ROMANIAN SCAMMERS SAID TO HAVE CARRIED OUT ATM SCAM IN JAMAICA

The Counter-Terrorism and Organized Crime Unit (C-TOC) says it has arrest warrants for four other Romanians involved in a major ATM scam in Jamaica.

Assistant Commissioner Clifford Chambers, head of C-TOC, says the cops have their photos and are searching for them.

One of the Romanians was charged on Monday.

The scammers have been installing devices in ATMs in the Corporate Area and St. Ann, fleecing more than $50 million from cardholders.

ACP Chamber disclosed that the international scammers have also been operating in other Caribbean countries including Barbados and Antigua.

“We know that when they obtain the information from the card, this information is sent back to a jurisdiction outside of the country, where they would produce these cards and send them back to the country. We know the courier service that they are using. We know that the funds are being smuggled out of the country…and so we just want to inform, advise and alert the general public of what is happening out there,” said the C-TOC head.

As a result, ACP Chambers is warning cardholders to be on the alert when conducting transactions at ATMs.

“If a person is using a smartphone that has bluetooth capability, we will encourage them to activate the bluetooth once they are entering any ABM machine and if it is picking up any signal from the machine, it means that the machine is compromised,” he outlined.

He is urging members of the public who have information on the whereabouts of the Romanians to contact C-TOC.

The men are suspected to be hiding in St. Ann.

2 thoughts on “ROMANIAN SCAMMERS SAID TO HAVE CARRIED OUT ATM SCAM IN JAMAICA

1. I memba one time deze two white men in a random West Indian store a do money transfer through MoneyGram, me and mi sister just seh scammers, and they came off as Eastern European too.