- by Met
HOMECRIME & COURTShe locked me out, broke my windscreen, got me arrested by the police for taking a new wife —Husband
She locked me out, broke my windscreen, got me arrested by the police for taking a new wife —
Ile Tuntun Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State, has adjourned a divorce case involving a man, Bashiru Taofik and his wife, Jelilat Taofik.
Taofik had dragged his wife to court, seeking that the court should separate them on the accounts of constant fight, violence and threat to life.
He further requested if his prayer was answered that the court should restrain her from coming to fight him at his place of residence or work place.
Jelilat did not admit to claim.
The court president, Chief Olasunkanmi Agbaje, after he had listened to both parties stated that more evidence would be needed. He thus adjourned the case till April 9, and asked both parties to come to court with their children and parents.
Bashiru, stating his evidence stated thus, “My wife has made our home hell since the past three years because she’s always fighting me. She seeks every opportunity to fight me. She starts the day raining curses on me and ends it tearing my clothes into shreds.
“She packed her belongings out of my house and left for her parents’ house. I thus decided to take another wife who brought comfort into my life.
“My wife on hearing I had taken another wife moved her belongings back to my house and hell was again let loose. She turned my house upside down and took to cursing my new wife and myself every day. I have known no peace since she moved back.
“My lord, there was a day we had a clash and she locked me and her rival up in our apartment for four hours. It was my apprentice who came to our rescue by forcing the door open.
“She further went to destroy my property by pouring water on them. She destroyed my electrical appliances. I mopped my room throughout the whole day.
“Angry, I also filled some buckets with water and poured it on her bed and the whole room. On seeing that I had retaliated, she went to where I parked my car and broke the windscreen. She then got me arrested by the police and I was locked up for three hours after which we were advised to go home and settle our differences amicably.
“My lord, I’m fed up leaving under the same roof with my wife. I have no peace of mind staying with her, please, separate us, “the plaintiff said.
“My lord, I don’t agree to divorce. He’s joking if he thinks he can abandon me because of his new wife, “ Jelilat told the court.
“We started experiencing a strain in our relationship when I was pregnant with our last child who was the sixth. He told me he was through with having babies and gave me money for an abortion. I was given an injection at the hospital to abort the baby but it failed. He kept pressurising me to seek other means of getting rid of the pregnancy but I refused. I told him I didn’t want to die.
He locked up, attempted to roast me alive with petrol —Wife
“He promised to get me a shop if I did but didn’t listen to him because I knew he was lying.
“He got angry and swore I would go through hell if I remained adamant on the issue of abortion,”she added.
“He stopped giving me and our children feeding allowance. I reported him to his mother and she sent us feeding allowance for two weeks.
“I started feeding our children from the proceeds of my business till it collapsed.
“We fought constantly while my mother-in-law came to mediate in our differences. On one of the occasions, he swore that I would not have a safe delivery.
“My lord, I was operated thrice during and after delivery. I was on admission for 11 weeks. Things became worse between us after this.
“He warned our children never to enter his sitting room, they, therefore, went to our neighbours to watch television, “the defendant said.
“I came home one evening and met him and a lady eating and drinking. I got mad, put on a short and slapped the lady. I went further to pour kerosene on her.
“My husband beat the hell out of me and destroyed my property. He broke my hand while I bled profusely for days because he kicked me in the stomach. I was determined to destroy his property but our children restrained me. I destroyed his television set and kept the N18, 000 I found in his pocket. It was our neighbours who rushed me to the hospital.
“I went to my parents after I was discharged. I decided to come to court after I was discharged but our children restrained me.
“He totally stopped caring for our children and stopped the education of our eldest child in SS2. He later brought in this lady to live in our home even after our families had settled our differences, “she concluded.
How yuh mean, tear up indeh yes, nuh peace of mind roun here. Bout yuh go tek next wife, him too brite like stadium bulb no.