POLICE WHOSE GIRLFRIEND WAS SHOT TAKING IT HARD

police-Optimized

Relatives of the policeman whose gun was reportedly used by his three-year-old son to shoot the boy’s mother to death, are giving him unlimited support as he bears the grief that rocked a Clarendon community on Saturday.

The bizarre incident shook up the Nairne Castle community of North Clarendon, when it emerged that the boy had taken his father’s gun from under a pillow and shot his mother fatally while the law enforcer slept.

Now, one relative of the bereaved policeman told the Jamaica Observer that the family was standing by his side, as he had been going through enormous emotional pressure.

“Since the incident, things have not been going well for him and as a result we have to be monitoring him to make sure that he is alright,” the relative said.

The Frankfield Police said that about 2:45 pm, mother-of-two Rhea Ricketts, and her common-law-husband were at a house belonging to her mother when the policeman was awakened by a loud explosion.

“He later discovered that Ricketts was shot,” a news release from the Corporate Communications Unit of the Jamaica Constabulary Force later stated.

Police said the injured woman was taken to hospital where she was pronounced dead.

No further details were given, apart from the fact that a three-year-old child was also present in the room at the time of the incident.

The Independent Commission of Investigations (INDECOM), which has launched its own investigation, stated that the report it received from the police is that Ricketts was allegedly shot and killed, under circumstances that appear to be accidental, by her three-year-old son with the service firearm of her partner who is a member of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF). The policeman is attached to the Mobile Reserve.

“The concerned officer has since been interviewed as well as members of the family, who were at the premises when the incident occurred,” INDECOM said.

“The Victim Support Unit (VSU) has been engaged to attend to members of Ms Ricketts’ family,” INDECOM went on.

Yesterday family members of the slain woman wept openly after hearing the tragic news.

“Oh God no this can’t be real,” cried Delsia Ricketts, the 60-year-old mother of the deceased.

“I can’t believe that my baby is gone,” said the mother of seven as she reflected on her last conversation she had with her youngest daughter.

“She came here to pick up the children and the first thing she asked me was where was her bun and cheese and we laughed about it,” said the obviously distraught mother, who broke down in tears as she tried to finish the conversation.

According to one sister, Rhea had sent her two children to stay with her mother for the Easter holiday and had came with her common-law husband to pick them up for the return journey home.

The sister said that while they were there the rain began to fall and Rhea and her partner went into a room to sleep.

Another relative said that reports received said that the common-law husband had placed his weapon under his pillow before he went to sleep.

Allegations are that the child removed the gun while he slept.

“I was outside wiping off the steps when I heard the explosions. When I ran into the room I was just in time to see Rhea falling back, blood was all over her face,” said the distraught mother.

“The bullet struck her in the head,” said another relative.

Yesterday INDECOM said that the body of the deceased was processed by the forensic team, the hands of the child, and the police officer was swabbed, and his weapon taken out of circulation and packaged to be submitted to the Government Forensic Laboratory for analysis.

0 thoughts on “POLICE WHOSE GIRLFRIEND WAS SHOT TAKING IT HARD

1. Well mi still a wait fi si wah di ballistic rep. seh cazzen jah know mi nuh believe dah, anywho, if di chile did it, it still nuh pretty pan dem, can u imagine that chile growing up knowing he cazzed his moms death, hope them get him the help him need caz dat a trauma widin a trauma right there. RIP lady:(

2. My dad was a cop for years before i was born and i use to see his gun under the pillow at 3 but never even touched it to the amount of time i was warned not to,so i cant see how a 3yr old can even squeeze the trigger he must have used both arms # suspicious

3. IT can happen, it is not the first known case for children even as young a 3 years old to pull the trigger of a gun. It i just a ad situation.

4. Yep, been a bunch of similar cases mostly in the US of very young children firing weapons. As mi say aready, everyting a happen America ketch a yawd, till all toddlers a fire gun ketch deh now. What a ting? Deze kids being born nowadays are very curious and smart, parents have to be vigilant about safety.

5. Dis neva haffi happen. When since unda pillow safe fi keep gun?? Extreme caution haffi exercise when pickney liv in a di house. Smady haffi tek responsibility…:travel