British Prime Minister David Cameron is expected to arrive in the island in just under an hour, for a one-day official visit.
He is scheduled to hold bilateral talks with Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller at Jamaica House shortly after his arrival, following which a joint press statement will be issued.
Today, in an open letter to Simpson Miller, president of the Press Association of Jamaica Dionne Jackson Miller noted with “great concern” that there will be no opportunity for the press to ask questions of either the British Prime Minister or Simpson Miller.
“We regard it as critically important that the press be allowed to interact with eminent visitors to our shores where those visits concern matters of national importance, and wish to put on record that we view the organisation of these visits as inadequate when they are limited to video and photo opportunities for the press,” Jackson Miller said in the letter.
OBSERVER ONLINE has since learnt that following a meeting today, there has been no change to the arrangement since that was what had been agreed to by both heads of government.
Anika Richards
And they say when it comes to media, Jamaica is free press and Democratic.ever so often it seems like a communist country. Sandra fluckner (sp) who I believe is Portia’s press Secretary, was a journalist, wasn’t she?
yes
yuh nuh see dem a talk bout the 25 million pound aGIFT and through wi a half fool and full idiot she huh waan wi ask bout this social GIFT weh she sign off upon..kmft
25 Pounds is 40% of the money to build a prison and this f**king illiterate asshole accept it.. She need to be the first f**king occupant. If mi hate har one more f***king time…
Why so hush, hush. If this isn’t saying we do what we want no questions asked, then I don’t know what is.
PLEASEEEEEEEEEEE vote out this stupid Ghetto Bitch before Jamaica dont exist again
in full agreement
:ngakak a couldnt agree more @whatever, wi deh pan d verge a extinction yah now
A money fi tek all the ja prisoners in England ,back to JA
This ain’t no official trip this man was enroute to the united nations assembly in NYC and stop by he don’tthink jJamaicais worth a straight visit ………Clovis your next cartoon should be the prison built with Portia buried under it
All di press need fi do is follow di money … who a get the contract fi build the prison Dr. Lawrence and Skeng Don????
De British dem wah build prison ah jamdown!!! Ah wah dis fadda!!
This is the time when they need to be out in full protest. No respect for Jamaicans. Who visits a foreign country on official duties and refuses to engage the press?
That woman is a dunce, a floor cloth and lacking self esteem.
When they build the prison, where will the money come from to feed, provide medical and other care for them?
Smh
Yes people shudda come out in numbers big disgrace
david is involved in a pig f**king scandal , don’t believe me look it up lol. he fly down to Jamaica fast fast lol. those of you going off on Portia what are some palpable realistic solutions to help Jamaica? Remember these are prisoners that will be deported anyways and keep in mind the lady that died last year in the uk prison under mysterious circumstances when she was supposed to be deported and countless others like her.
Mek dem serve dem time whey dem do di crime…Britian will not pay for Jamaica to keep them so let Britain who already owe us from slavery foot the cost…we can house dem fi put them in reform programs..nothing else
“Britian will not pay for Jamaica to keep them”
Are you sure of that? Please provide a link that indeed Jamaica will NOT be given a per prisoner-head annual/monthly maintenance cost. Are you privy to details of the agreement or you are just blowing hot air as usual?
I will be keeping an eye on you, despite your efforts to frustrate me in my posting on your site. You Labourites think you can get away with spreading falsehood. Remember, Comrades are everywhere and Jamaica is PNP Country!
:ngakak clown
yuh too nice f**king idiot more like it
shut the f*k up with this PNP and Labourite shit bitch. Right is right and wrong is wrong! yes mi haffi get ignorant fi yuh retarded, brain-washed rass
so who says uk will not pay was this a read between the affirmation or it was said out right they would not pay for housing and upkeep of prisoners just the building of the prison in Jamaica? We can go off in tangents and cuss you know but few realize how indebted Jamaica is. Jamaicans are not buying Jamaican even down to the simple thing as food from the market everything they gone in supermarket to buy foreign imported food, they rather spend money in burger king, kfc, wey di rass salty diabetic food tgif fridays a do in a jamaica franchises than local businesses jamaicans don’t invest in Jamaica no more they rather foreigners come in, cuss portia yes but I feel my home country is in a rough spot and she cannot do any better she pay one bill fi see another shut off notice scrape up the money for that one fi see another one.
They are paying for the building and paying for a reform program..that is the only money that will be provided..it is not enough..What Portia is doing now is creating another bill for Jamaica in the years to come
To add insult to injury…the British pm made sure he stated that the money is not a loan it is a grant….for us to get this grant we will also have to change our laws on homosexuals….there was a small protest today in ja concerning the fact that our acceptance of this grant now forces us to change our culture…
all she heard or saw was 25 million she wasn’t thinking about the people of the land and the state our country is already in and from morning she did plan fi legalize the battymanism
and another 5 million fi the reform programs …now if we a save dem 44m pounds a year by housing the prisoners..why not give we ten outa dat annually ?
the British don’t want the bulding of the prison, they said they must send back the Jamaican scum bags and stop take money from their children, so cameron has to get a vote for that.
