He was offered a plea deal and him refuse, hence them a throw the book at you to spite you. Buju was just too arrogant, stupid and greedy. How a big entertainer like Buju allows someone whom he has never met before to entice him into a conversation about a drugs deal on a plane? That’s just comical.

Then when him drop a him yard a Florida him still taking this bredda calls and then get known drugs man involved with guy. I personally think 10 years is excessive but he knew the risks. We need to take personal responsibility for our actions. Him never need to take that road.

1. I would refuse too because technically he wasn’t guilty of anything but a set up. Greedy yes stupid yes but they were unfair..It different when u investigate someone but to pay an informant to set someone up is foul

3. I fail to believe this was written by an attorney. She is completely detached from reality, the judicial system and the political clout she thinks Jamaica has in the US.
    One big bag a madness
    Buju was caught red handed and on video with cocaine. Where is the miscarriage of justice? And what does his musical abilities have to do with his penalty for a crime committed?
    I really hope this woman is a ticket lawyer cos she can’t get my money fi crap.
    I’ve heard FB village lawyers plead a better case for Mark than this woman.
    Shame on you lady!

1. I sorry if I missed the point the lawyer made about the Juror misconduct. Wasn’t Buju retried a second time and the first conviction overturned after the juror misconduct and found guilty a second time? Maybe my memory is going, but that is how I remember the series of events.

4. @Met i agree wit u 100 look here they set the man up n turn around give him 10years that is so fuked up on so many levels. Yes him fool fi ah carry conversation wit ppl weh drap from da sky but don’t tell me da man should pay with his life. so it goes to show u how shady the system is

5. That set up argument is a bag a bull because if your not a thief no one can influence you to engage in that act,But away from all that there is a word name KARMA and buju himself know he his doing time for other crimes not tried

1. @Black Knight and that other crime would get him life and place him next to Kartel. Here is someone who is knowledgeable and I know how much Buju is a thinker so, he will sit in his prison cell and know it’s the blood that he has on his hands why he is there.
      As far as set up…are we expecting the cops to wait to catch us in a murder if they have information we are planning to having someone killed? No, they will pose as the hitman to get your ass for murder for hire…no different from what they did with Buju…this is standard operating procedure. No damn set up.

6. (Wiswize) understand he had to turn down that plea because if he didn’t they could take all he own and said it was derived from drug dealing.

7. I agree 100% with Foxy. This was a pointless, poorly written article from an Esquire.
    Buju’s case is entrapment yes – but the Feds don’t entrap random strangers. They must’ve known about Buju’s involvement on way or another to set him up! He committed the crime and has to contend with the consequences. It’s the law of the land. He is talented, and I don’t think he was starving.

8. Met, don’t forget that I know Buju intimately. Yes, I am privy to other information that lets me know he deserves to be where he is, if not for this charge, then at the very least it’s karma.
    But beyond that, Buju went with the man into the garage with the drugs to transact the drug deal. It wasn’t just a matter of Buju saying yes, the coke cheaper a Columbia and ray ray.
    How the hell this rastaman know so much if he wasn’t involved can be speculated on, but he actually met up with dude. In any other case, with any other individual, that caught on camera is signed, sealed and delivered.
    Where is the entrapment? They sent an informant to get close to him and it didn’t even take the man 2 seconds to get Buju spilling his guts.
    The biggest drug cases ever sold is through informants either on the inner circles or ones placed their by law enforcements, and this also includes the mob….recall Danny Brasco

On top of all that, when Buju was offered 2 years when he was out on bail to perform at Best of the Best, Buju would only serve 2 additional months in jail with time served by because his ego got so big and he has a ton of yes men around him, he felt that his superstar status would make him invincible (boy was he deluded) and he didn’t want to give up his green card. I guess he probably still has the house in Tamarac.

Anyway, I hope he learned how to be humble, and if he could return to the Buju of old…then perhaps the Almighty will use him to save the musical landscape in Jamaica. But nuh sorry fi Buju….trust me on that.

1. Foxy if I am a thief ketch mi while mi a teef but dont rub butter pan mi mouth den call mi teef. If the feds were privy to information about Buju being a drug dealer it is what they should have used to convict him. Not a set up..And it nuh have nothing fi do with his personality or prior dealings..how can someone set someone up then seh dem guilty?

2. You are right, Foxy! If the DEA or US Government had to wait to catch the major drug kingpins in the act, they would still be in Mexico living the high life and killing thousands. The big guys never touch product or facilitate its movement and sale through lower rank proxies.

