7 DAY WHITENESS

Bleaching cream promises whiteness in 7 days …Dermatologist warns against new skin lightening
jamaicaskinbleaching20110205ap
Many Jamaicans are now flocking a new skin bleaching product on the market called ‘Bleach Me Out White’, a cream which promises to whiten the skin in as little as a week.

A representative from the Kingston-based online store boasted that the product is in high demand, and he can also attest to its powers.

“For me, it is too strong because I have been bleaching for years, but I do use it. Like how my birthday is coming up now, I’m going to use it next week because I know two twos, I will get that tone that I want,” the representative told THE WEEKEND STAR.

The fast-acting bleaching cream is being distributed by the local entity, which sources the product from an African store overseas. The representative said they have been distributing the cream for about two months, and it is among their top sellers.

“We sourced it and shipped it to Jamaica because we see where it is getting great feedback overseas. So we decided to partner with some people and bring it here to Jamaica,” he said, noting that customers shell out $5,000 for the 14 ounce jar and half that price for the seven ounce jar.

He, however, noted that some customers complain of a burning sensation, but that is yet to deter them from buying.

Skin stripping

In addition to the burning sensation, the user experiences skin stripping, which he said is necessary to achieve the white complexion.

The bleaching cream sales person explained that the active ingredient in the product is a high concentration of kojic acid, as well as collagen and beta-carotene. He advised that the product is to be used sparingly, as it is very powerful.

“You need to rub in your cream. It’s best if you put in on like three, four, five times, than to use a lot and let it stay on you skin. That is why a lot of people in Kingston look like lobster and shrimp because they put on the strong things and let it soak,” he explained.

However, dermatologist Dr Carol Burrell, said the ingredients mentioned by the sales persons cannot accomplish such rapid skin whitening effects by themselves.

“Kojic acid is used to slow melanin production, and it is safe in low concentrations. It can cause skin irritation in high concentrations, but it cannot whiten the skin so fast, so there must be something else in there,” she said.

“If people use these creams that’s going to cause burning and stripping, it going to cause a lot of irritation which can result in hyperpigmentation, where the skin gets darker than it was before. This also exposes the skin, which can result in skin cancer,” the dermatologist warned.

11 thoughts on “7 DAY WHITENESS

1. My Goodness this cannot be safe, and to think some of these ppl is not even working and can pay $5,000 fi bleaching cream and when dem dun dem same one a complain seh food prices too high…..God help unno and unno priorities!

2. Amen same thing mi a seh to an a dem same one tun round an cuss di government seh dem dis am dat….one store run by a African man on white plains road to you want si him inna him white lab coat a mix-up mix-up ….when ppl a go Jamaica a deh so dem go fi di strong bleach woieeee from I was born.

3. Mi tell unnu already say bleaching move pass skin color and is now a status symbol for many. Check it if u can stay “white” it means u money up. It nuh different from name brand etc.

4. How the doctor fail to state that these self hating mongrels going to have a serious case of kidney failure due to the toxins caused by the high concentration of mercury…these bitches bout to die faster now :travel :ngakak :ngakak shop man you first!

5. They going end up with skin problems. I have a friend she look like zebra from the bleaching her skin bust up and have stripes all over.

6. The doctor doesn’t realise certain things….thr burning and peeling/stripping of the skin sounds like a skin peel and then the kojic acid and whatever other skin lightening on the fresh skin (that don’t get clack it’s full colour yet) is going to stop the colour from coming back, so used in small doses overtime you end up colour-less

7. What did I just read? Bleaching is self hate and anyone who does it is a fool. I wonder if the government can produce records of whether skin cancer rates have increased since people start take up this foolish practice.

8. Mi hear bout dah cream yah… It nuh give yuh chrome skin it mek Yuh clear….. nobody caah miss yuh. An when di video light come round it hit yuh. A clear a dweet now still.

Leave a Reply to HeavyD Cancel reply