JUST LOVELY

A-mother-s-surprise-Optimized

NINETEEN years after leaving Jamaica to live in the United States and not being able to return due to financial and other reasons, Gary Cranston was able to surprise his grandmother in St Elizabeth in time for Mother’s Day.

With a little help from telecoms leader Digicel, the Jamaican-born electrician was excited to board a flight to Jamaica to make the journey to his hometown, where his grandmother was the “only mom” he knew.

Minutes before his arrival at the home, Digicel delivered an emotional video-recorded Mother’s Day message from Gary to his grandmother, Catherine Cranston. As soon as she was finished watching the video, the 90-year-old retired teacher was speechless when her grandson walked through her bedroom door.

“This is the best Mother’s Day gift I’ve ever gotten, and I’ve gotten lots of gifts over the years,” she said.

“Gary… my Gary!” the surprised Catherine Cranston said upon laying eyes on her grandson. “You look the same even after all this time,” she told him, with a broad smile on her face.

“I haven’t seen my grandmother in so many years so I’m very happy to be here to be able to hug her and see her smile,” said a delighted Gary. “My grandmother is the one who raised me and she is the one who gave me the opportunity to go overseas and have a chance at a better life for me and my family. I can’t repay her for that.”

Reminiscing, Gary recounted the first time he left Jamaica, accompanied by his grandmother.

“The first time I go on a plane she put a piece of gum in my mouth and said “chew on that”. She was always looking out for me and she made me the father I am today,” said Gary. “She always treated everyone equal, never playing favourite and instilled those kinds of principles in us. Those are the kinds of things I want my kids to grow up with.”

“Family is very important to us at Digicel and that’s what our customers are to us. So we are very happy to have been able to play a small part in making this extraordinary mother happy for this Mother’s Day by helping to make this long-overdue reunion possible,” said Kamal Powell, senior sponsorship and development manager at Digicel.

0 thoughts on “JUST LOVELY

1. Digicel, if family so important to unno why unno caan fix unno network so we can talk to wi family widdout so many dropped calls and bad connection?

Glad she finally get fi see him again after all dese years.