MORE ON THE U.K DEPORTEES

She gave her name only as Christie, but to her, that was not important. What was significant was the fact that she had to leave behind her elderly mother, who has been living in the United Kingdom for approximately 50 years.

Wearing a smile that masked her sadness, she spoke to The Gleaner, having exited Harman Barracks, where she was processed as one of a batch of 32 persons who were deported to the island on a charter flight from London yesterday. Christie said that she would be fine, although looking back, she feels that the British system just never worked out for her.

“I was there for 16 full years, and I tried several times to get myself straight, but each time, they turned me down. But I will be OK. I never went there to steal or traffic drugs or anything like that,” she said.

“The system just never worked for many of us, but I will be fine. I still have my home here,” the mother of four said before dashing off to get into a car that one of her sons was driving.

The white Meridiana Airline charter flight arrived at the Norman Manley International Airport at approximately 12:55 p.m. before they were taken to Harman Barracks to complete the processing.

Christie was one of six women among the 32 deportees as the UK government continues its deportation policy of Jamaicans who have either overstayed their time in that country or have run afoul of UK law.

‘Decent’ 22-Year-Old

Included in the batch was 22-year-old Francois Somers, who left Jamaica when he was eight years old to live in London, England, with his aunt and other relatives.

His mother, Sherine Dean-Collins, admitted to The Gleaner that he had immigration issues but that while living there, he had established himself as a decent young man, who was willing to contribute positively to the society.

Now deported, Somers has been separated from his three-year-old son and his common-law wife, who has begun preliminary proceedings as she seeks to get him back into the UK.

“He was doing OK. He never got into trouble. I guess that is just how their (UK Government) want to deal with things,” Dean-Collins said.

“Now, all of us as a family will have to rally round him and provide the necessary assistance to get him back on his feet as quickly as possible,” said Dean-Collins

15 thoughts on “MORE ON THE U.K DEPORTEES

1. Real stories a hope we all read and take lessons from these ppl cause anyone living oustside Jamaica can be deported from any where .

2. Thank you Ms Met for enlightening us about how others get deported & we overseas don’t get too comfortable in foreign countries.

3. Decent 22 year the writer don’t believe yuh and that has a lot to with your age and gender. Mi sorry fi the lady weh neva have har papers but wen some a dem reach a foreign dem want handouts and don’t want to work the honest way, which why they turn to certain activities. The worst thing is that because of dem action, some of these countries give all Jamaicans a bad rep and what’s why we have visa requirements to some dutty places weh nuff a we not even a consider.

1. You don’t know about these people, but what you and all of us read here!

Stop use one brush paint everyone in this situation. Not every migrant a look handout or have the funds, or support to get documented, and I’m more in defense of those in their right name.

U.S.Greencard renewal is over $400 dollars, U.S.citizenship over $600. A person changing status from visa is bbasically gambling away their visa.
      Getting married a gamble and seeking sponsorship put you in a state of long-term servitude position.

Migrants under 16 & 18 wiyhout status me more sympathize with because the adults should have sorted out the matter before age 18/21!

1. You do realise that I said “some” and not “all”. Same with British citizenship it cost over £1250 that doesn’t include the passport cost and other thing yes it’s a gamble.

4. How do you get hand outs without papers?
    Any Jamaican living abroad can be deported,it is not our country. It is very hard to get stay in the UK.

5. Could someone explain to me how they have bags and suitcases if they were deported, how do they get those things? I’m not being facetious, I’m just curious.

6. Those fees are very tame .I spent nearly £20,000 before I first got through. That includes lawyer fees,every penny I earn was going to lawyers and the government.
    I now have to spend over £5k every 30 months for me and my children until they reach the age I can apply for their citizenship and that is me applying without using a lawyer.
    It is very difficult for most of us .Some people had it easy,they came got married and got through or were filed for by families. Most of us have it very hard.People used to go the college and university route that used to costs quite a bit ,example £3500 a year for some diploma course. Now that is even more out of reach as some university courses cost upwards of £25k for foreign people.
    Please give our fellow Jamaicans a break. They tried and failed. That’s life.

1. How come it’s so expensive for your children anon, I know that having a child born in the UK is different than in USA because they won’t be automatically entitled to citizenship, if their parents don’t have thier stay (well until their around 18). But the cost for a solicitor is ridiculous. If your grandparents were/are British you could claim via ancestry see links below:
      https://www.gov.uk/ancestry-visa/overview
      https://www.gov.uk/types-of-british-nationality/british-citizenship

7. Tam.That ancestry thing only apply to white folks who kept their ancestry alive,example south Africans and Zimbabweans. Not to who had citizenship via empire.
    The basic fees are quite expensive and expansive. For example they can deny you even if you are entitled to getting your stay and you will have to appeal via a tribunal. Then you are looking at solicitor and barrister fees.Solicitor will charge upwards of £750 ,barrister no less than £1500 (those are the cheapest ones).Barrister will not speak directly to a client only to a solicitor (lawyer).
    If you are unsuccessful there,youracist next step is judicial review,even far more expensive to prepare your case and getting the right specialist barristers and solicitors.
    After that it will be the high Court or even supreme Court or echr or ec. Those are far beyond the pockets of nearly everyone.
    Yet people call their fellow Jamaicans deportees and all kinds of names for trying to get a better life and failing.

8. I know people that have been in England for over 15 years them times it was so easier to get papers than it is now and they still don’t have a status in England. Some are willing to help them out but they want everything handed on a plate and it don’t work like that. Begging here and there and constantly dodging the landlord but yet still they have the latest and the hottest hairstyle. You have to work hard for what you want no matter where you reside. I personally feel bad for the people that have tried.