THE JAMAICAN DREAM

Dear Met, Metters and Peepers,

We in Jamaica have become so impacted by Globalization that a large cross section of our population has bought into the American Dream. Thus it got me thinking what is the Jamaican dream ,how do we define it and attain same?Surely many persons who migrated if asked would state the reason for leaving Jamaica is mainly due to them not being able to fulfill their potential and achieve certain accomplishments here.

Well I for one will testify there is such a thing as the Jamaican Dream. I’ve known of Lisa and her restaurant from 1999 when she sold food to mostly primary school kids and ghetto people at peppercorn rates.Met back then it was standing room only, zinc shed flimsy board shack by the street side.Lisa has diligently built her brand and her stocks has risen to the point where she owns couple vehicles, lil house, paying her bills nah teef jps light and employs several young ladies.

I am inspired to follow in Lisa’s similar vein because many Jamaicans run lef yard and gone invest and build up backra masters countries. They use up educational opportunities and scholarships at Jamaica expense then the brain drain kicks in as soon as them vampires suck the lifeblood out our beloved nation. However you define your Jamaican dream, I hope and pray it involves you owning a piece of this blessed rock and invest in it.Look at China you will see their super power meteoric rise is built on investment and spending largely in house. When they invest overseas they insist on using their ppl and resources ensuring China enrichment .In the USA I bet a Jamaican won’t hire you because you are a fellow Jamaican sigh.

10 thoughts on “THE JAMAICAN DREAM

1. The Jamaican dream does exist I have family members straight living it. Nice house great cars, travel a lot and etc. Whether alone a di best. Sender you are right about working with Jamaicans I remember when I got my first job ever and manager was a Jamaican big tuff country man and mi check mi phone fi the time so I could go home since my shift was finish and the man scream bout you leave when I tell you to leave and why r u looking at your phone. I was 17/18 and this man is a big man acting the most and a customer asked why him acting like that and him shame he couldn’t even look at me.

2. I strongly believe in this – we need to start embracing our culture one again and stop being influenced so much by the United States, in everything we do and say.

3. When ppl a Jamaica can leave ppl tings alone and Nuh kill nobody Fi Dem hawd earned tings den by all means Jamaica we full up a good businesses and such…. Mi have family yea weh have big business a Jamaica an gun man nuh stap come tuh Dem Fi get Fi Dem share wah Dem nuh put een just Fi keep dat business up…. Mi get wah yah say still

4. I wouldnt employ a jamaican bcuz dem badmind. They have nothing called work ethics.you agree to pay them a certain amount and when they see you making certain amount of money their attotude change. They always late and they just dont seem to want to start from the bottom like the rest of us.ia there a jamaican dream. Yes my parents are living it. 2 nice houses 3 nice vechiles and 3 businesses. My other family member down there is living it.however there’s no room for growth for young people down there.we cant create our own dreams down their on our own so we migrate.