TEN YEAR OLD BOY MURDERED IN PORTLAND

BEFUDDLED residents of Portland Cottage in Clarendon were yesterday still trying to piece together the puzzle behind the brutal slaying of a 10-year-old boy in their community.

The rotting body of Juvea Cooper was found Sunday morning buried behind a house in a shallow grave — with its throat slashed and one of an arm severed — four days after the boy was reported missing. The boy’s severed arm was found in a separate grave at the front of the house.

His death has left the community in shock, with concerned residents questioning what could have motivated someone to carry out such a heinous act.

“A from last Thursday him go missing and mi go mek a report to the police. All during that time I was hoping and praying that nothing had happened to my child,” Juvea’s mother, Tamieka Richards, told the

omg-Optimized

Jamaica Observer yesterday, noting that all the while she had harboured hopes that her child — one of five — would be found alive.
But her hopes would turn to grief Sunday when Juvea’s remains were found.

Yesterday, the police told the

Observer that three people have since been held in connection with the boy’s killing.

“Two women and a man have been brought in for questioning into this matter,” Assistant Superintendent of Police Sherika Service said during a tour of the area.

But, while the police said that they were yet to establish the motive behind the killing, angry residents alleged that there could be an element of witchcraft behind the crime.

“Based on what wi hearing, is witchcraft. When dem see the situation a get bad dem bury him body,” said one resident, as others alleged that there was a noticeable increase in John Crows in the vicinity of the house behind were the body was found.

But Juvea’s mother would only divulge that she was involved in an argument with the two female suspects before the whole incident.

She said the argument started after her son threw a stone that broke a window at the home of the suspects. She alleged that the women demanded that the windows be replaced before the end of the day and went on to issue threats against her and her son.

Yesterday, the the police said they would not comment on the supposed threats and allegations of witchcraft, but said they would be investigating “all angles” as they try to close the case.

12 thoughts on “TEN YEAR OLD BOY MURDERED IN PORTLAND

1. I hate to jump to conclusion before all d facts r in but how could someone kill & dismember a child because he broke a window?! D devil is really on d lose smh. Rip lil one

2. What is Lisa Haanah doing bout this …..what ???? all these kids that’s dying no one to speak up for them it’s a shame Jamaica need fi do better .

1. What are you doing about it? What is the next person doing about it? With all due respect, what do you expect Lisa Hanna to be doing about it? Does she have the ability to read people’s minds to know they intend on committing crimes against children and jump in and stop it before it happens? We ALL need to play our part to protect the most vulnerable in society. We need to report when we overhear certain conversations, we need to stop harbouring criminals, we need to report criminal activity in the community, we need to start forming neighbourhood watch groups, we need to do all that we can do to make JA a safe place for all. Most of all we need to know how to solve conflicts without resorting to verbal or physical violence, yes, we can agree to disagree and keep it moving.

3. EVIL PICE A SHIT… I have a 9 yr old grandson there would be murders if this was mine God knows. God knows my heart and it could never servive this.. The reason why it happened isn’t important…Rip little man

4. That’s crazy, the cutting of the hand suggested some stolen property or touching going on, was shocked when I see it was because of a broken window. Some Jamaicans are just uneducated and therefore their actions reflect the mentality of a savage and this is why so many silly murders are committed. Plenty of ignorant savages running around and without better schools these crimes will persist.