A teenager accused of attempting to set his father’s house on fire was remanded in custody when he appeared in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate’s Court last Tuesday.
Eighteen-year-old Jeovaughni Daley pleaded guilty to attempted arson and malicious destruction of property.
Allegations are that the complainant was at work when he received a phone call that prompted him to go home. When he got there he observed that his son had attempted to set the house on fire. But the flames only burnt nine mattresses, 10 pillows, and two curtains.
“Why you did that?” Senior Magistrate Judith Pusey asked.
“Mi did under stress,” Daley replied. “Him lock mi out of the house and have mi living on road side. So mi just go up there and light it.”
The teenager’s father interjected: “Him not hearing; him start smoke ganja. Him seh him will slap a shot inna mi head.”
“Me never tell him that,” Daley countered. “Mi seh if him never did a mi father mi woulda buss a shot inna him head.”
The magistrate then asked Daley: “What kind of work you do, what kind of school you attend?”
“Mi a pree fi go HEART,” he replied.
“I don’t know what that means,” Pusey told him.
When the magistrate asked him how he intended to fund his study, Daley said that he had someone who would assist him in doing so.
“Two man cyaan live inna one house. If him cyaan hear, him cyaan stay there,” his father said, adding that his son told him prior to the fire that he was going to burn the house down.
The father said he reported the threat to the police.
“We have our way of trimming you down to size. Your father put down him foot, you fly up inna him face,” Pusey said.
The father then told the court that his daughter and grandson were inside the house when it was set ablaze.
“I told them to come out,” he said.
“Him oil the house and light the bed,” added the distraught father.
“I am going to send you to prison for it,” Pusey told Daley. “Yuh a big man, so you affi tek big man lik. I am going to keep you for two years.”
The upset teen told the court that he was not going to maintain his father when he gets older because he locked him out of the house.
Probation officers were then summoned to speak with Daley.
Laughing @ the comment “Mi a pree fe go HEART”. Too bad that Judge Pusey who see say dat dis yute ya heartless, only give him a mere 2 years.
I busted out laughing too.
With an effed up name like that no wonder Jeovaughni don’t know whether he coming or going. I hope he can take the two years to think about his life and come out a changed man. The ganja will drain out him system and hope him head come back.
The upset teen told the court that he was not going to maintain his father when he gets older because he locked him out of the house.
Lol..mi couldnt help but laugh. I really hope the 2 yrs turn him around n not make him worse. Hope him get counseling.