200K PEOPLE IN JAMAICA NAH EAT GOOD

200,000 Undernourished People In Jamaica – UN Report
HUNGRY

A United Nations (UN) report says there are about 200, 000 undernourished people in Jamaica.

However, the report, issued by the UN’s Food and Agriculture Organisation, says Jamaica and other CARICOM countries, are making good progress in reducing hunger and under-nutrition in line with global targets.

According to the report, Jamaica, Dominica, Bahamas, Belize and Trinidad and Tobago all have undernourishment levels of up to 10 per cent of their population.

And it says the number of undernourished Jamaicans in the region of 200, 000 has remained constant over the past two years.

Income inequality was cited along with food access, poverty and unemployment as factors that contribute to the undernourishment.

And according to the report, Jamaica, Haiti and Suriname are considered to be countries with extreme income inequality.

However, the food report said the number of undernourished persons in the Caribbean declined from 8.1 million in 1990-92, to 7.5 million in 2014-16.

2 thoughts on “200K PEOPLE IN JAMAICA NAH EAT GOOD

1. I wonder what the statistics were like back in the days when Jamaicans used to farm the land and raise animals….my most favourite fruits in life are in Jamaica….what I would give to eat a Jamaican apple everyday instead of dem Granny Smith or Mcintosh apples wey pack up of gmo’s….those days need to come back for so many damn reasons (economy, health, employment,reduction in hunger) but that’s another post.

2. I cannot think of a state worse than hunger and caan find nutten to eat nuh matta weh u look. I always advocate ppl in the cities going back to their ancestral lands, nuhbaddy nah hungry a country, maybe dem nuh like what’s on the plate, but food always abundant a country. If tings nah gwan in di city go back to unno land and farm it up and raise couple chicken. There is no excuse fi anybody weh hab piece a land and nuh hab some okra or two tomato in dem yawd.

Whole heap a food inna di bush dem, more time you walk you buck pon many tings bearing.