Shanique Myrie, the Jamaican woman who won her free movement case against Barbados has now been approved by the People’s National Party (PNP) to represent the Olympic Gardens Division in St Andrew in the next local government elections.
PNP General Secretary Paul Burke says Myrie was approved by the PNP’s National Executive Committee following a recommendation by the leadership of the political division.
“The Regional Executive Committee came with the name and there was no objection,” said Burke.
However, he notes that all positions will be under review until the day of nomination for the elections.
In June, when she submitted her application, Myrie told The Gleaner that she has always wanted to enter representational politics to make a change in the lives of residents “neglected” by their political representatives.
“It’s a Labourite seat and in my community, the people hardly get anything and many kids, older people need help. I want to make a change”, said Myrie.
The Jamaica Labour Party’s Christopher Townsend currently represents the Olympic Garden’s Division in the Kingston and St Andrew Corporation.
Local government elections which were due by June 30 this year, have been delayed by up to December 29, 2016.
When I read it yesterday in the observer mi ask the same question.
Met, nutten nuh haffi qualify you fi politics enuh dan you is a citizen of the country widdout no criminal record and 18 or over. A couple years ago a university student here won a local seat. You just have to hab a platform and get your votes. You can school in any discipline and all nuh hab no real schooling.
Me a read a 40 page manual fi answer this and education still no surface. Member dues most certainly is repetitive in the manual.
Lol..Bwahahahaha. You gotta pay to play, u nuh know aready.
Dem ago suck de likkle $38US out her eyesocket, and she fi gwan bout har business because she will not be balancing out her community because:
“It’s a Labourite seat and in my community, the people hardly get anything and many kids, older people need help. I want to make a change”, said Myrie –
What change? Same ole drum pan! Change is when ALL residents in a community is treated equally regardless of party. She is a puppet representative. Simple
Polytrics plan qualifies her
If Trump can run fi Leader of the Free World……….
PNP is about winning elections not good governance. If you beknown to people then you qualify that’s all.
We can create a long list of unqualified politicians, but once Sista P became prime minister then it should’ve been obvious to all that there zero pre-requisites.
PP….yu a mix up weh Scyamique a say. She want to mek a change as in “driva, beg yu a change nuh” Change in this context is a few DOLLARS. Tighten up PP.
My issue is not with her or her renewed political desire for representative office. My problem is with the “leadership” that chose her and their greed. I suspect that while she might be plotting on poor people; the party leadership is plotting on her little lawsuit. I hope she is the best them cudda fine outta entire community, oh well
Besides throwing har hat eena di ring, what community service has she done, :bingung She want to make a difference/change yet mi nuh see no arena weh she ah advocate fah. Too much wishy washy politicians deh ah Jamaica, dem need fi revamp di whole selection process.