- by Met
A 54-year-old man, Mr Sheyi Imoohi, has asked an Ikorodu Customary Court in Lagos State to dissolve his marriage because his wife is a drunk.
Sheyi, who is presently unemployed, told the court that he was no longer interested in their four-year-old marriage which is blessed with a child.
According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), he described his fifth wife as a drunk and a troublemaker.
“My wife drinks a lot; I mean she drinks to stupor. She usually fights me and threatens to kill me.
“I am no longer in love with her; please separate us,” the petitioner pleaded with the court.
Responding, the 35-year-old wife, Sarah, who is also unemployed, denied the claims and accused her husband of taking her to the beer parlour where she drinks.
“My husband is not saying the truth; I don’t drink the way he described me; I drink only when I follow him to the beer parlour.
“My husband is a flirt and spends any money he has on women. He sometimes asks me if he can still marry his ex-wife.
“He wants to divorce me so that he can marry another wife. My lord, I pray for settlement, “she said.
The court president, Mrs Funmi Adeola ordered the couple to remain at peace while the court investigates the matter.
She also ordered the husband to pay the sum of N3, 000 through the court as their child’s feeding allowance.
Areola adjourned the case till February 28 for continued hearing or judgment.
Likkle drinking fi gwan still… a Just abusing it a di prablem.,