WTF AFRICA- SECOND WIFE MASH UP DEM LIFE

‘He took a second wife and hell was let loose’

A housewife, Kafila Adegbesan has approached an Agege Customary Court in Lagos State, seeking the dissolution of her 15-year-old marriage to her husband over battery and neglect.

The petitioner stated that she could no longer cope with the marriage despite several attempts by her husband’s family members to resolve the differences between them.

“I married my husband in the Islamic way. We started having problems when he insisted he wanted to marry a second wife two years after we got married.

“I was not opposed to this as a good Muslim, but sadly, the relationship between us gradually became strained when he brought in his new wife.

“He became hostile and started accusing me of being fetish. His new wife also joined him in accusing me of being responsible for her bareness.

“My husband claims to be a good Muslim, but he smokes and drinks. Whenever I challenge him about this he beats me mercilessly. I have scars all over my body to prove this.

“His new wife steals his money, but he will always accuse me of being a thief. My children stopped going to school because he insisted that they must attend quranic school only. I shoulder the responsibilities of taking care of them alone.

“I became a food vendor and sold in front of our house. But his new wife kept accusing me of putting charms in the food to the extent that people stopped eating the food.

“I have endured a lot in this marriage and all I am asking for is divorce so that I can have peace. I also want the custody of my three children because I don’t want them to suffer in the hands of this new woman,” she told the court.

Jamiu, however denied all the allegations.

“I am in support of the dissolution of this union. This woman has brought so much hardship to my life. I can’t tolerate her bad behaviour anymore. She is jealous and would do anything to harm my immediate family,” he said.

The case was adjourned till April 28.

One thought on “WTF AFRICA- SECOND WIFE MASH UP DEM LIFE

1. But mi did always tink seh di wives dem nawmally ok wid di oda wife dem an ting cause a pawt a dem ting.