JUDGE ASKS SHOPLIFTER IF SHE GO INA DI STORE WID MONEY

A social inquiry report will determine the sentence of two women who were caught on camera at MegaMart in Kingston stealing.

The women — Nastasia Wellington, 23, of Tivoli Gardens, and Shaneek Dennie, 32, of Lyndhurst Road, both in Kingston — pleaded guilty with explanation to simple larceny.

The court heard that on January 13 about 5:52 pm both accused, along with a man and a woman, were seen ‘acting suspicious’ at the MegaMart store on Waterloo Road in Kingston.

The prosecutor told the court that the security personnel who was patrolling the store went to the camera room and alerted her colleagues.

It was then revealed that the man and woman, who was not charged, were seen placing two tins of Tastee cheese in each of the accused’s bags, along with a pack of Jolly Rancher, a pack of Snickers and a pack of Lasco milk.

Wellington and Dennie, who exited the store without paying for the items, were held by the police who were summoned by the store’s security.

When the matter was called up in the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court last week, Wellington said she did not go with the intention to steal.

However, she told the court that her mother was diagnosed with diabetes and she took the items (to sell) to assist her with medication.

“You went inside there with money?” Parish Judge Andrea Pettigrew-Collins asked.

Wellington: “$600.”

“What was your reason for going there?” Pettigrew-Collins inquired.

“Eye shopping,” she said. “You are lying. You went there with the intention to steal,” the judge said.

Unlike Wellington, Dennie told the court that she went there to steal.

The mother of three, who said she was introduced to Wellington on the day in question, said it was her second time stealing.

“There is some honesty in you being the thief,” Pettigrew-Collins said.

The court then erupted laughter.

“Are you looking work?” the judge quizzed.

“Yes,” Dennie replied.

“What can you do?” asked the judge.

Dennie then told the court that she was a certified chef.

They are to return to court on May 31 for sentencing.

6 thoughts on “JUDGE ASKS SHOPLIFTER IF SHE GO INA DI STORE WID MONEY

1. See once yuh stawt teef it coming like yuh first hit a crack yuh naw stop go back especially if yuh get whey wid it.

1. I knew!!! I can now confirm that you are indeed on crack. 99% of your comments makes absolutely no sense and no one can comprehend what you are trying to say. Give it up!

2. Then she a certified chef and deh tief – if a even fi open wahn likkle cook shop a har yard? bake cake or summn and sell..
    t.bwaay dem judge yah nuh joke..

1. Too much hotel de bout fi she can’t find work. What’s the probability that the man a one gully queen? 😀 😀 jolly frigging ranchers?! Dem thief not one rass whey mek sense.

3. SEE the difference first offence equal sentencing a Jamaica, cheese to rass if a no cheese a ackee u goin to jail, an u can get a beating

4. in wonderful farin the gal dem clear the shelf a cheese and gone, the cashier no collect and dem done, same in the liquor store lol the white rum dem done the man say dem not selling anymore cause none came to the cashier, all who a go home good luck shoplifting no so easy ooo