Former People’s National Party member of Parliament for St Andrew East Rural Damion Crawford has come under fire on social media website Twitter, for a tweet criticising the possible savings to be had from a smaller Cabinet.
The tweet from Crawford’s handle, @DamionCrawford, this afternoon read: “So Ja saves $2 mil ja dollars a month due to a smaller cabinet…. impact zilch”.
Prime Minister Andrew Holness this afternoon announced the members that will form the new Cabinet and their responsibilities at a swearing-in ceremony at King’s House in St Andrew.
The new Government, which has 18 ministers and four ministers of state, is smaller than the Cabinet formed by the Portia Simpson Miller-led Administration, which had 20 ministers and eight state ministers.
In his comments during the swearing-in ceremony Holness said: “The size of the Cabinet signals our intention as a Government to be efficient and to be as frugal as possible in the governance of the country. We are committed to changing how Government is run, not just talking about it.”
Crawford’s tweet upset some social media users who took him to task.
Devon Thompson @noved_dyoll stated: “@DamionCrawford that was pretty DUMB Damion. I understand though… 2 million is chicken feed in your party.”
Chef Kennardo @KennardoHolder tweeted: “@DamionCrawford I have a lot of respect for you, like you a lot but that was a petty immature jab that was below you. A dollar is a dollar.”
Nicole Cameron @NikiSkye said: “@DamionCrawford so 24mil a year is useless in a country that is as poor as ours? That’s 120 mil over a term.”
Tracy-ann Rahjazz @teewally said: “@DamionCrawford I would believe 2mil saved can be utilised elsewhere especially towards the health sector. Better than nothing.”
While Shaun Reid @Shaunreidpaints tweeted: “@DamionCrawford I expected better from Damion…”
It can pay the JPS bill for starters!
MEt, remember I wrote about a week ago that he can possibly return to government when he’s more mature? Him have a ego issue.
BTW, D.C. you over here a read mek you use the word ‘zilch’ or a you energy me picked up earlier? 😀
** now you not in politics mind whey you string up de speaka dem cause jail won’t miss you de next time you violate pon yu speech :ngakak
Mr. Crawford, it is all about the principle.
Me say me love you and detest you sometimes, Lalibella! You have a gift of patience and high tolerance fi human phuckry while remaing calm till it funny and annoying at the same time 😀 me void of patience and mannaz. “Mr. Crawford” came as a sheep, but him costume slip and a show him wolf features.
Clovis drew him in true form. MEt ooy! Angelfish no surface yet?
Who dat ooo
Pryceafish
PP
:ngakak oh
LOL @PhantomPhoenix
Damion di 2mil more than YOUR monthly salary
Him a do maths now, but when him was getting paid plus getting pocket money fi shell dung de place him neva did a worry bout zilch’ 😀
PP
Him used to get 300k a month so all di likes a him shudden even seh a word
Damion’s openly expressive personality will be his rise and fall. He needs to be careful with those seemingly idle twitter fingers
Lalibela thank u for ur comment..it’s the principle that counts…
WOW!!! 2Mil a month a zilch in a country like Ja n d nurse dem caan get pay?? him really sidung n do d maths before him tun twitter fingers? Nasty Crawford u couldnt fool me u n d rest a comrade dem use to rob up tax paey money dats y it bun u ya now so u caan even see d maths – my ting stop college n algebra n me could a add u n see d difference u should b ashame :hoax2 :hoax2
What a petty soul
Like money mussy low or something. Why would he say some stupid garbage like that
Yuh barely a get 3000 US a month as big politician…well he was…mi nuh sure what him a get now…but that could pay him three months and lef change n he really open him mouth and say something so stupid
De ras mussy a duck him pardna oman yah now 😀 him seem like a fus hand draw somebody when him did a SHELL dung de place. :hammer
2 millions times 12 monnths / 1year =24 millions times 4 years (minimal JLP first term) = 96 millions. So this young man is saying Jamaican saving 94 millions over a 4 year period is nothing? Shame on you rent a dread because that can go a far way to much needed resources.
@ Met a just the other day 2 Sugar said and I was with the idea on placing Crawford on the JLP’s team. But need time to see who to replace him with.Damn that was a close one. Thanks Crawford. Because the struggle was real on who to replace u with on the JLP’s side.
The comment was actually made in a conversation about the size of the cabinet and if you can actually make savings by making a cabinet smaller than it should be.He went on to say the cabinet should be as big as it should be to perform the task at hand.
I agree with him.He should continue to criticise the government and not allow anyone to censor him.
Kmt. he must have been talking to u because twitter don’t carry those long conversations.
Big or small have nothing to do with performance, i agree with holiness making the cabinet smaller to cut cost, there was lack of accountability on the pnp side a dat Crawford fi talk bout.
Zilch to him caz dem know wah dem did a du///all dem atalk dem nuh cah nuttn bout the reg citizens a jamdung.. Fool about to heng himself..dem seh time longer than rope
Damian continue wid dis behaviour…but mi glad caz it show how shallow u really are. Dis nuh immaturity, him seh wah deh pan him mind and might be one of the most honest thing him seh of how him really fee. More soon come out from unda di sheep clothing..As Bob seh, you can fool some people some time but not all the people all the time…time mi gi all a unu time..nogood rascals
Wont make a difference because what he’s saving from the cabinet will go to some big name uptown person as consultant pay for the different ministries.
Thank you!!!!! That savings will not be allocated to make a difference.
Good morning @ GingerGarlic nuh tru look how me did a make space fi him come in a me life. Me still think him have potential inno, what you think?
@2 Sugar Him have potential. But him make mi nervous. Him mouth, him mouth.