ANATOMY OF DEFEAT

PICTURE
Dear Met,Metters n Peepers.
The 17th General Elections has come n gone and the dust has now settled.Any detailed analysis of the leading factors determining the final outcome will show it wasn’t so much that the JLP won but rather how the PNP self-destructed to lose it.Lets look at how it all went down.
1)The pnp took an ill advised approach of focusing their entire re-election platform on discrediting the JLP’s leader Anju and their governance plans.PPl wanted to hear more abt the Pnp’s own plan but it seemed liked Holiness’s house was the pnp’s manifesto.
2) Making unrealistic pronouncements and patronizing offers. Singapore took over a generation 35yrs+ to transform from third world to 1st world ironically using Jamaica’s own 1960’s model,so how n why was Poorsha telling the nation she would take 5yrs??What happened to the pnp’s 26yrs b4??Didnt they outlined Vision 2030 clearly stating it would take till then for Jamaica to be 1st world n even spoke of missing that timeline so how comes Poorsha shave off 10yrs early?? All of a sudden pnp was gonna set up a disability council/agency to help the disabled?Why didn’t they set it up 20yrs +ago??This clearly showed the desperation for votes by pnp to so target the disabled,a bloc of votes we ain’t never seen or heard in their ads or manifesto b4 now!!
3) It was this same desperation that led the Pnp to covet n chase the Gay vote n support in the 2011 Elections.They won with that plan but it didn’t work this time cuz the gay ppl felt betrayed by Poorsha’s failure to truly legalize dem! Remember her visit to usa’s townhall n she was heckled n start cuss off the gays dem reminiscent of the tracing she gave shaw??Well the gays took their money n support elsewhere this time,just ask Pluggiesha n arlando terr!!
4)Lack of communication and discussion by the Pnp on the REAL issues impacting the country and a refusal to as much as debate same. Will you ever forget that the PM Poorsha must’ve done only 2 interviews in 4yrs,she doesn’t watch,read or listen the news,nor could u ask her an impromptu question without her being defensive n confrontational…are u kidding me??Bruce had a monthly programme for anybody to call n question him. Talking shyt bout she nah talk talk talk her way outta power so I guess that’s why she clammed up!!Well never again the ppl say,We will never accept a PM who refuse to engage us n only talk to us when she feels like she want to dictate whatever to us!!NEVER AGAIN so u try retire asap!!
5)The scandals are so much u could have 2 to 3 different top 10 ppl scandals without repeating any!The incompetence among several Cabinet Ministers n key Agencies heads were at epidemic levels.The level of lack of accountability was astounding!! Forever etched in our minds will be the nightmare of haunting expressions such as…Jennifer didn’t light the fire so she can’t be held accountable,Fenton said sorry n we know what he meant,the inarticulate minority pay them no mind,paulwell EWI,not bobby fault for the drought well let me stop cuz u probably don’t have all day to read em all if I list the rest.
6)Poorsha,Peter pumkin eater,Peter “I have a dream that i’m the true leader n Pm”,Paul Burke,Angella Burke,PJ are the architects of this massive pnp lost!It is massive cuz didn’t they say this is pnp country!!
PNP
7) horrific candidate selections or lack thereof…getting rid of proven qualified winners such as pryce,crawford,atkinson etc…the infighting which only slow dung a month b4 elections but the bad vibes still lingered!‎The pnp picked cricket bowler Darren Powell in what parallel universe was he qualified to be a MP,i mean if it was Courtney Walsh sure but Powell use to get hit for 6s n 4s out of the park,what had he done to be considered??He was the biggest joke candidate in the histrie of Jamaica’s election I swear…show me a bigger joker that had zero chance of winning????
8)Crime n the horrific nature of crimes got out of hand!Jamaicans were constantly on edge n wondering how much worse it will n could get when we read n saw n listen to the despicable details of murders.unfortunately what resonated most with ppl if you ask them was the unmitigated disaster that was Lisa Hanna. Look at the wutliss cutliss choice pnp dem pick for police commissioner??kmdt!!Lisa failed to protect the nation’s children in the real sense policywise and in general.
High levels of carnal abuse,missing children,child prostitution(back road raids prove this),physical abuse,teenage pregnancies and yes Children being Killers and murdered themselves!! All while the Queen pruned herself n pranced abt in her Pum tun Printer pon social media and traced all n sundry just ask Chronixx n Dayton!!Commendations to her though for belatedly finding “her voice” as indicated by the many shades she threw at Poorsha.Good for u Lisa,u no longer a puppet so tek a bow(literally n sthu on sm!!!)
9) The economy ,it is the economy stupid!!‎Trickle down economics doesn’t work,sure u can fix n stabalized key Macro-economic indicators but the rate of how that trickels down n impact the likkle average man is key. What use is inflation and NIR and passing Imf tests to the common sufferring man.He has no jobs,no prospects,he is hungry,his kids are hungry n failing in school when he is able to send them. Remember Crawford did tell the pnp that the way dem set the thing a man with a degree a do a man with cxc subjects job,the man with cxc a do the man that don’t have any subject job all just to make a hand to mouth chump change.
That mean the man that never have subject but could do certain menial job fi earn is now out of a work and is nuff ppl left school without a single subject!!JEEP is/was a resounding failure!Pnp failed to deliver on growth n jobs promises and came back to the electorate to promise even more bout we “poise’n the ppl said uve been saying that for 30yrs now,enuff!
10)‎ it is a widely held view that Rev Ronnie Thwaites was the star performer in the Pnp’s reign.I accept he was a breathe of fresh air as old as the moon as he is but I disagree n think Julian Robinson shone brightest! In fact if u really get down to the nitty gritty I will prove that Education was pnp’s biggest failure and can easily make a case that this is the main reason pnp lost n not the lack of debate!! Education is the main tool by which ppl can upgrade their lives and a nation upgrades its prospects and prosperity.
How did yall forget that the biggest effery i’ve ever heard in Jamdung histrie was the education Minister telling the ppl a bag a effery to include:
A) Teachers training now should look for jobs overseas
B)nurses should look abroad for jobs
C) except for certain university grads in specific fields,everybody else must look to migrate.
D)cut back on teacher’s benefits
These pronouncements almost crashed our entire higher educational system cuz ppl were like what’s the use taking out student loan n I wont get a job cuz the govt not hiring n say there won’t be any wuk?? Of course u know the reason giving was the dictate was from the IMF!!Poor Ronnie cuz imagine preaching education is the key to our future all this time then to turn round n say but there is no future at least not in yall building Jamaica so gwaan go build up white man cuntry!!!Wow!!
This is by no means an exhaustive list but just a “few” things that came readily to mind!The views expressed are of my own.Have a productive day.

5 thoughts on “ANATOMY OF DEFEAT

1. This is a fabulous article mi jus haffi read and nod. U read dem di whole a dem rights pan all whats wrong wid dem

2. Then how u lef out the campaign itself. The one ad weh really av mi weak bcuz it showed the miopic actions of their team, was the one wid the farmer inna wan trouziz look lakka manley gi him and the donkey look lakka it wudda beg u a billz like corner man. A chat bout “a taxes run country”. How u a talk progress n a show we pre-indep farmer profile? Weh d modern look deh? Fi attract sensible young ppl fi tek over? The one sector if Ja get it right we nice.