FARRINA SEND DOWN OLE BRUCK

Foreigner sends garbage in barrel to relative in Jamaica

A struggling single mother of five children has been left frustrated and heart broken after she spent her last $31,000 to clear two barrels of food and clothes, only to discover that they contained what she describes as “pure ole bruck”.

“The clothes dem smell mowly, like when you did have something wet up. They are old, bad coloured, bad washed, bleached out, paint up …. you name it,” an irate Lorna McLean told THE STAR.

The Spanish Town, St Catherine, resident said the barrel, which was sent to her by a relative who lives in the United States, also contained “some slippers and it look like rat did a bite it up”.

McLean, who earns a living by selling pastries and cooking gas, said she had to borrow money to help clear the barrels. She said that she considered it an investment as she thought she could have sold the items to earn some money. However, she could not find anyone to give some of the deplorable items to, let alone sell them.

Food was expired

The 47-year-old’s great frustration stems from the fact that this is not the first time she has fallen victim to barrels of ‘rubbish’ from overseas.

“In 2014, she sent a barrel. The tin food was expired from about five and six years ago. All spoiled milk was in it. When me open the barrel, a pure white bug that follow light come out of it. It is a great insult,” she lamented.

After that incident, McLean said she asked the relative why she sent a barrel of rubbish, and the relative explained that it was a friend who had packed the barrel and shipped it, so she was not aware of the contents.

When the relative again offered to send another barrel, McLean said she was reluctant to accept it, but the relative claimed she was sending good things that could be sold.

Now the frustrated mother is uncertain of what to make of the situation and has displayed the items on her veranda, much to the of amusement for persons in the community. She has not contacted her relative about the newest batch of ‘old bruck’ as she calls it.

“The way how me upset, me no say nothing to her because it’s not like me call her and a beg things. A she say she a guh help me. Now me stressed ova the money that I could have used to do other things,” she said, adding that she is not an ungrateful person.

Aware that other Jamaicans have faced the same situation, McLean said she wants to foreigners to desist from sending barrels of garbage to Jamaica as this is causing people to spend hard earned cash to clear them.

28 thoughts on “FARRINA SEND DOWN OLE BRUCK

1. :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak :ngakak

First, WHY you accept a next barrel? People don’t ask people to pack barrel and don’t know what’s in it.

Next, HOW the hell that stink, bug infested barrel pass inspection? That barrel as now introduced a new species of bugs into we ecosystem.

I DON’T sympathize one rass! Plus a see you clear an item intended for commercial use rather than personal use. Kmdt you cousin is a bum

2. I went to Jamaica 2yrs ago, and best believe, The Chinese people have Jamaica on LOCK with all the latest fashion even if them fake, Every living thing in Jamaica now that is here in the US when it comes to fashion, So when we up here think we can send old bruk like one time go Jamaica and people will wear them, memba me told you, even in the darkest corner in Jamaica people wearing GOOD GOOD fashionable clothes, I walk passed street vendors with some nice clothes hang up on fence in Jamaica me all buy one top and bring it back with me to the US. Last week I took 3 boxes of clothes to the salvation army because I would NEVER send it down to Jamaica. People who lives here don’t get it! There is no villages back a wall in Jamaica anymore, I bet the person who sent that Barrel haven’t been back to Jamaica in a while. People HIP down there to clothes and shoes now Iyah, No old bruk to them thing with the Chinese people them who ship the fake ish in bulk.

3. Some people in America think that the only thing they can send to people in Jamaica is garbage. Dem use Jamaica as dem dumping grounds fi dem unwanted no use ole clothes and boot. Not nice :sorry :sorry

4. Apparently dis here lady never hear bought one bitten..but di relative wicked bad–she shoulda just tell har seh she not sending har nuttn instead a mek she waste har money not right at all… but Lord mi did still haffi laff caz dis ting yah a muss joke

1. But Tinan, a de SECOND garbage pan from the same cousin she go collect. :ngakak yu no where she say all sour milk did in a de first one?

