KARTEL’S CASE FOR APPEAL TO BE HEARD

Entertainer Vybz Kartel and his three co-convicts were today granted leave to appeal their conviction and sentences.

Vybz Kartel, whose real name is Adidja Palmer, Shawn ‘Shawn Storm’ Campbell, Kahira Jones and Andre St John were sentenced on April 3, 2014 to life imprisonment for the August 16, 2011 murder of Clive ‘Lizard’ Williams.

The three, who claim they got an unfair trial and that there was a miscarriage of justice in the matter, are now free to have their appeals heard in the Court of Appeal.

Justice Lennox Campbell at the time of sentencing ordered that Vybz Kartel serve 35 years in prison, with hard labour, before he becomes eligible for parole.

Campbell and Jones are to serve 25 years before becoming eligible for parole, while St John is to become eligible for parole after serving 30 years of his sentence.

The men were convicted on March 13, 2014.

15 thoughts on “KARTEL’S CASE FOR APPEAL TO BE HEARD

1. REAL, REAL it has nothing to do with JLP its the judiciary process, did u not hear long before election that they were to appeal, and don’t go down that street, the black policeman was convicted of extortion memba a pic of him crying and dem let him out extortion that is killing off the business people also dem gi back zekes him money even though they say some missing. I always agree with u on most matters, we can agree to disagree at times

2. did you not see the death squad 2 policemen got off after all that, a man form ded they left him for dead him git up and find the authorities and point out the police that shot him and kill a nx man and dem let him go cause a something he said the lawyer tie him up, now how u expect him fi feel him fraid anyweh him deh, family no want him a dem yard he might be saying might as well….like hell he is afraid of his shadow, to see the policeman who intended to kill him walk free

3. Its not about politics its about inequality of justice. I have said it on here before they (the justice system) made a mess of the Kartel trial just because the powers that be, really wanted to lock him away. The case mentioned above is a prime example of how technicalities (even with a witness present)have set murderers, rapist and corrupt officials free. Said technicalities were evident in Kartel’s case yet he was still prosecuted and found guilty.

My argument is this if these technicalities were not strong enuff to throw out Kartel’s case, why are there dozens of cases being thrown out every day over similar issues? Why is it that its only when the person is a public enemy to certain quarters of the society, that full might of the justice system thrown at these hoodlums? It sick mi stomach and that is why the crime stay so and wont change til the JUSTICE SYSTEM is not fixed but overhauled. Is not just the police bcuz their job is to apprehend and put forth a proper case yes but it is the justice to system ensure that they work with the police before hand and get the technicalities ironed out before you go to trial.

Most ppl in Ja quickly go to badness and jungle justice bcuz they believe that going to court is a grand waste of time and it is. If anybody want a trip back in time when Ja was just a colony and the average man a peasant go supreme court. There is no respect for the common man, you treated like you are a beggar. I rem a judge telling a man that him no cut any dash bcuz of where him from bcuz a pure thief come from there. Like seriously?

Kartel fi walk free not bcuz im a fan or want him to but bcuz the justice system needs a big shake up. Justice nuh fi depend pon which lawyer you get, who you know or where u live. Facts, evidence and laws.

1. If a did your family Kartel kill you would not be saying these words. A trial is made to bring out the good, the bad and sometimes sloppiness of law enforcement. Its justice taking its course..but by no account should a murderer walk free and if all those inadequacies were exposed and the jury still found him guilty…..Well the powers that be must be stronger than those on earth. The trial was full of evidence and facts btw

4. Met mi not excusing what him do but the thing is “same knife stick goat, stick sheep”. Not because him a scum of the earth we fi circumvent the system. I have sat and watch many hardcore criminals get weh scotch free like nutten but when a Kartel no stone left unturn? Come on man is not the man we fi pree is the process. What it means is that if a likkle man like me should run afoul of those same ppl, mi can get lock weh fi life and it nuh come in like nutten. Kartel fi dead n mi say that longtime and me av personal reasons fi dat bcuz yes his crimes has impacted me personally yea, so the if a did my fam thing nuh move me. However, as a man weh spend years in said court, all when him a go court him come see mi and lef mi deh. And i was there bcuz of trump up charges and ego yea, spend only God know how much money. So when mi a talk mi done tek out the emotions Met. Wah mi a stress, need fi address bcuz if we allow it, is not until you or your love ones feel it or face it u ago get it.

Kartel fi lock weh but dweet properly is all Im saying. If it do proper then it need to apply to all such criminals. Give you an example, man get bail pon murder charge and go kill one a the witness inna broad day. Brave souls come forward fi testify say dem see him and him get bail again. Nuh ask wah happen. F**k Kartel, mi see him now mi kill him. But the system, the system must not be influenced by perception, bias or emotions thats all mi say

1. How was the system influenced by bias? That was never proven to be so, the police used his phone fi round up and contact those he was involved with and no charges were trumped up. Im not sure what part of the trial you saw that you are commenting on, but, anywhere in the world his case was heard he would have gotten life in prison. The case whey u a seh people get bail for mi nuh know but in Kartel’s case same place ina prison with his phones he was calling the shots same way so if him did even get bail it wudda worse.

5. Talk truth Met, U well and know say if Kartel get release him dead inna no time. All wah him gwaan wid, being in prison nuh stop him from mek dem happen again. You see him influence and his reach. As you say, no way a murderer should walk free and that is my point, its happening everyday literally. No one seems to take note bcuz dem nuh sing bout it or beknown to all of jamaica but dem create havoc. Mi nuh sorry fi lizard bcuz him a murderer to n mi naah tek dat back oh. All a dem shudda dead n dem police fren dem to. Man a dead a waltham, spain and portmore offa Kartel orders to this day so prison only turn him inna Godfather.

Mi know Kartel from him inna the trio, from him a frequent ph1. and over brixton (ph2) so when u hear mi say him fi walk it serious. Him fi walk bcuz it will mek the powers sort out them f#ckery before dem attempt it again. A the bigger picture mi a look pon.

1. No if Kartel get released he will be out and up to his old tricks. There were no threats on his life before he went to jail pan di road so why u really think they would kill him? Its not about being sorry for Lizard its about someone using their influence for the wrong things. You fail to remember the havoc Kartel was creating in the business itself. He created a lot of enemies and wanted to bully artistes. Sassco who keeps to himself Kartel had a problem with, he made a move on Mavado’s life. Jamaica’s culture is so watered down that just to be with Kartel those men will kill for him. What I found funny with the trial was that people who were routing for him did not deny that is is a murderer. They just wanted him free regardless of his character, a so u know Jamaica really gone to the dust.