CHILD HIT BY TEACHERS CAR

It has been confirmed that a grade two student was killed on Tuesday during a motor vehicle mishap involving a teacher at the Anchovy Primary School in St. James.

He has been identified as eight year old Easton Stapelton.

A female vendor was also injured in the incident which occurred about 3:30.

Cheryl Grant Mitchell, Acting Principal of Anchovy Primary, told RJR News the teacher was trying to reverse when the incident occurred.

The vendor was taken to hospital for treatment.

Mrs Mitchell said the teacher had to be hospitalised but has since been released.

Counselling sessions were held with teachers and students on Wednesday.

5 thoughts on “CHILD HIT BY TEACHERS CAR

1. This is so awful. They have to ensure this never happens again. Make whatever changes are required no matter the cost to ensure no other child loses their life like this. Zone up and pen up, have parking attendants. I remember when I used to go pick up sister’s from their elementary school, it was a production they had in place with crossing guards and specific zones for school buses and parents separately. Unno do what’s needed. My heart goes out to the parents, I feel it.

2. U see this is the kind of journalism i hate. Yes she was trying to reverse but what happened really?? Cuz this is a big rass accident an mi woulda love fi know wah really take place.

3. Condolences to his family. The article doesn’t mention the sex of the teacher but as soon as I read it, I thought, I bet it’s a female teacher and and I bet like nearly every other Jamaican, a buy she buy har license, the island is filled with people who believe that the only impediment to Being a driver is not having car, having a car does not make you a driver, driving a car does not make you a driver, having a valid license does. The government needs to increase the penalty for driving without a valid licence, but until the corrupt police are eradicated, instead of saving lives, that will only turn into another revenue stream for them..smh