It was chaos at Meadowrest Memorial Gardens over the weekend when family and friends from Greenwich Farm went to bury their loved one, only to find out no burial spot was booked.
The baby mother of deceased Carl Salmon — who was killed on Marcus Garvey Drive January 3 — said she paid a woman known as “Yvette” of Harmony of Rest Funeral Home, at 133 1/2 Orange Street, Kingston, $240,000.
The distraught woman, who is a mother of three, told the news that the package includes two television advertisements, which were not aired, a burial spot at Meadowrest, programmes and transportation to the cemetery.
However, on Sunday afternoon, upon entering Meadowrest, mourners were told that the name of the deceased was not listed for burial on the grounds.
“Yvette was coming with us and turned on Spanish Town Road claiming she had another funeral to sort out and we arrived here only to find out no money was paid,” the irate woman lamented.
“Is persons who were at their funeral gave us some money and we walk and beg and one family member went and withdrew $40,000 to help deal with it,” she said.
“Is $83,000 we must pay for the body to bury. We can’t take it back home and he has to be buried. Is me alone with the three children and Salmon was working with China Harbour and they promised to give something but up to now nothing we don’t get —” the woman lamented, her words cut off mid-sentence, in a rain of frustrated tears.
Salmon was later buried at the cemetery.
Efforts by the media to contact ‘Yvette’ were unsuccessful and the location was not opened for business when checks were made.
However, a worker at the cemetery who spoke on condition of anonymity, told the media that this was “not the first time that issues like this had happened with the same lady” and it was a recurring trend.
This is a damn shame and embarrassment to go to bury yuh family Husband r baby daddy only to find out the spot you paid for was not there…I hope dem hold her and beat out every muma red cent out a her…how can pple be so heartless…the lady sound like it was her last money she had to bury her spouse and dis bitch rob her
Yvette need some box an tump dung teifing wretch
So why Meadowrest never put out a statement to the public telling them to be aware of thid scam,and let ppl know the proper channels to go thru when booking a burial spot. Yvette,there is a special place in hell fi ppl like you.
And Yvette will be one of those wickeds who will seh a work she a work
I would beat up Yvette badd and she
would a have to pay me back and all after that i would give her a next beating.wicked and thief in the midst of such loss, the people them a face unnecessary disgrace..
Scammers working every industry now. As if planning a funeral nuh stressful enough. Some ppl sowing some seeds of karma. ‘Yvette’ mi sorry fi u when you have to reap your harvest, just memba you haffi reap wah you sow. You don’t need no human being fi lick you dung or nutten cause you have a bountious harvest ahead. You shall eat your belly full of all the sorrows you gave, just memba fi belch big and wipe you lips clean of the froth.
Yvette, yu playing a very “dead-ly” game wid yu life. Yu keep doing dis shit, and soon yu wings dem going get clip.