MAN JUMPS INTO SEA AFTER HE STOLE BIKE AND WAS MOBBED

Bike thief jumps into sea to escape mob

Those attending the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court last week could hardly contain their laughter when a case was called up involving a young man who dived into the sea along the Kingston Waterfront, after he was caught trying to steal a motorbike and had to be rescued by the Marine Police.

Wesley Moore, 19, of Hanover Street, downtown Kingston, was arrested on February 24 and charged with larceny of a motor vehicle.

The court heard that on the day in question, the complainant saw Moore pushing away his motorbike, which he had parked on Ocean Boulevard, and raised an alarm.

The complainant then chased Moore, who ran and jumped into the sea. A policeman who was passing and saw the commotion radioed the Marine Police, who came and rescued the young man.

Last Tuesday when the matter was mentioned in court, persons erupted into laughter after hearing the facts in the case.

Moore himself joined in laughter and smiled while pleading guilty before Senior Parish Judge Andrea Pettigrew Collins.

“I don’t know. You are lucky to have been rescued,” the judge told Moore.

She then remanded him for sentencing and ordered a social enquiry report. He will be sentenced on April 12.

3 thoughts on “MAN JUMPS INTO SEA AFTER HE STOLE BIKE AND WAS MOBBED

1. hey u know town just a stone throw hanover st is from ocean blvd, that’s a biz area and the ghetto is jus up the road that’s telaviv then theres is south, the bike man lucky him just in time fi se him a push it off, the messengers have to go up in buildings they just lie in waiting. lef dem yard fi go wuk, seem like a regular ting and him move it like a fi him so a only if smaddy know the direct owner….lord help us all who no live deh, u can go visit and run cross dem too,

2. hear ye we responsible fi we rass cl..t self u have gun u can dead same way, kmt just be aware of u surroundings, people liv a ja and don’t know nutten no read or watch news dem nose in the air, a long long time down town stay a way but it get wussa duke st broad day light ppl get rob I used to work a data key a wata lane it tan bad fromn mawnin and now a night staff always a get rob a the granpickney dem of original teeeeeeef a come at u, police is nowhere if u lucky in most case them come afta the fact how much people u think a warm station bench fi gi statement kmt