SO INCLUDING LBGTQ IS BEING ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF HISTORY? HISTORY NEED FI COME OUTA PEOPLE BEDROOM DEN

Canadian High Commissioner to Jamaica, Sylvain Fabi is urging Jamaicans to be on the right side of history by advancing inclusiveness towards the local lesbian, gay, bis*xual and transgender (LGBT) community.

Speaking with The Sunday Gleaner following a courtesy call on the Montego Bay Chamber of Commerce and Industry last week, Fabi, whose tour of duty began in September 2015, said that the Canadian Government continues to support human-rights activities in the island, including efforts of the LGBT community.

“We are doing activities with the LGBT group here in Jamaica and these are issues we have raised from time to time, in our private conversations with the local government,” said Fabi.

He suggested that history will be the judge of Jamaica’s stance on the LGBT issue, while calling for “inclusiveness, not just for s*xual orientation, but of all races, gender and age”.

JA UNDER PRESSURE

Jamaica has faced mounting pressure from local and international lobby groups to repeal laws believed to be infringing on the rights of vulnerable groups, including members of the LGBT community, and Prime Minister Andrew Holness has promised that this is one of the issues Jamaicans will be asked to decide on with an indicative referendum.

The top Canadian representative in the country argued that there is a trend worldwide towards acceptance and tolerance and opined that adversity and challenge on these issues will not last.

“Despite what you see in some countries of the world lately, I think there has been a historical movement towards more openness, more acceptance, (and) more tolerance, and I don’t think it is going to stop … it will have some bumps, but it’s not going to stop.”

Fabi, who spent several days in the tourist city meeting with key stakeholders, including outsourcing and tourism interests, had high praise for Jamaica as a tourist destination, but believes more Canadians would vacation in the island if the offering was more diverse.

“I think Canadians like the product, (but) Jamaica needs to diversify outside of all-inclusive.

“All-inclusive is good and there will always be persons who prefer that kind of tourism, but other visitors would want another kind of tourism which involves a little of the outside of their hotel, cultural, culinary and musical … and that would mean more visitors to Jamaica,” said Fabi.

4 thoughts on “SO INCLUDING LBGTQ IS BEING ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF HISTORY? HISTORY NEED FI COME OUTA PEOPLE BEDROOM DEN

1. U see him face… see yah… Errybody wahn come jamdung come tell dem wah fi du wid gaynizz..if unu suh inna people bedroom pick dem up and transport them to the inclusive country wid dat history. Unu want to figet fiwi history and institute fu unuz.. Charleeeeh…paleeeezzz

2. Being on the wrong side a history nah go mek we any worst off. From we nah start world wars, enslave and perform genocides WE GOOD.

3. I don’t believe ppl should be denied employment, housing or healthcare because of their sexual orientation. So, while the govt can do it’s part to ensure all citizens are protected under the law, it really has little power in how the average person will treat someone from that community day to day.

1. Inclusion in a nations Security, health and socioeconomic equity is all everyone ia entitled ro expext from their government…norhing else

I find it funny that homosexuality being wrong comes from centuries of religious teaching yet gays and their advocated keep demonizing all except those institutions.