CRIMINALS USING FAKE POLICE PARAPHERNALIA

A top level probe is being carried out into the seizure of a quantity of fake police paraphernalia following an incident in Duhaney Park, St. Andrew on Wednesday afternoon during which an alleged gunman was killed.

Investigators are concerned that criminals could be using fake items with police branding to trick members of the public.

Superintendent Stephanie Lindsay, head of the police Corporate Communications Unit, said the police were called to the community after gunshots were heard. They found the body of a man with multiple gunshot wounds, who at first had appeared to be a police officer. Upon further inspection, it was discovered that the man held a fake police idenfication card.

After searching the victim’s car, more materials closely resembling police paraphernalia, such as overall vests, caps marked ‘police’ and another ID, were uncovered.

Superintendent Lindsay noted, “They look very close, but looking at them, they are not the same as these used by us.”

Investigators later ascertained that the man who was killed was deported to Jamaica.

A firearm was reportedly taken from the body.

The police are trying to ascertain how he was killed.

The police communications spokesperson, in the meantime, urged members of the public as well as members of the police force to be cautious of unscrupulous persons representing themselves as officers.

“We are saying now to members of the public that they are to be extremely careful when looking at these persons. We are also saying to our members that given what is happening, we are asking them to cooperate fully with members of the public when they request them proper identification,” she declared.

One thought on “CRIMINALS USING FAKE POLICE PARAPHERNALIA

1. Me no business to how him dead. One less parasite pon de society.

Killer thank you…but yu fi dead too because association have you tainted.

Nuff people well and know a long time dem masquerading as police…one gone :newyear