TAKEN FROM SHERIVERONICA.WORDPRESS.COM> JAMAICA, WHY DO THEY HATE YOU

jamaica-flag-Optimized
Article taken from
JAMAICA, WHY DO THEY HATE YOU…don’t even count the ways!
sheriveronica.WORDPRESS.COM
THE TRUTH IS, we were taught to hate JAMAICANS. As a little girl in primary school, our teacher taught us that Barbados was the jewel of the Caribbean. We were taught that any mad/crazy slave or any slave who could not take instructions, were shipped off to Jamaica. This was the mandate, I supposed in my little head (or was that taught to me also), of every Caribbean island. Send the mad and **aggressive slaves to Jamaica. Then as time passed and you start to see clearer, meet people and question things, you soon realize that the insurgent slaves were the brave ones. They were the men and women who could not be broken. There were the men and women who remembered their rich past and knew of their dark future away from their homes. They didn’t need the new religion and they certainly didn’t need to bake in the sun! As time went on, I learned of the *MAROON settlement and of the slaves who fled to the mountains in Jamaica. Obviously their quest for freedom continued and even the government fought to contain them! As mad/crazy as they were (supposedly), these humans knew they didn’t want to be slaves. Call them what you might, but they were not getting on their knees! I thought who are the mad people here, the ones who ran for their freedom or the ones who bowed down and remained slaves?
The sad part about this history is that Jamaicans came to believe the propaganda. They heard it so often and wanted their freedom so badly that they started to believe something must be wrong with them. Why didn’t they bow down and be normal? Why are they so outspoken and demand the freedom to speak? Why up to this very day are Jamaicans still considered aggressive, criminals and unduly outspoken?
TRUTH IS, Bajans and Trinis are not going to let up, so it’s up to you Jamaica to make your formal statement. It’s up to you to see your strengths for what they are!
Respect! Respect, Jamaica!
THE TRUTH IS this is why you are disliked, hated even, by other islanders, your other side of the family. You show them their weaknesses. You show them their ‘yes sir, no sir’ shame. You show them your strength in the face of all odds being stacked high against you. You are an affront to other islands Jamaica! You stand tall in rooms filled with short people.
TRUTH IS JAMAICA, heroes are never hailed by people who don’t know how to get off their knees.
* The Maroons were escaped slaves. They ran away from their Spanish-owned plantations when the British took the Caribbean island of Jamaica from Spain in 1655. The word maroon comes from the Spanish word‘cimarrones‘, which meant ‘mountaineers’. They fled to the mountainous areas of Jamaica, where it was difficult for their owners to follow and catch them, and formed independent communities as free men and women.http://discoveringbristol.org.uk/slavery/against-slavery/black-resistance-against-slavery/the-maroons-of-jamaica/
** From Bajans and Trinis I’ve learned that we Jamaicans are an aggressive, assertive bunch of people. We speak out much more, we put up with very little, we argue, fight, create conflict, curse, shout and resist at every opportunity. They look at us in amazement… where did we get all that “fight” from?http://www.thenewblackmagazine.com/view.aspx?index=313

10 thoughts on “TAKEN FROM SHERIVERONICA.WORDPRESS.COM> JAMAICA, WHY DO THEY HATE YOU

1. Because we could not be contained ir controlled it was easier for them to justify their failure to do just that by saying we were crazy. It is what psychologists call sour grape rationalization. ” what you mean you don’t want to be enslaved, what you mean you gonna rebel?” Oh, that’s because you are crazy! We have always been a strong and proud people. We are the products of warriors and kings and queens. We should be proud to be thus mad.

2. I am another island nation and was told that JAMAICAN DNA Is from THE most rebellious slaves. And jamaica was THE island that imprisoned defiant, uncontrolled, ignorant, defensive, and combative slaves were sent to by slave masters around THE caribbean. IN other words, its THE island with slavds with defiant personality/mentality. Well it was a prision island for defects from africa. Mah I say it was a hub for THE most violent slaves like today we called Alcatraz that home the most dangerous prisioners In America. I was told by grown Up In my country In social events. They stilled believe that to this day. And stereotype that its JAMAICAN DNA for their violent nature. Its a stereotype other carribean nation instilled. I heard this all THE time if Jamaican comes Up In THE conversation moreless if its about one bad apple that spoiled to whole barrel. Well i learned something about THE thru history behind slaves rebellious and jamica wow……

3. “The Maroons were escaped slaves. They ran away from their Spanish-owned plantations when the British took the Caribbean island of Jamaica from Spain in 1655. The word maroon comes from the Spanish word‘cimarrones‘, which meant ‘mountaineers”…….hence, Spanish Town.

1. Hey Yep!…Spanish Town first capital city under de spaniards.
      I have ZERO shame in being “a mad rassclatt Jamaican” because the source of the madness comes down from the source of our ancestors plight, bloodshed, derogation and tears.
      Absolute disgrace to see the likes of the bleachers, bobbettes, happles, alkalines, tulus, dudus and such. Dem represent the slave masters psyche of being: Thieves, sodomites, murderers, rapist and slave drivers.

1. PP, if only we as black people would get our shit right, tight and together…mi seh mi love black people tuh di bone!!!!!!!…but mi nuh like nuffa dem cause ah di foolishness ah fuhckry weh dem love kip up…look how many shades of black there is; we as black people ah di PRETTIEST setta people on God’s green earth!!!..it just sad seh most ah wi nuh embrace wi self worth ah POWER that we have cause if we did, we would be very much so capable of taking charge…may God have mercy on us as ah whole, and may the good Lord continue tuh watch over, love, bless and protect my sweet sweet home land, JAMAICA!!! :heart: :rose:

4. Jamaicans and Haitians are the most rebellious ppl because we actually fought for our freedom, we did a plan wid we ppl fi create slave states and go back to Africa…thats y we ppl ever shine bcuz the same determination n no nonsense attitudes of our ancestors run strong in our bloods, thats y we got so much talented individuals coming from this one island. Sorry we aren’t like everybody else we actually proud seh a per fighter come land in we likkle island. Likkle but we Tallewah.

5. @2rassfrass @Phantom Phoenix
    Read the comments and thought about Dutty Boukman “Bookman”, a Jamaican slave, who was one of the early leaders of the Haitian Revolution (another mad rassclaat Jamaican).