DREAM WEEKEND PATRON KILLED

Police investigators say they are still probing the early morning fatal shooting of a patron at a Dream Weekend event at the Cayenne Beach in Negril, Westmoreland.

Jean Mathieu, a 37-year-old businessman of Millsborough Crescent, Kingston was shot dead by a security guard during a reported confrontation.

The police have not released the details of the incident.

However, it understood that Mathieu tried to take a female without the requisite armband into the VIP section of the Dream Life Party.

He was reportedly denied by a security guard and a confrontation ensued.

According to the security guard, during the altercation, Mathieu hit him several times then pulled a weapon and pointed it at him.

That’s when the security guard reportedly pulled his licensed firearm and fired one shot hitting Mathieu in his chest.

Mathieu’s weapon was then taken and he was taken to hospital where he was pronounced dead.

Mathieu also lived in Montreal, Canada.

34 thoughts on “DREAM WEEKEND PATRON KILLED

1. Profile similiar to the last confrontation between security and uptowner. Only this time guardie never did ago tek nuh threat.

RIP sir! My comments is regarding the news report only.

2. Lord God!!! Too many guns and nobody backing from nobody! Mr.Uptown u wrong! Mr.security u wrong to! It ddnt had to end like this!

3. He is one of the investors for dream and he was trying to upgrade a girl to VIP and him and the security got into it… he wasn’t wearing his id pass… rip

4. I swear this guy looks like someone hat made the news a while ago for brandishing a gun. If I remember clearly it was some soca party and he was seen walking with the gun and waving it oround, think he was reportedly drunk. But I think his firearm was “taken away” so how him get it back (if is him of course). Anybody remember wha me a talk bout? Mawning and mannazz all.

5. Business Man from Uptown, yet he was trying to smuggle an UNAUTHORIZED female into the ppl dem place, ultimately costing him his life! Was it REALLY worth it?????

6. Well what if him did shoot before the security! Unuh a gwan like becaue he is uptown his life is more valuable. Him draw fi him gun too so he obviously was going to use it.

7. @G How is Mr Security wrong? When he was attacked and life was threatened by Mr uptown?
    Mr uptown simply felt too big n privilege n that’s why he got shot. So he was to hit the man several times n pull his gun n security was to take it? A blood run through all of us enu!
    Security has a family to go home to, mr uptown just full a him dam self n his ego lead him to his death.
    Unfortunate but a that ego do, Mek u Mek an ass of yourself.

8. NEVER DRAW YOUR WEAPON UNLESS YOU ARE GOING TO SHOOT. Any idiot should know that basic rule of gun ownership. The security guard have all the justification to shoot him and get off scotch free.

9. Yes Sugars I believe it’s the same person of whom you speak. Security based on most accounts not wrong. The security doing what he was paid to do securing the venue, securing the revenues and the patrons. So if he was indeed a part of the Dream team walk with the appropriate ID to prove it. If he drew his gun and point, the security by training or whatever naturally will defend himself. It’s sad it ended this way over something so silly. But ego, arrogance and just plain irrational behavior can put people in serious trouble. And as a Parent we need to teach our children that it’s not everything they want they can get and that we can easily get them out of trouble. Chao!

10. FLA needs to do their investigation into this one, a tip to ya’ll, check his(deceased) citizenship; starting from his place of birth, mother and father, nurse who delivered him. He ain’t one of us. Will say no more

11. So ppl can carry their guns into an entertainment event? That is some real scary shit that a patron could enter an event with a loaded weapon.

1. I always wonder the same. When i go down, i always see different people with their weapons in them on events and wondered why it was allowed.

I’ll always love my home, but yuh affi move vigilant down there, cause the corruption nuh normal!

12. The guy is a French Canadian who recently move to Jamaica to live because he came here and was so in love with the country he stayed and when u live in ja for 7 years u automatically become a Jamaican citizen y u need to look into the guy place of birth and all a tht smh both parties were wrong in this event. But the security hit the guy in his head with a bottle thts why he pulled his gun furthermore he shouldn’t have any gun in the venue in the first place Jamaica will always be corrupt cause if it was another person they couldn’t have entered the venue with a weapon to begin with smh

13. I am not even trying to turn this into a race thing, but why was he so quick to put his hands on the security guard? Because he’s white and the guard is black? Why TF would he be walking around without id? Like everybody know him? KMT Keep your hands to yourself people.

14. The security isn’t black though so wats ur f**king point??? He Chinese. Nah pick up for either a dem but how race drop in? N if u knew Jimmy u would know him love Jamaica, the ppl n the culture. He wasnt a racist in anyway shape or form.

15. To be honest, the license for this event should be revoked. No gun should be allowed in such an event .

16. I seen the video when a woman was giving someone CPR the music was loud but you hear a woman say you shot him. This is real crazy and I hope they get to the truth.

17. The dead man is no uptown yute, he is Canadian citizen, a tourist. The so called “security” shot a tourist over nonsense, lick a bottle in his head first. Now it has to look like its the man own fault that he get killed for sure. Nobody a foreign will buy this story! SHAME!

18. Where was the other security, a only one was there? Why they never stop the fight? The dead man fire no shot….He get killed over nonsense, that a no professional security work. You must can handle this kind a problem without somebody dead!!