BRITISH COUPLE ROBBED ALL DEM MEDICINE

What was supposed to be a lovely getaway for Lisa Edwards Handcock and her husband, Dennis James Page, turned into a complete nightmare as their personal belongings were stolen at the guest house where they were staying on the weekend.

Handcock told THE STAR that she came to Jamaica to celebrate her 16th wedding anniversary, but had lost approximately £15,000 (more than J$2.5 million) in cash and other valuable items.

She stated that she was recommended to the St Andrew guest house by a longtime friend who lived close to the building.

“We had actually paid for two rooms as one of my other friends came with me to Jamaica after being in England for the past 22 years. We put our stuff down and went on the road and when we returned the next morning, our suitcase was missing and a bag full of clothes. The area appeared really calm so none of us expected this,” she said.

Among the items Handcock said were stolen were a Rolex watch, several pairs of shoes, wig, and electronics.

“There was no sign of forced entry as the locks were still in place when we returned. When we alerted the motel staff, they said they did not see or hear anything. When we spoke with the owner of the property, she was rather rude. She sounded as if she didn’t care,” she said.

Handcock said there were no security guards at the guest house but she felt safe because the building was equipped with security cameras and electronic gates.

MEDICATION STOLEN

“You have to get buzzed to get in or out. The police came with their thumb drive and got the footage from the camera, so we are awaiting a call from them. Me really give up on Jamaica and if I didn’t have family here, including my husband, I would not return,” she said. “I have lupus so I wear a particular set of make-up. I have to wear wigs so I invest in very expensive ones. My medication was in the bag with my wigs and that is gone as well. Because of the stress of what happened, my condition is acting up and I have no medication. I have to call my family overseas for them to send me some money.”

According to Handcock, they were given a refund and are now staying at another guest house in another parish.

When THE STAR contacted the guest house, a staff member, who didn’t wish to identify herself, stated that her manager was not in, but is aware of the complaints made by the former guests.

“We nuh know about dem stuff, enuh miss. Dem seh dem lose tings but we nuh touch nothing for dem,” she said.

The police have confirmed the incident and said that the matter is being investigated.

17 thoughts on “BRITISH COUPLE ROBBED ALL DEM MEDICINE

1. Dem look like dem can afford Rolex?! Kmfrt!! I know I’m not to judge buuuut!!! If u can afford “ROLEX” ur husband must can foot ur medical expenses instead of asking families overseas for financial aid!! Nuff costume accessory Rolex a sell still!!! Or invest in a good home and make it comfortable like a guest house so shit like this doesn’t happen!!! Penny wise and pound foolish!! :ngakak obviously unu nuh fix up weh unu come from so unu can’t go back in the pigsty so unu from guest house to guest house! Dam jokes!!!

2. This is such bull ! :ngakak :ngakak who the hell leaves $15k unattended? :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak

That wig on her head says made in china. These bitch gone stop bad name up me likkle country. Broke bitch

1. You know how much damage you assumptions may cause?

Nah say liva lip no get a few things taken BUT THIS BITCH INFLATING THE LOSS. Then again she could be lying altogether.

Nobody go to a guest house and just put down their things…worst 15k£ just so and gone till next day.

The police should ask customs how much dem declared upon entry and it better be £15,000 :hammer

1. If they can afford a rolex dem could have stayed at an all-inclusive place. Who travels with their real jewellery too, you travel with fakes so if you lose it no stress. Still not their fault this happened, but I wonder if ppl are truly still so naïve about how Jamaica set. Going to guest house in the 60s,70s and even 80s was a very safe choice, but in 2018 you can’t go to no guest house, especially one you know nothing about. You go an all-inclusive you automatically get transferred right to the airport so you don’t even have to deal with an independent taxi driver. Not saying things don’t get stolen at all-inclusives, but the likelihood is very slim. I hope they can recover their stuff.

2. this bl… cl… circus called Jamaica, here we go again this guest house need to be scandaled out bawl out dem name so that no one else go there unless u want a night f**k, all are under suspicion from the person who recommend to staffs people a England want come out and the fare alone is a big deterrent, someone was waiting for them, MET we need a icon pon ya wid a woman a bawl wid hand pon her head instead a the bike a ride wey

3. This place getting from wuss to wussarah, I prefer to give Barbados my money and I don’t like the dutty Bajans than go to the Country where I was born to let people rob and kill me. Cold have to bruk my bones before I returned to that Hell-Hole and invest my money and when I go I will forever stay in a all inclusive hotel.

4. Lisa u too bludcl@th lie, bout 15 grand worth ah things. . Mi Neva see u in a good wig yetttt. Lisa ah gwan like she name Beyoncé, bout 15 grand make up and wig. And Dennis is a deportee who live pon di island bout British couple. Lisa u go JA regular and u know seh u fi lock up u ting dem when u stay ah hotel. Wuss Dennis know how di ting go. Di man nuh so fool to leave Rolex idle in hotel room. When u go Jamaica u stay at Dennis yard so u wouldn’t carry all ah yuh belongings go guest house . Ah mus insurance u ah try claim. Stop make Jamaican look bad. U too wicked an lie… old bipolar gal

1. :kiss :kiss :kiss :kiss :kiss :kiss

THANK YOU A MILLION TIMES! This liva lip gyal look like it born fi lie and me no know which part a de man look like Rolex wearer…not to mention that bargin plastic wig she have on. A so dem tell lie pon de poor Island day in and out.

5. I’m on vacation right now and would never leave mi decent bedroom fi go stay a guest house :travel

6. Scammer Dennis and Lisa we took know you both.Yes Lisa is sick I think she should go back home her health comes first,but Dennis we watching you keenly because we know you finger slippery.