WTF AFRICA- WIFE SEH HUSBAND BREED HAR AGEN AND DOE FEED HAR

A woman, Abiola Osho has approached Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, seeking the dissolution of her two and a half-year-old marriage to her husband, Niyi Osho.

Abiola alleged that her husband was not caring, neglected her and their children and was fond of beating her.

She thus prayed the court to terminate their union, grant her custody of their children and mandate him to be responsible for their children’s upkeep.

She stated thus before the court president, Chief Olasunkanmi Agbaje.

“When I got married to my husband two and a half years ago, he promised to be the best husband ever, but my experience was far from this.

“He showed me no care and paid me no attention. Our relationship got worse when I became pregnant with our first child.

‘He starved me throughout the nine months of pregnancy and failed to give me money to seek medical attention or buy the necessary things needed by the baby. I was only able to buy these items a day to the baby’s delivery.

“I could have died after delivery but for my parents. I took ill and was hospitalised for weeks. It was my parents who ran around to gather money for my treatment.

“Our relationship grew worse after I was discharged from the hospital. He got easily irritated and flared up any time we had an argument. Most times, he would end up beating me.

“I got pregnant again nine months after our first child and he meted out to me the same treatment like the first. I left for my parents’ place three days after the christening of our second child because I was dying of hunger.

“I decided to leave in the night so as to hide under the dark because I was a pitiable sight.

Also Read: ‘After impregnating me, he moved from house to house to avoid me’

“I left for my parents’ home with no shoes on. I had no cloth to tie our baby to my back. Whenever he came to see our children, he would sometimes give them N500 and on many occasions, nothing.

“My lord, I can’t continue to live a miserable life being married to my husband. I believe my children and I will fare better without him. I want a new lease of life. I, therefore, pray that you separate us and grant me custody of our children.

“I also plead with the court to compel him to be responsible for our children’s upkeep.”

Niyi refused to admit claim and stated before the court that all his wife had said were lies.

“My lord, I have listened patiently to all that my wife had said and I boldly state before this court that they are lies.

“I was surprised when served a letter asking me to appear in court today. My lord, I refuse to accede to divorce mainly because of our children’s welfare.

“All that my wife is concerned about is her business. She told me she can’t leave in the house built by me because it is quite a distant from her shop. I, therefore rented a one-room apartment for her close to her shop.

“She said I don’t give her and our kids feeding allowance; my lord I once fell off an okada when I went to grind yam flour and corn for the home. The scars of the wounds I sustained during the accident are still on my legs. She kept these foodstuffs in the house till they got spoilt.

“She left my house with the pretence that she wanted to pay her parents a visit. She has been there for almost two months now and it pleases her parents to have her with them.

“I check on her and our children every morning on my way to work and would always give her N2, 000 or N1, 000 depending on my purse.

“She knew I once had a wife who bore me three children who are presently living with me. She kept complaining I was taking care of these children better than hers. She, therefore, dropped her first child with me in the shop but I asked my apprentice to return the baby to her.

“She has come to court because I have stopped giving her money. I told her she won’t receive a dime from me until she moves back home.

After listening to the couple, the court president, Chief Olasunkanmi Agbaje adjourned the case till November 17 and asked them to come to court with their children and parents.