1. Dat mi nuh understand, why she do it? She woulda haffi send di money fi di fuss one plus reimburse mi fi di fuss caz di woman seh she never beg she offa.. Mi seh PP mi laff suh till, but mi ask figiveness for it still caz Jah know..dem summn here

5. Wicked gal. That’s why I don’t beg nobody a foreign nothing enuh. Last time my family members came down I put them in my house, they oohh and aahhh when they saw how good I was living. They didn’t bring anything for me but they quickly saw that I didn’t need anything from the. THIS IS NOT JAMAICA IN THE 1970s.

6. Whoever send the woman this barrel is wicked! Lady hustle a road and don’t depend on people! Some a we love beg Americans too much!

7. I believe there is more to this story. It costs money to send barrel so why send old junk unless the woman is exaggerating. Jamaicans can be very animated as well. Maybe the goods never full her eye and she is saying it is rubbish.

8. Its easier said than done sometimes but BEG TEEF BORROW di money and ship it right back. (If her description is 100% accurate of course).

9. A GOOD JAMAICAN PEOPLE TO BLOODCLAAT GREEDY – YUH HAVE BUSINESS A JAMAICA YOU SHOULD A TELL THE PEOPLE SEH YOU OK – EVEN JAMAICAN DURGS DEALER AND THIEF A SO DEM GT CATCH CAUSE DEM GREEEDY – I WAS JUST HERE FOR XMAS AND NEW YEARS AND I DO ENJOY GIVING AWAY MONEY AND STUFF – BUT JAMAICAN TOO GREEDY – A SHOULD SHIT YUH GET IN A DI BARREL – JAMAICAN PEOPLE DONT KNOW HOW TO SAY THANK YOU – UNUH ACK LIKE UNUH GI PEOPLE THINGS FI PU DUNG IN AMERICA – DUTTY WOMEN A FAME AYUH A LOOK – GO DONATE THE GOODS TO SOMEONE WHO NEED IT – AM SURE SOMEONE ELSE WILL CHERISH THOSE GARBAGE – GWEH

1. Calm down. we know you have to be working 2-3 jobs in America just to get by. i know. Just tell people u don’t have it and done, okay?

10. Better she did take her $31,000 and buy some stuff from the Chinese wholesale and go hustle. She would see a profit and less hassle
    Same mi did have a Auntie a NY fi years and di first barrell she ever send mi realise when mi get older is bare Salvation Army old bruck was in dere. Mi had to wonder if dem neva sell new clothes a foreign

11. Di family member from farrin shouldn’t do di ooman dem way deh. Beg or nah it just nuh sit right wid mi. How she feel in har skin fi send old, rotten, bug-infested tings inna barrel tuh people? Well, if di lady inna Jamaica nuh learn from dis second mishap…..den she nuh nawmal. Send good/usable tings or doe send nuttn. Poor people need respect tuh.

12. More to this story! Because to get a barrel is not to cheap and to send it, no matter where in the US they’re are going cost money!

M woulda love fi hear di other side of this!

13. From mi seh customs and dem buss dat rubbish pan, mi a tell dem mi a guhpee pee and cu left dat. Afta mi nuh Chris and clean fi clear garbage.

1. :ngakak :ngakak

A real trash pan dem she get NOT once, but twice. Me don’t think she get no bug barrel. From it a get inspected and bug fly out that a get quarantine.

14. @Workingclass, I agree with you 200%!!! Mi nah share my story about giving ppl down there cause unnu will cuss me but I would’ve left the barrel. It cost $80 US to send and about $125 to clear plus pay driver. No suh this bad.

15. $40 to purchase the barrel and $45-$65 to send it depending on where you sending it from plus tip for the barrel people, only to put old bruk. I don’t buy it. The relative probably put new and old things in the barrel and there was not enough new things in there for her to sell so she start bawl.

16. Working class why you cursing the woman like that , a lot of people here go Jamaica and promise the people things and act like unno better that the people them. Ifnunnondont have anything good to give them don’t make no promise and send no old clothes go give the people them. I have witness this happen several time. And if you want to know I don’t live in Jamaica but I visit every year land of my birth.