JAMAICA DONE NOW…TOM TAVARES FINSON- PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

KINGSTON, Jamaica — Former leader of opposition business in the Senate, Tom Tavares Finson, will be elevated to the position of president of the Senate when Parliament returns from its current election break.
Tavares Finson will succeed Floyd Morris who was elected as President in 2013 to replace Rev Stanley Redwood, who resigned from the Senate and moved to Canada. Senator Morris was Jamaica’s first blind Senator and President.
Tavares Finson is a member of the Bar Association of Jamaica, the Advocates Association of Jamaica, and the Lay Magistrates’ Association. He is also a member of the Senate and of the Central Executive and Standing Committee of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and a nominated commissioner of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ) since 2006 after serving as a member of the Electoral Advisory Committee from 2005-2006.He also serves as a Director at D C Tavares & Finson Company Ltd.
He is married to Rose Tavares-Finson, née Costantini. They have a daughter named Capri (2001) and a son named Roman (2003). He has a son Christian (1982) and a daughter Leah (1986) from a previous marriage to former Miss World Cindy Breakspeare.

92 thoughts on “JAMAICA DONE NOW…TOM TAVARES FINSON- PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

1. Mi talk it already Labour is abt classism and of course racism!! No man a Finson really get pick?? Kmft mi cyaa bada wid dem party ya! Name brand names must dun wid now!!! Tiyad of hearing these names over and over again!

1. Conflict of many,many interest should have stopped him from getting that position…point blank,period.

1. But true we dont put we mouth a ground and talk and we doe worship nuttin we nah go stop dash fire…Dis is a very very very very very big disappointment..Tom Tavares-Finson dont have no business in formal politics

2. A now Unu a go know what it is to be poor …at least PNP Mek ppl can go buy house … Jlp Mek if u born a ghetto Yu haffi stay a ghetto

1. :kiss
          we shall see, along with just how much people seek out accountability from their representatives going forward.

1. you hit the nail right on the head! Jamaica(especially kingston) is a society of name brand names. over and over you see the same last names in control of virtually everything…Tavares-finson, Matalon, Stewart, Thwaites,etc. (Just to name a few) It makes it hard for others to come up/prosper as well if you’re not related to those last names or connected to them. Jamaica loves to preach about education is the key to rising up(which is true), but they are the same ones that make it extremely hard. This is why more and more people with education are looking to leave the country.

2. What qualifications does a person need to have, for he/she to be able to hold such a position? PhantomPhoenix, if you don’t mind, please expound on the conflict of interest. I am trying to gain the needed insight.

1. Him not the best lawyer but every big time criminal run go to him fi tek dem case..We nuh ina we dem ina but mi a watch di ride

1. Second reminder is that him is grandfather to the offspring of an evil bastard who fah deeds include the known murder of a 6yr. Old boy…

1. Da grass ya nuh green pon no side wen Unu see it a gwaan we will be right here all gunman Weh dem have use fa will be let out of prison

2. Look like the daughter ah try do better cause she left Jamaica. she still deh wid a ghetto bwoy from yaad, but maybe the temptation of the foolishness was too great and she decided to leave

1. mi always wonda how it work she she and dem. like can she bring har man dem uptown and they sit at her father or mother table. She only deal wid them downtown or can they come hang out with her uptown society

1. And him grandpickney daddy lawyer to and countless other conflict of interest as far has being remove from questionable associations…all de itallian him married to…very patriotic fellow 😀
      Oh…and the victims and witnesses that find it hard fi reach court pon cases him involve inna.

3. Ok Lalibela let me enlighten u why tiday is Jamaica’s 2nd darkest day since 1492.He was linked with Dudus legal team on several occasions when Dudus was aquitted.Remember Dudus eventually pleaded guilty to usa n was guilty from day1.
    He is/was Fartel’s defender and on record sayin him innocent,wow!
    The most wanted man since Natty Morgan is a bredda name Dawg paw.you know who fa dawta dawg paw breed??Name di grandpa?
    U know how much accused murderer dem man deh help get off pon technicality n not innocence??