BTW, the Town House in Tamarac, Florida, was foreclosed on back in October 2011. He brought that TH for $239,900 in January of 2006 and sold after foreclosure for $110,000 in March 2012.

http://www.bcpa.net/RecInfo.asp?URL_Folio=494110380800

1. @Star, talk to the contrary my girl/yute…unless Buju himself a liad cos a Buju si dung in front a mi and tell mi dat!

1. Yes is true him married to a white lady but I dont think she live in Florida , and have a child wid har to a dat mi did hear

1. Met, me and Buju go way back. You know how many times him call and ask me to cook for him he’s coming over. We talk about everything. Them can’t tell yuh nuttin bout Buju wey mi nuh know.
          My only beef is he and Sebastian were friends, and yuh must know yuh self enough fi nuh duh certain f**kery and from that went down…I had a different view of him.

9. Mi did sorry fi Buju, but him did just plain rang, no going and or coming bout dah. Mi mother always say if u nuh guh fowl roose den dem won’t shit pan u, and if u bud fly too fast dem fly past dem nest. Greed and stupidity not a good combination. Buju hit all three nails right pan di head. On a side note di writter wah seh “all Lisa Hannah use song when she hab har tribulations” u seh dah as a joke/neat diss nuh true, Anywho nuh seh suh again, dat might all get Buju a next 10. dwl

10. Come on man everyone knows buju got caught he not a saint,simple we all human if we get caught we going to fight to come out of it simple. He can’t beat them they have him. What he should of don’t was cop out to the two years they offer him but he want to defend a dumb visa and all the rasta bullshit..they would of taken his rights regardless if he won the trial..buju bug up its all love the Feds has a 99% conviction rate your friends and your lawyers are parasites …I myself beat a fed case and it was pure God and the grace of a stupid person caused me to win… Bless up

11. Come on man everyone knows buju got caught he not a saint,simple we all human if we get caught we going to fight to come out of it simple. He can’t beat them they have him. What he should of don’t was cop out to the two years they offer him but he want to defend a dumb visac and all the rasta bullshit..they would of taken his rights regardless if he won the trial..buju bug up its all love the Feds has a 99% conviction rate your friends and your lawyers are parasites …I myself beat a fed case and it was pure God and the grace of a stupid person caused me to win… Bless up

12. Foxy which white lady buju married??
    That is not the truth!!!! And am not asking
    now you got me thinking about all you said earlier, because i was here thinking you knew everything about him…….. Not true MET!! Bout married white lady u Liessss

13. HE WHO IS WITHOUT SIN LET HIM CAST THE FIRST STONE. BUJU A DO HIM TIME LOW HIM MEK HIM DO IT. THE AMOUNT A SHEGGRY THAT OUR OWN POLITICIANS DO INCLUDING DRUG RUNNING AND LEGAL MURDER AND I DO NOT HEAR THE RIGHTEOUS INDIGNATION THAT I HEAR FOR BUJU. HOW ABOUT CALLING OUT OUR CROOKED POLITICIANS LETS SEE, WHERE SHALL WE START. HOW ABOUT THE LIGHT BULB SCANDAL TO START. AT LEAST BUJU IS DOING TIME FOR HIS INDISGRESIONS SOME OF OUR HONORED POLITICIANS WILL NEVER DO A DAY AND NUFF BLOOD DEH PON DEM HAND.

14. Just like how vybz kartel and his cronies were killing people for a long time it’s the same thing with buju and drugs. Long time him inna it. No entrapment whatsoever, if I’m not involved in arms trafficking nor know nothing about it how will the feds “set mi up”? The Driver song just like the hot nigga song by Bobby shmurda is a self snitching song self-admitting in illegal activities.

1. The truth hurts however it has to be accepted. Buju was too greedy and stupid on top of it. Buju just do your degree and come out. if you do the crime do the time simple. I am not sorry for you as it was not wants why you got involved ,it was pure Greed.

15. JAMAICA BEG FI BUJU?? WHY HIM SO SPECIAL? SAME SUH UNNU DID AH BEG FI KARTEL SO WHO NEXT FI BEG AN FEEL SORRY FAH?.. DUDUS??? SMH NO SAH DEM PPL YAH NUH EASY, DONT FEEL SORRY FI PPL WEH NUH GIVE TWO DAMN SHIT ABOUT YOU. GUH WORRY BOUT THE MANY INNOCENT PPL OUT THERE WHO GETTING KILLED AND THROWN IN PRISON FOR FOOLISHNESS..MISCARRIAGE MY ASS