A housing development in the upscale community of Tavistock Terrace in Mills-borough, Kingston 6, has reportedly sparked a raging debate which has engulfed Juliette (Juliet) Holness, the wife of Government Minister Andrew Holness.
A report in today’s edition of the Sunday Gleaner said Mrs Holness, an established building contractor, has been brought in to assist with the development of a number of five- or six-storey structures.
However, residents of Tavistock Terrace, opposed to the development, questioning the basis on which the development was approved by the Kingston and St Andrew Corporation (KSAC).
The residents are also questioning the basis on which the sewage-disposal system for the development was designed and whether a slope stability analysis had been done.
They further claim that the soil is very unstable and falls within the well-known earthquake fault line.
Supported by technical experts, the residents have also questioned the decision to use block and steel masonry instead of a frame structure comprising columns and beams in what, they claim, is an unstable area.
But attorney-at-law and Speaker of the House of Representatives Delroy Chuck, whose company is representing the developers, says the consulting engineer, Tommy Leyow is of the view that no professional engineer could have made the statement that the building is structurally unsound.
According to Chuck, the developers had decided to change from townhouses to apartments, but that the main structure which was inspected by the KSAC remains substantially the same.
So yuh mean Juliet Holness is a professional and independently wealthy. As I understand it Andrew Holness wife was a senior manager at Pricewaterhouse Coopers for over a decade. She has bachelors degrees in Accounts and Economics and a Masters degree in Accounting. She is also a chartered accountant. Additionally, Mrs. Holness owns JAJ Management and Consulting, where she not only consults on real estate but she is also a major building contractor in her own right.
So, she is not like the concubines that some MPs have put up inna apartment and townhouse. Not like the underage girls/boys we hear associated with other politicians. I dont know of Mr. Holness and his wife owning houses in the US like Audley Shaw and Daryl Vaz and several other politicians. It looks like they believe in Jamaica and are wiling to invest their money here.
Poor people money!!!!!
At least we can say my PM make her money the honest way. She earned every penny sucking Errald Miller hood.
no one know how had’s but they had.
6:47 did Mrs Holness work for PWC Jamaica or USA. I have intern a PWC UK so I know a bit of inside runnings for both the UK and USA. Currently UK base senior manager earned £80,000 actually US100,000, with tax and all that that is reduce significant while taking into consideration that this income of the present. I’m sure she has receipts to her income since she worked at PWC and owns her own consulting firm but the again consulting payout in Jamaica is very different for elsewhere or should I say isn’t very lucrative in camparion to the USA, Europe or even the Cayman Islands. These question are very simple just provide evidence mi tired of “hear seh”.