How is Portia’s NET worth in 2013 over 20 million?
Go on the home office site and tell me what percentage of the prisoners are Jamaicans? Also check the detention centres how many Jamaicans are in there and are illegally detained? Yuh c dat dutty foot Portia theres nutn like it I swear…. This gyal is evil to Jamaica… Mek dis Down syndrome man cone a dictate to r jus tru love money like prostitute…. Cameron could have never step in any other Caribbean country n state such claim dem would have run him out of town but this bitcc*h….I’m venting, when was the last time someone said they received an UK visa and we are a part of the commonwealth or I should say how many visa have British embassy or high commission issued in the last 12 months and Portia want to sell u lot and our country for a prison valued at £25 million kmt ridiculous
you know i just ask a friend of mines seh that mean seh all the jamaicans dem weh get citizenship if dem guh prison ova deh would they revoke the citizenship and send them out to this new jail shit
by the time them dun all who born there but have JA parents and every stray axent will be in that very jail
if mi head serve mi right cuda swear years back the same british dem did a claim seh if both parents are not from there and have a child there the child birth paper should say the same nationality as the parents and even Cayman cuz yuh know dem still under the british some what
i made a mistake and go bbc.com and the way they are cussing jamaicans in the comments about the prison building oh my gosh it’s disgusting.
Dem need some Jamaicans over dere fi go tell dem claat how much dem owe we
I nominate you, Met, as the Jamaican representative. Bring Phantom Phoenix and Twaucklies with yuh, because the 3 a yuh a the best cussers Jamaica have to offer. Tell them two claat fi mi to.
mi only see the post mi can seem to find the comments
Hmmmmmmmmmmmm….You have to go to the end of the article and you will see in red letters “View Comments (631)” I thought Met and her sheep said Portia is the dumbest person ever? If Portia is no 1, you (Simplicity) is no 2!
My guess is you are accustom to reading the first sentence of a very short article and call it quits. You might actually learn something by reading the WHOLE article. You Labourites are something else. SMH
http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-34398014
luk here nuh pusc muncher dont bloodclaat stop wid me it seems like yuh out fi juice nd mi nuh have none fi give yuh cum yuh gwaan and mi nuh look yuh even tek up wen mi seh weh skeng deh pon yuh over educated head……germs if yuh just a cum ask de lot cuz dem know mi a the A1 dunce ova yah suh dunce know dunce dats why mi know mi PM a bloodclaat dunce guh suck out nd lowe mi yuh yere bacteria,kmft
Ready when unnu ready fi go over BBC.com go tell the MAD ENGLISH Dem bout Dem Bomboclath!
What height of Libatiness for Porsha to accept this deal without running it by the Jamaican people first and no media can talk to him the Government being sneaky..Cameron hates immigrants and Jamaicans I sorry fi Michi Boo and the rest
U know mi run go ova deh fi dash out mi body andg gwaan bad…dem close di comments
Why don’t we stop curse the Jamaican government and Cameron and blame US as a people for OUR bad decisions? Why can’t we stop going to other people country with Our not wanting to work mentality and want the easy life hence the scamming, thieving and selling drugs and even killing people for no reason? Must we blame other people for OUR bad behavior? When are we going to take responsibilities for our actions? Why are these prisoners in prison? did they NOT do anything wrong to get there? Rightfully so if they don’t want to maintained these prisoners, What if they had deport them to Jamaica with no help? Illiteracy mixed with Ignorance was always our downfall, and for the likes of Portia taking that money it doesn’t matter who is in power, PNP or JLP, ALL IS IN THE SAME CATEGORY, ONE BIG HOG WASH POLITICS, None is better than the other, a set of thieves that plays upon our people who are illiterate and poor. Take half the money and invest in our education so the literacy rate can go up and use the other half and build a shack and put all a them in there mek them pack up like sardines and kill off them one another, No one tell them to go to these country and as what me granny would say, form fool a them self.
Its sad that we still are unable to realize that we are our true enemy. we dont realize that Britain will continue to take andvantage of the Jamaican fools just becuz we make it so easy. We still dont understand that education has its place but even with our degrees, masters and PHDs Jamaican people are still greedy selfish dumb slaves that will always choose to sell out their own.Britain tried to make this deal before under another government and it was denied but they found a government that has a proven track record for selling Jamaicans cheap…. the whole idea of imprisoning persons in a country that they have not committed an offence is unethical and this agreement lacks imagination and common sense…. Untill now PNP is only know for distroying industries and selling everything in sight….atleast they are building a prison!!!!