HOW DIS WORK?

Dear Met,

I think your site offers a lot of insight into the dancehall culture, that is the music, food, fashion, language and of course the people. Therefore I am sure you and your bloggers can explain something my friends from Canada is inquiring about.

This phenomenon of the modern day dancehall artistes rolling with a huge entourage of men has people wondering how this system works. Are these one bag a men considered employees, what do they do exactly? What are the perks involved and is the artistes responsible for everything? Who are these people, are background checks done when enlisting them into the entourage? Isn’t this draining on the artistes financial prospects and impede wealth creation.

Finally does the Jamaican dancehall entourage works similarly to how it’s depicted on HBO hit series Entourage? What are the pros and cons of this one bag a men system in dancehall?

10 thoughts on “HOW DIS WORK?

1. Dis one bag a man ting bout entourage is all a part of the hype. Back in the day when MC Hammer did buss, a de same ting him gwaan wid – which eventually left his ass broke. Now you don’t hear a word bout him. When yu have money, yu have a whole heap a friends, when yu money done, yu nuh see dem again.

2. A lot of them are idle friends who serve no purpose but to hang around and be yes men to the artiste and smoke weed. They hang in the studio and tell them that everyone song is a hit and hype them to make more. Some of them are aspiring artistes themselves and hanging around for a buss. Others are “security”, a hothead who is there for protection if and when anything pop off.

They are paid in liquor, weed, food and lodging provided by the promoters of the shows the artiste does. They can sometimes get cash when the artiste feels sorry for them.

3. Per MC Hammer he employed most his entourage that went on the road. He found and trained them for position that would otherwise been given to someone else. I know first hand Capeleton traveled with a large entourage back in the days but they were bandsman, back up singers, artist who opened for him, management, wardrobe. It was well over 20 people promoter had to accommodate. Now when he showed up to a city that was another 20 body just hanging around which may include groupies, family, chef, weed man, etc. I guess it depends on the artist.

4. Safer and cheaper than paying security. Normal thing in the entertainment industry,plus dont you go out with friends?

5. Pro so tru,him just dash wey career ole ediot.my cousin is a next one have him good good babe shop and go par wid him,he told me that popcaan nuh leggo money.

6. Plus mi coulda swear mi hear it talk ova yah say him(Popcaan) mean an a di rum bakkle cover him use share dem liquor.