NIKKI Z BACK ON ZIP!

niki-Optimized
Nikki Z returns to Jamaican radio

Sadeke Brooks, Staff Reporter

While she is tight-lipped about which media house she will be working with when she returns to Jamaica, radio personality Nikki Z says she is extremely excited about coming back to the island.

Nikki Z was one of the front-runners on ZIP FM some years before she was relieved of her duties in 2009. Following her departure from Jamaica, she went on to make a name for herself on Connecticut’s WZMX Hot 93.7 FM where she did shows like Reggae Ride to Work and Reggae Riddims.

But yesterday news broke that Nikki Z resigned from the radio station in Connecticut and would be heading back to Jamaica.

“That’s the only place where things feel right. I appreciate being on a commercial station, but I feel there is more I need to do and can do. (Jamaica) that is where I need to be to do that,” she told THE WEEKEND STAR.

However, when asked where she would be heading, Nikki Z was very silent nor would she say when she will make her return.

“I can’t say yet, but I am very happy that they made that offer. I will be there before the Easter bunny comes,” she said, laughing.

“Looking at all the parts, it made more sense. It did not make sense for me to stay with that opportunity in front of me. I am very happy with the offer.”

While she will miss her family, friends and listeners in the United States, Nikki Z said she felt like a “caged bird.”

“Jamaica is just a better place for me to be. It’s not even so much about work or the money, that’s where I have always been at peace and I wanted to get that,” she said.

She also stressed that she believes she has a lot more work to do in the Jamaican music industry and on radio.

“I think radio on a whole has gotten kinda complacent and people have made it more about themselves. Our industry is moving from one hype to the next. People really need to start seeing the great music and the great artistes that we have,” Nikki Z told THE WEEKEND STAR, noting that her manager Shelly-Ann Curran has been doing the groundwork until she arrives.

She says there are also other projects that she intends to work on while she is in Jamaica. She added that she will also be working with charities like Rockhouse Foundation and Kids Hub.

0 thoughts on “NIKKI Z BACK ON ZIP!

1. U no see as Movado come back fi good and Busy deh there now she can pick har choice..Nikki love the land of Hood and Wata