SEVEN CHILDREN LEFT MOTHERLESS

Seven Children Left Without A Mother – ‘Just Know Mi Love Unuh,’ Dying Words Of Slain St Thomas Woman To Daughter

Seven children, the youngest of whom turned four yesterday, are forced to live the rest of their lives without their mother, who was, on Monday, brutally murdered just steps away from their home in Hampton Court, St Thomas.

According to reports, 36-year-old Kerron Peckoo had just locked up the bar where she worked and was walking home at about 11 o’clock on Monday night when she was attacked by a man who allegedly slashed her throat and stabbed her in the face and upper body.

Nimoy Bailey, Peckoo’s oldest child, who is a fifth-form student of the Happy Grove High School in Portland, told The Gleaner that she witnessed her mother’s brutal ordeal.

“I was inside reading and I heard singing. I picked up mommy’s voice, so I got up to open the door. By the time I reach the door, I hear she bawling out for murder. I panicked, and when I opened the door, I saw a man over her doing something. I don’t know if is stab or chop, but he was on top of her. I rushed back in the house for a machete and when I came out, I saw her on the ground a bleed,” she explained as she fought back tears.

Bailey said that she rushed inside for a towel and wrapped her mother in it as she shouted for help.

“She said ‘Just know mi love unuh (children). Tell your father to take care of the baby for me’. I began panicking again and kept telling her to hold on, just hold on,” she said, adding that her mother named her attacker before she died.

By this time, the distraught teen was overcome by the hurt and began crying.

Kayan Brown, resident of Hampton Court, who also accompanied Peckoo to the hospital, recounted the woman’s final moments.

‘MI NAH GO MEK IT’

“After mi hear the shouting, mi run up there and grab her up and we put her in the van, but by the time we reach Leith Hall (less than 10km from the hospital), she start beat the van and her body start flick up. Then she seh: ‘Mi nah go mek it. Mi a guh dead’. Then her eye just start roll over,” Brown said.

The woman was taken to the Princess Margaret Hospital, where she was pronounced dead.

The St Thomas police have since accosted the father of Peckoo’s youngest child, who they say is to be questioned and charged in connection with the murder.

It is also reported that the two had a matter before the court with regard to child maintenance.

Peckoo, known as Coolie, is remembered as a jovial woman who put her children first.

Zodie Thomas and Claudette Clarke, teachers at the Golden Grove Primary and Infant School, told The Gleaner that two of Peckoo’s children are to sit the Grade Six Achievement Test in a few months.

“She was very involved in her children’s school life, and although they couldn’t make it to school every day because of financial problems, she tried her best with them and kept in touch with us.

“She even wanted to better herself as she was a part of the Jamaica Foundation For Lifelong Learning programme that we offer in the evenings. She just wanted to be the best for her children,” they said.

17 thoughts on “SEVEN CHILDREN LEFT MOTHERLESS

1. What a heart wrenching tale. I could not even finish reading this. Take her body guh put pon di steps of Gordon House. All of unno whose loved ones have died or maimed as a result of the continued crime on the island deposit the bodies at Gordon House. Cause is like dem don’t get it. Call up Al Jazeera, Russia Today, AP and Reuters and meck unno stories heard internationally and call out di govt. Sick to mi core. Because a dem tourism industry dem nuh want to fix this crap and want to keep it underwraps. Loud up di ting and embarrass dem into doing dem damn job. Why should seven children end up motherless and we treat it as though is another day and go about our lives since it is not us or wi ppl.

1. Have any solutions you’d like to offer on how to eradicate crime from every corner of the island? If so, share them. No government can provide security for every square inch of their country. Crime is inevitable. As long as there are heartless persons like the father of that woman’s child there will be crime. The question is what to do with him now. Lock up isn’t good enough. I’d say death by lethal injection would suffice.

1. Countries with ten,twenty even thirty times the population of Jamaica don’t have 1/10 of the murders or violent crimes, so let the govt of JA go investigate what those countries with their high population are doing right to keep law and order in dem country.

2. Ok ok ok ok.i will now reverse my 28yrs stance on capital punishment. I now say ..string them up n heng them up alive! !
    Rest in peace and may God grant you all the serenity dear children.

3. My heart was heavy as i read this..MY GOD ONE SMADDY CAN WICKED SUH?? Prison too good fi all like him suh…IF A HIM,(di youngest pickney fada) DEM FI GAS HIM AND STRIKE A MATCH AND WATCH HIM BURN. May God guide and protect those kids..ITS A SAD TIME INDEED.. 🙁 🙁 🙁

4. I’ve seen the gruesome pics of what that wicked man did to that lady.. The animal literally was slicing the lady skin open. Heart wrenching to see what he did to her, I could barely look at the photos..

5. Goodnight Metters

I’m starting to become desensitized to show yuh how often mi hear about these type of things a Ja.
    And it’s very very sad and chilling especially the part where shi start beat di van saying shi nah guh mek it.’ May God be with her kids and I hope and pray they have good people around them.
    R.I.paradise to her. Sad bad!

6. Her baby’s father is involved in this. I am telling you nuff Jamaican men do not like women. Lots of men with pent up issues with their sexuality. The amount of men who kill the women in their lives is shocking. They would rather go prison and make man grind them than leave these women alone.

7. well well i hear persons saying what the government should do and can do about crime but let me tell all you bloggers this and listen up the government of jamaica is very much ok with crime as long as its not affecting there tourism and reason been if jamaica is free of crime want you think is going to happen,the people of the country are going to start pay attention to the government like what they do with certain money how dem so rich and the police can’t do there corruption because too much attention on them so they divert the attention on the crime and violence in the streets SO theres go unnoticed ..AM here visiting and the police can’t or i should say not willing to control the madness most of this taxi man doing on the road reason been some of these taxi belong to them but if the crime that we can see every day goes un punish what about the ones we can’t see I love this place like many others but if your connections are not in high places this is not the place for you