A man who was arrested for breaking his woman’s arm with a piece of board claimed the woman attacked him first with a knife after she hid his clothes while he was getting ready for church.
Avein Donaldson of a Waltham Park Road address in Kingston was arrested and charged with assault occasioning grievous bodily harm following the incident between him and the mother of his six-month-old child.
According to allegations, the accused attacked the complainant with a piece of board, breaking her arm in two places after she asked him about $13,000 which he had borrowed from her to do some business.
However, on Tuesday when Donaldson appeared in court before Parish Judge Maxine Ellis, he denied the allegations, claiming that the incident had nothing to do with money.
But at the same time he admitted to hitting the complainant with the board. He said he did not hit her with the intention to break her hand; he was only trying to prevent her from stabbing him with a knife.
The judge then asked what the dispute was about and he said, “Some church thing.”
“I was going to church and she hid my clothes. We had an argument and she draw a knife and stab after me, and I use the board to ease her off. Me never deliberately use it to break her hand,” Donaldson said.
“So there was no argument over $13,000?” the judge asked.
“Not that I know of,” Donaldson replied.
Judge Ellis then informed Donaldson that although he had pleaded guilty, she was going to set the matter for trial, since he was saying the complainant attacked him with a knife.
Donaldson then told the court that even though they were before the court the complainant was still living in his house and sleeping in his bed.
“Since you have a partner, him fi find place put yuh,” he then told the complainant.
The judge then asked them how long they were together and he said almost two years.
“You can be separated and still live in the same house and sleep in the same bed,” the judge told Donaldson.
The complainant told the court that Donaldson had been abusing her physically, then said, “Mi willing to move on; me can’t take it anymore.”
Donaldson then told the court that he had asked her what she wanted and she did not answer.
The complainant, when asked by the judge what she wanted, said she wanted to leave the country, but the judge told her that she cannot expect the accused to help her to leave the country with his child and that it is unreasonable.
“You want that big move, you do it for yourself. A nuh extortion this!” she said.
“Ma’am you want security and stability for the child,” the judge further said.
She then turned to Donaldson and said, “If yuh did a plan to go church, by now the pastor should a sort this out,” before advising them both to try and work out the matter with the probation officer in the best interest of their child.
Donaldson’s bail was then extended for him to return to court on October 30.