- by Met
‘She never told me she already had a child’
A 39-year-old man has asked an Agege Customary Court to put an end to his marriage, due to issues of incompatibilities.
Babatunde Sofunlola had approached the court complaining bitterly about his wife, Omolola who she claimed lied about personal life.
“My wife changed as soon as we got married. She was so desperate to get married that she lied about virtually everything including the whereabouts of her real parents.
“It was after we got married that I discovered that her parents are in Ilorin and that she has a seven-year-old son, whom she had for an elderly man.
“I confronted her with all these facts and as usual, she denied them. She is also fond of receiving strange calls from different men. I believe my life is no more safe with such a person, “he said.
He, therefore, asked the court to end the marriage which was contracted four years ago.
The respondent, Omolola however refuted all the allegations. “We are currently having crisis in our marriage because I had a miscarriage thrice.
“My mother in-law is the brain behind all these. She goes around spreading false stories about me. I don’t know what my offence is. She claims I bewitched her son into marrying me.
“I have gone to different prophets and I have been told that she is behind all my miscarriages. I always miscarry when I am four months pregnant. I told my husband about this revelation and he said the best thing was to move out of the family house where we are currently staying.
“I still love my husband and I don’t want to end our marriage. I believe that if we go for proper counseling we can work things out, “she said.
The court president, Chief R.A Williams adjourned the case till May 16 for possible settlement while he asked to maintain peace.
A mother can really lie bout her pickney?