Two men were fatally shot by the police and two firearms seized during a reported gun battle in the Paradise Court Housing Scheme commonly known as Zimbabwe in Trench Town, St. Andrew early Tuesday morning.
One of the men has been identified as Devon Campbell also known as Chicken.
About 3:00 a.m., the police responded to explosions in the community.
Acting Senior Superintendent Howard Chambers, head of the Kingston West Police, said police went to the area but were confronted by gunmen. After being pursued, they engaged the police in a shootout. The police returned fire and two men were shot.
A rifle and a handgun were recovered from the men. Seventeen rounds of ammunition were also seized.
In the meantime, acting SSP Mr. Chambers has attributed the cause of the shooting in Trench Town to a gang feud. He said gangs in the community have been “very active” recently, but he does not know the reason for the flare up.
He insisted, however, “We are pushing every effort to ensure the safety of law abiding citizens that reside in those areas.”
Sometimes I pity them that they are doomed just by their place of birth, but Lord, how the hell you are so poverty stricken living in the ghetto and have gangs fighting each other? Over what? wealth? a better life? It hard fi feel sorry fi fools
A f**k a oonu bout oonu left fr where ever oonu live and come a fight war a maxfield lastnight Mek mi affi chuck pon mi floor we are tired of it