PATIENT RECORDS TREATMENT IN PORT ANTONIO HOSPITAL

22 thoughts on “PATIENT RECORDS TREATMENT IN PORT ANTONIO HOSPITAL

1. That nurse needs to go, no where on this planet a nurses decision over rules a doctors order, she is sadistic to see this girl suffering from sickle cell pain and won’t give her medicine unless she the nurse is hoarding the medicine for herself.

2. The patient herself don’t know how to talk to people. As well, as the staff were unprofessional.

3. She seems addicted to the meds… Trust me if sickle cell crisis did a wap her she wouldn’t have time to be doing this…. My girl a time har meds every 6hrs no sah…. Like I said if pain was touching her she wouldn’t be walking or behaving like that. Blame the nurse though, she should do what I do, mi nuh wait pon dem to ask Esp when I know that dem addicted. Mi deh deh pon my eyelash meds dun pull up and everything mi gi dem until dem tired fi see me face and Haffi seh dem nuh want nuh more or beg mi fi gi dem time cause dem nuh ready fi it. Pethidine is a dangerous drug many Healthcare workers have lost their license because of it.

4. The country hire all these unprofessional ppl that nurse dont give a damn about anything she need to be fired .i feel so bad for the ppl that have to live in that country

5. GM Met,
    Ilove pinkwall and the comments kill me most times….
    I love when non medical person have their opinion of how the medical world runs. The nurse does have a right to refuse to give whatever medications prescribed as long as she has rational and legitimate reasons. Most sickle cell patients are ADDICTED to Pehtidine that the nurse was refusing to give. If she has strength to walk to the nurses station with video in hand she is not in pain. Alternatives are also prescribed to Pethidine. Complications of narcotics include depressed respiratory function.. {can stop breathe}, acute low blood pressure, fibrosis at injection sites…..
    Of note pain is subjective and is whatever the patient tells you it is.

6. Suh Anon, you stay from deh suh and diagnose seh she addicted to di medication – and she nahn feel nuh pain? The nurse is downright outaorda – if di doc seh di woman fi get her meds she fi get it, mek she decide fi nuh tek it, it is not up to di dyam nurse fi seh she not giving her no meds, what the hell is dat. All now the second nurse nuh look up or even turn around to acknowlege the patient how rude and disgusting and wen dem nuh hab nuh job dem talk how life haard .some a dem fi guh mine bush and chap weed not look after human beings

7. As a nurse u cant never tell a patient they are not in pain. If. The Nurse feel that the Pt is becoming an addict she needs to talk to the doc to have a conversation with the pt about pain management. But if the doc order PRN Q6H n the pt is due for it n she requested it should not be nooo questions, the PT should get the meds

8. Does the nurse even understand what PRN means. It mean if the girl want her meds every hour she can get it every hour, unless the doctor put a specific note stating she can get it every 6 hrs as needed. The nurse is very wrong, the need to understand that customer service goes a long way. And when the patients are rude to you, you give them their meds last with a smile on your face.

9. Very sad, from the receptionist to the ward assistant to the doctors. Nobody has any customer service. I feel bad for our society.
    I hope this nurse lose her job…and learn a lesson.
    Our society judge people by their situation. Classism is very prevalent in our country. Jamaicans need a wake up call.

10. Pain is subjective. The patient seem to just be there for the pain medicine. The nurse should have asked her what is her level of pain from 1-10 with 10 being the worst. PRN is as needed. She wasn’t in excruciating pain cause she wouldn’t be able to get out a bed and record. When she take the medication so often she can develop a tolerance to it and then it won’t be as effective.

11. If she is in pain. The pain that she is in does not warrant her getting an opoid (narcotic). Prn means as Necessary or as needed,another analgesic may have been prescribed as well to ‘BACKUP’ the pethidine. Also pethidine is not given on an hrly basis. Individuals in true sickle crisis whether they have a high pain tolerance or not nuh have time fi a walk up and down to argue. Dem deh pon bed floor a beat down wall dem on oxygen etc

1. Because you know all the sickle cell sufferers in the world. The nurse was wrong if she had answered the patient properly instead of in her gut and she was on her phone texting that nurse was despicable and has no bedside manners, why she never contacted the doctor and let the doctor speak to patient then if the patient is an “addict” the whole staff should be reprimanded.

12. these nurses in Jamaica do it for the money they don’t do it out of compassion for the patients or the love of the profession. them terrible i tell you terrible speaking from experience they are.

13. As a nurse I’m going to tell you that nurse was very wrong you can’t determine what a patient should feel and how much meds that should be on pain is subjective and whatever the patient tell you it is is what it is. Regardless of her walking around she can still be in pain warranting her need for medication. I could understand if other meds were tried and they didn’t work but don’t have someone wanting pain meds especially a sickle cell patient bc that pain is no joke.

14. For a second, I felt I was the only one that didn’t know what PETHIDINE is. Needless to say it’s Demerol a very powerful and potentially dangerous and addictive narcotic. There r several issues here. ETHICS 101 violation . The nurse comes off as arrogant and uncaring. The pt behavior is questionable too. But it’s not for me to judge. The situation could have been handled better. From one rn to the next the nurse coulda gwaan betta.

15. My daughter has sickle cell and the first time I watched the video it broke my heart to think if my daughter was in pain and the nurses refused to give her meds . But alot of sicklers are addicted to theses med and if this patient was in that much pain she would not have the strength to walk and video and Carry on a full convo

16. That nurse is unprofessional and its not her call,her job is to administrate medication if its due the patient have the right to ask for it and its her job to give it..how long the patient is in the hospital is not her business thats the doctor to decide..prn mean as needed but that prn order have a time window and base on what the patient is saying i would assume its prn q 6 hrs..

17. She is addicted to the pain killer, which is a narcotic. People go to hospitals and doctors everyday trying to get various medication, anti depressants and so forth. She was offered Panadol and she dint want it, she isn’t in as much pain as she says she is. If she was she would accept even a children’s caffenol.

18. The fact that the “nursing staff” seem so cold and indifferent… That young lady was not rude, asking questions to get clarification is not being rude. If any medical personnel in the hospital where I work acted like these staff members whether the patient was being confrontational or not, that staff would face disciplinary actions. One the first nurse was on her phone then walked away from the patient though she knew she was being filmed, just imagine off camera. Two the “head” nurse sitting down did not even care enough to look at the patient even if the patient is an addict which from casual observation it’s hard to tell, each patient still requires being treated with respect. Just wow! You get what you put into people. You can earn a bachelor or masters in nursing but no amount of schooling can teach you empathy, you either have it or you don’t. You need need it to work in the healthcare field…