By these numbers you can see that Jamaica is the second poorest Caribbean island.. even behind Haiti
Barbadoes – 1 U.S= $2
Bahamas – 1 U.S = $1
Belize- 1 U.S= $2
Bermuda 1 U.S = $1
Cayman 1 U.S= $.82c
Guyana 1 U.S = $207.21
Haiti 1 U.S = $51
Dominican Republic 1 US = $ 45
Jamaica 1 U.S = $118
Cuba 1 U.S =0.9964 CUC
Trinidad & Tobago 1 U.S= 6.33
Met those numbers are misleading for eg. Japan 1US = 119.91 Yen
caribbean …..i never said anything about any country outside of the caribbean
Met I think you misunderstand what the person saying, or maybe I am. I think they were referencing Japan as a country with a traditionally very strong economy but also with a weak dollar compared to the USD. So, maybe the fact that our dollar is the second weakest on this list doesn’t necessarily give full view of how our economy compare with the other countries’. With that said, the JA is indeed very weak compared to most of the countries on this list.
I know, i was just making the point that looking at exchange rate as an indication of how a country doing is not the best way. Cause doing that could lead one to conclude that JA is doing similar to Japan or that Cayman & Barbados is doing better then Japan which i think we both agree is not true.
oh ok
Jamaica is by no means poorer than Haiti. Haiti does however have the stronger dollar, which by no means is equivalent to a better economy.
Please note that some of these countries have strong USD black market.
based on GNP and Inflation. Look at Belize that have a strong dollar but no natural resources, no industries, under developed, No agriculture, and poor. How dem money so strong? Maybe dem back by Scotland yard. Trust and believe Belize nut have nutin pon most island. THAT COUNTRY POOR, INFRASTRUCTURE NOT UP TO DATE AND JOBLESS IS HIGH. TELL MI HOW WORLD MARKET MEK POOR COUNTRY HAVE STRONG DOLLAR.JAMAICA IN A BETTER POSITION THAT BELIZE LONG TIME.
so cuba and haiti dollar better than JA DOLLAR!!!!! SHAME
Because of the conflict with the US, Cuba has never allowed the USD to have more value than their money.
Haiti nuh poor as ppl think, dem collect billions off di earthquake is poor management meck it nuh show back in di country, nuff teefing up a gwan as usual, but even so dem still have dem lovely residential communities and nice places where the western media never shows. They also have a thriving up and coming tourist industry, it is a regular cruise ship stop and celebrities going their for vacation. I would prefer spend money in Haiti than DR any day.
We rather talk about Haiti and Japan than the fact that Jamaica is falling in deeper financial woes than the day before?