PUTIN POISONED KGB OFFICER

Gaunt and frail, his organs succumbing to the cruelly destructive power of radioactive poisoning, Alexander Litvinenko lay in a London hospital bed in November 2006 and identified the man responsible for his impending demise: Vladimir Putin.

Nearly a decade later, an exhaustive inquiry by a British judge concluded on Thursday that the dying former KGB operative was probably right. For the first time, the Russian president was officially implicated in a murder that seemed plucked from the pages of a Cold War spy novel, but actually played out in the bar of a posh hotel in 21st century London.

The victim: an outspoken Kremlin critic who had defected to Britain, joined the payroll of British intelligence and accused Putin of vices ranging from corruption to pedophilia. The killers: a pair of assassins who, the report found, were almost certainly acting on orders from the Russian spy service, the FSB, and who left a trail of radioactive evidence strewn across London. The weapons of choice: one tea cup, and one massive dose of a rare nuclear isotope, polonium.
KGB-Optimized
[Litvinenko’s dying words: “A price” will be paid for silencing me]

The conclusions instantly set off a furious diplomatic row, with British and Russian officials accusing each other of treachery and deceit. British Prime Minister David Cameron called the findings of “state-sponsored” murder in his capital city “absolutely appalling.” A Kremlin spokesman, without apparent irony, said the report would “further poison the atmosphere.”

But there was a limit to how much damage the report could do to relations that are already badly frayed. The inquiry’s findings come at a highly sensitive time, as the West seeks Russian cooperation in ending the Syrian war. The British government’s response to the report reflected that delicate dynamic, with officials lashing out verbally but backing away from the sort of retaliation that could truly bite in Moscow. Cameron acknowledged as much, saying that Britain needed to engage with Russia on Syria, but would do so “with clear eyes and a very cold heart.”

Britain immediately summoned the Russian ambassador to express “profound displeasure” at what Home Secretary Theresa May called Moscow’s “blatant and unacceptable breach of the most fundamental tenets of international law.”

But speaking from the floor of the House of Commons, May beat back suggestions from opposition lawmakers that the government go further. She argued that Britain had already retaliated against Moscow in 2007 when preliminary inquiries into the killing suggested the hand of the Russian state.

“It is in no sense business as usual” between the Britain and Russia, she said, adding that Cameron would discuss the matter with Putin “at the next available opportunity.”

18 thoughts on “PUTIN POISONED KGB OFFICER

1. from day one we knew this …from before he came back in to the office for the second time around. that devil made that man age from 40 plus to 80 plus in 2 weeks then died …..everybody suspected the russion gov but who was going to do anything about it then, and still who will do anything about it now ….dirty politrix. Putin have the western secrets lol ….he will have to answer the maker one day still.

2. I cannot dislike Putin for some strange reason…they would have to give me authentic visuals of that charge of pedophillia fe me turn against him.

1. @PP really??? His demeanor reminds me of Hitler…don’t care for him at all and now we know he is a murderer. A investigation wasn’t even needed. I believed he was responsible from the story broke. You ever wonder why government inquests take so long??? 10 years cmon now.

1. Marie, bare wid me…many times we’ll see eye-to- eye, but due to the history between Russia and the west I find it hard to run with what’s said about Putin if the sources soley britan and america.

Some devil can be tolorated easier than others.

3. NOPE don’t believe did don’t tell no lie on my friend putin so the man was a double spy for Russia and Britain,how did he expect to die? How can we be sure who killed him?of course British will say it’s not them. Couple of months ago they sat this man was autistic! now he’s a pedophile?

4. Is one set a ppl you nuh ramp wid is dem ppl deh di R-sians. I am not surprised the man met dat end fi meck those statements. A just straight death fi any offense when it come to dem, no second chances.

5. He was a spy for both countries (double agent) could of been bumped off by anyone of dem… That’s what happen to spies…

6. Jah know. Me caah believe say ppl really a say putin no have nothing fe do Wid that hit. Smh so the next activist’s way use to bun him out inna the media. A who order the hit pon him, when dem bullet him up infront a the kremlin.

1. The article and case wasn’t about the politician and the news man (well up to date on Russian issues)is about a switchblade with more than one enemy.

7. Am sorry but a double agent spy, can be justifiably killed by either side… There is a campaign by the West to demonize vlad much like they did other leaders who no longer played ball. Be careful how you allow your perception to be shaped by these people.