Prime Minister of England, David Cameron and Japan’s Prime Minister Shinzō Abe both visited Jamaica this week. Information Minister Sandra Faulker/Falconer, stated via Facebook (after the media hollered) that both ministers stated that while she understand the press’ disappointment both ministers requested not to speak to the press . A representative of David Cameron has since refuted Faulkner’s claims, stating that at no time it was said that Cameron did not want to speak to the press.
****BRITISH CONSULATE RETRACTED THEIR STATEMENT…STATING THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE TIME TO SPEAK TO THE PRESS, AND DID MAKE IT KNOWN SO FAULKNER DID NOT LIE**************
She me can’t understand. Her role is appropriate base on her education and work history. I guess she is just a damn puppet and chosen cause she know how to lie with a straight face.
I had doubts about Britain’s role in suppressing the media when ‘freedom of the press’ is a universal standard, but given the fact that people loaded question on reparations would have come about and throw the event off course I just “shhh”.
I’, starting to see more socialism than democracy more and more, with the “right” leader we shall become a carbon copy of North Korea.
Hi Showa PeePee !
The Media Workers Association of Grenada has issued a statement condemning the restrictions imposed on the local media in the coverage of the British Prime Minister’s visit.
The MWAG statement was critical of what it said is the limited photo opportunities afforded to a small cross section of the media during Mr. Cameron’s one day visit.
MWAG is arguing that the restriction stands in the way of journalists properly carrying out their functions to inform the Grenadian public about activities in which the government is involved.
The release further stated that “while MWAG understands that certain protocols must be followed in accommodating the visit of such a high profile world leader as Mr. Cameron, we are firmly of the view that those protocols should not run contrary to the expected operations of a free media in a democracy such as ours.
The MWAG President said “we cannot be satisfied with official releases, photo-ops and hand-outs – a process that undermines our hard-fought gains in reporting the news through independent lenses.
The statement concluded by seeking a commitment from the government of Grenada to ensure that such harsh anti-media restrictions are not employed in future visits.
Additionally MWAG is seeking an ongoing dialog between government and media about their respective responsibilities in facilitating such a high profile event.
http://www.gbn.gd/en/gbnnews/1/2182/Local-Press-Not-Happy.htm
SO now cameron get the prison and a sink them with the media … MY GOD no man PORTIA AND HAR PEOPLE sick stomach
everybaddie a point finger…I cant with them
Obama. Cameron, Portia stink like dog.
I put it to u that on some levels Sandrea is worse than warmington!!she disgusting + tax!!this is like her 10th bundling n mess up!!kmft
mi read one weh a seh cameron FORCE to give JAMAICA money,mi just smh and seh yes man see the gate she guh open deh she must know how she gwine close it