4. How can the person in charge of protecting us n esp society’s most vulnerable,old ppl,children n women…be under investigation for crimes against a Minor/woman??? Was the case dismissed? Only in jamaica dem slackness ya gwaan.Met if a person is accused of shytting in the hominoy corn porridge n dem a serve it give customers. Without knowing the outcome of the complaints against shytty chef,u woulda recommend ppl still eat at that restaurant!!???
    There is no worse act andrew can do as PM from here on out fi me!! Nobody can’t tell me nutten,all if dem ketch him a bun dung pnp HQ Inna di 2″o”clock bells…this wicked act takes the cake. Go ahead Andrew double gct to 33% n tax ALL food…still no comparison!!

5. Respect Lalibela but I’m so turned off from di cabinet news n me sey come me chill out pon di wall a see it ya too!!whey di bc rc pc n rest of claat,bobby a guh n all effing disgusting desmond!!! Yo mi gone fi di day ya blessed jmg fambily so tommorow!! @realjohncrowbelly dem nuh sick ur stomach??

1. Lolol…me did think monteque ting was resolved. De gal whey did a spread rumor last week mus feel like digging a grave and cova up cause she did farrrrr from truth.
      Let’s see if deman yah can redeem dem self and set we nation pon a good path. Betta to know dem sins before hand, bute need a confirmation that the molestation argument was just malevolent mischief- since it disappear as fast as it surfaced.

1. G, Stop it! Dem in both. Stop making these bitches succeed at the ‘divide and conquer’ method that they’ve used for centuries. Stop it and stay focus.
      Yush Bammy, yardieT yu come back babes :p. Yawdy4life whey yu and we nuh pet people de?

1. PP mi deh bout inna di evening hours yah :peluk Mi nuh pleased wid dah appointment deh at all. Is which one ah JMG delegate ah guh deliver di petition wid di million signatures fi remove dat demon??

6. Big up urself mi “G” mi only come bk fi big up u n PP n shout out to bammy,cheut,tinan,ppl bizness,mifedup,simplicity n sistaWrap n all di jmg fambily…me disgusted fi true. In all honesty me come bk fi call unno attention fi look Lil bit above da comment ya n see di histrie!!!
    Lo n behold mw woulda bet the farm n kitchen sink that Lalibela a di closest mankind get to perfection!! But see it deh him mek mistake!! Good sir the expression is drawing Blanks not drawing Blacks!! As if!!??
    Go thru still Lalibela u a good yute but u know we romp ruff pon di wall!Dont dweet agen though cuz Met can’t n won’t stop the vocab police oo!! Have a good one nice n decent ppl!!

1. Yes they’re related, but I do not know the exact relation. The article said that he is on the board of DC Tavares Limited (which I think is a real estate company). At one time lawyer Tavares’ daughter used to work for the company too. I believe DC Tavares the former minister of housing built payneland

7. It deh yere, it nuh start yet, I mean it don’t even begin yet, no sah!Tavares is a known criminal, what kind of position the likes of him should ever get, politics is generational curse, one dutty recycling bin,only the same set of families, we need to weed out the whole lot of them from both sides, nutten nuh change, same ole same ole

8. A tru dem in both parties but Labour tek it! Babsey, Bobby, Vaz, Desmond and Waringhton! To name a few, PNP bullies are, Portia, Lucretia, Sister P, Mama P and Mrs.Miller.. one bull in one Pen :ngakak mi feel if bobby talk to me too hard mi will bawl!

1. G, can you imagine if Bobby did get health ministry? 😀 every box a glove whey dem thief up would return wid haste cause him look like him we drive go a people yard go search…lol

9. I wonder how many witnesses have been killed when their name is leaked to the criminals so that the lawyer can win the case? That is the only way some lawyers can win cases in Jamaica or payoff Judges.

10. bobby and the other child rapist from st mary case dead now. every school girl a st mary ago know who the boss now

11. He defended kartel plus handling his appeal so what does this mean. Met,PP and labi come and educate me what does this means
    for kartel hope him not coming out.

1. It don’t mean zilch fi fartel. All the conspiracy onu can dream up don’t have nothing to do with fartel, after a no today Tavares a Senator (2012- 3/6/2016)…lolol he’s just the head bitch of the Senate now.

12. @Met, Im more concerned that SHIRLEY aka Kartel WILL BE OUT IN TIME FOR STING 2016 CLASH WID NINJAMAN…I pray im delusional and paranoid caused I’m HIGHLY CONCERNED(pun raas intended)..I expected change BUT NOT THIS!!! 🙁 🙁 🙁

1. How him fi come out by then? regardless of what we already know I honestly doubt that man would use such a high station to let the likes of kartel out. along with another comment about criminals getting let out. foolishness. I nah put no negative spin out into the universe to add to the burden we already bare in we little Island nation.

13. Mahfoods, Issas, Marzoucas, Finsons, vaz,yaps, Wongs, Matalons, Hannahs, Azans,Faceys, Fontaine, Fennel, phillips, Mcmillian and Manley! just to name a few these names are door openers cuz dem a household names aka name brands in jamaica its a shame wi affi sidung and hear these names or read abt them every year!

14. Dem deh people deh dont like Kartel one raas bit!! Kartel wanna be uptown so bad he befriend Russian smh u si busta fly dung frm farin for Kartel where was uptown high colour Russian? He was uptown uptown! OH! kartel naaa come out Finson bizniz wid Kartel? Dem only tek di case for it was a high profile one to be relevant again along with his once anonymous son!!!

1. Its true that Tom tavares finson’s son, chirsitian, gained a lot of notoriety because of the Kartel case. You really have to wonder how famous/successful as a lawyer he would have been had it not been for his last name. The son will also likely be handed his way into politics as well. At least from what I hear he is an intelligent person so although he has greatly benefited from his last name he is still smart. His sister on the other hand(the one weh love badman) I hear is a dunce. and although she was handed jobs it still never work out

15. Well it all depends who kartels appeal is opened by if it is an associate of his lawyers they could let him out. This could be done to give the son a name. This they had no chance of getting when Portia was government. Maybe now his appeal will be heard. For a man so famous he sold 8 copies in one week five years ago but now he has done much better he sold 49 copies of his newest album. Kartel life is based on how Tavares feels about him. But hey look how they hung diudus out to dry

1. Me love yu but kartel nah Come out because of the the son or father.
      His appeal will be heard by due process not favors. Dudus deserves his fall and as acting emperor of West Kingston he got treated accordingly. Politicians didn’t create dudus, he was groomed by his “father” and if not for the death of “father” and brother we wouldn’t be calling his name. Tivoli monarchy system had to be banished for the good of all. See de survivors can’t even bring it back 😀

1. Jus like yu mi know him nuh deserve fi come out … But Yu know dem wheel deal yu figot hoe dem let out Tesha till him all reach a pon plane and him kill bout 8 ppl and found guilty …. Dem ppl ya A evil dem wi do anything fi build a name

1. Absolutely…but me a do wishful thinking.
          Is technicality mek ugly come back a road. Yu see how him quite 😀 😀 not a peep out a him from him land.

16. Real, me de pon wishful thinking. I’d like to see at least a little bit of change in me country before me shut me eyes. If not for myself, then for those who can’t seek it on their own.
    “Betta must come…”

17. This is one of the dumbest post I’ve seen in a while. Clearly nobody knows anything about Tom more than what they read in the Observer, Gleaner or pinkwall. Go check how many politician from both parties “have criminal links” meaning are also criminal lawyers. So if you’re a defense attorney, are you not suppose to do your job? Yes he served as attorney in several high profile cases but he served in 100 more cases where people cant even pay for his services. If you really want to know who a real poor people lawyer is go do your research….research his roots his work in Tivoli growing up. How many mothers still have their sons and could only afford to pay with produce…..Nuff lawyer office who black like most of us, you coudlnt walk in their office with that shit, bout you cant pay.