Wasim Muklashy
October 14 at 9:51pm · Edited ·
The response to this whole Lamar Odom situation has been one of the most telling and borderline disgraceful social media experiments of our day. While there is a whole beautiful and inspiring segment that is undoubtedly offering support and prayers and positive thoughts to a man in a bad place, there is an almost equal segment that is an absolute disgrace to humanity and all the progress we’ve made as a whole. It absolutely sickens me to see the comments and Twitter stream mayhem. If I see one more “Who cares? He’s a crackhead”…well…you’re too easy to ignore and the lack of responses to your posts show as much. But if I see him prefaced by ‘Khloe Kardashian’s Ex’ one more time I’m going to puke. If I hear ‘Khloe is such a strong woman’ one more time, I’m going to hurl. Does it really need to be about a Kardashian right now!?? There’s absolutely no wonder why a man who has gone through so much already has gone down the road he has.
First of all, for those of you that do not know…you should familiarize yourself with this brilliant excerpt from a Sports Illustrated article by Lee Jenkins from 6 years ago (http://is.gd/OsFoqj):
“The happiest Laker is the one whose father was addicted to heroin, whose mother died of colon cancer when he was 12, who attended three high schools, had his first college scholarship revoked before the fall semester of his freshman year, became a subject of three college investigations, declared for the NBA draft, tried unsuccessfully to pull out of the draft, was picked by arguably the worst franchise in sports, violated the league’s antidrug policy twice within eight months and after finally getting his life together, went home to New York City for an aunt’s funeral and wound up burying his 6 1/2-month-old son, then getting robbed at gunpoint.”
What wasn’t mentioned, since it hadn’t happened yet, was that in 2011, he was also a passenger in a car that struck and killed a 15 year old boy, and just three months ago, Lamar lost two more of his closest friends, who died just a week apart from each other.
Despite all that, he was a MAJOR component of two Lakers NBA Championship teams, and an extremely deserving 6th Man of the Year. Lamar Odom has channeled all that energy an focus towards one of the most decorated careers in professional sports, despite his hardships and his heavy heart. Lamar Odom is a rare breed in which no one has had a bad thing to say about him. He was always revered as one of the nicest, most humble, genuine human beings in the league. He was the guy that made everyone else feel better. He was the guy that was always propping up those that were falling down. He strove off making others feel better. He was just ‘that guy.’
He was the man.
So, quite frankly…WHY DOES ANYONE CARE ABOUT THE KARDASHIANS!? Why are they even part of this conversation!?? Somehow, someway, a group of overhyped plastic dolls have managed to create and instill a culture in which everything comes back to them. The attention comes right back to them. It’s always about them, even when it’s not about them, it’s always about them. And they’ve made a fortune nurturing and cultivating and milking the absolute life out of that formula. Somewhere deep down inside, there’s a whole group of people that are actually happy that this is happening. Guaranteed. “If it bleeds it leads” the old saying goes…
And there it is…that’s the standard that the sensationalist celebrity driven American media has put on everyday hard-working, struggling, pain-addled public. And then we wonder why we have the highest rates of depression and mental illness on the planet and why so many are acting out on a more and more regular basis.
This Khloe animal has done NOTHING to deserve the attention she gets. Nothing that anyone in their right goddamn minds should be celebrating in any sense of the world. Yet we do. Is it not obvious that those leeches feed off that attention? That is their only fuel. They are parasites. And their self-worth comes from sucking out your very own.
When will we stop giving attention to the things that don’t deserve it and give attention to the things that do??? Things like mental illness. Climate change. Our veterans. Renewable energy. The good things people are doing. Our children. Our future.
Seriously…people…is it not time to end the madness? Stop feeding into this sensationalist TMZ-fueled media culture in which the Kardashians and their ilk are the center of the universe!?? Do you even have any idea what you’re ignoring when you do that? What you’re burying when you do that? What you’re hiding when you do that? What you’re not confronting when you do that? What you’re creating when you do that?
Just think about and try to answer those questions…truthfully…honestly…to yourself.
If you do…for once…look past the headline. If we weren’t spending that energy on what these non-contributing bobble butts were wearing every time they took a shit, what would we be spending that energy on? Just think about and try to answer that question…truthfully…honestly…to yourself. What would we do with every minute we didn’t pay attention to that static?
Straight up, narcissism is infinitely worse than any goddamn drug you can put into your system, for narcissism not only kills you, but it kills your soul and the soul of all those you come in contact with. Narcissism is more addicting than any substance, and perhaps worst of all, it is a gateway drug to entitlement.
If we live in a world in which a man who has battled as much as he has, and has accomplished as much as he has under the conditions that he has had to accomplish them in, is overshadowed by a woman who has done absolutely nothing of value other than teach people how to stroke their own egos, and we’re ok with that world…we’re part of the problem.
And the worst part is…we know it.
So let’s wake the f**k up.
And Lamar, pull through this thing. Get yourself back together. And do yourself a favor when you finally crawl out of that coma, kick that trash that’s sitting at your bedside to the curb.
Start anew.
Start fresh.
Powerful article..still saying a prayer for him..Only God knows why people have to go through what they do.
well said
I agree 100% ….. So sick and tired of them ! Hey khole being that you love to be in the media spotlight here’s what you can do… Go and visit your real daddy OJ Simpson in prison and call all the media outlets so they can film it… That would be a bigger story than your stepdaddy becoming a woman and Kim sex tape… Lamar I pray that you make it and get a chance to make it right
had to pick it and dust it off
._|\______________________, .
…/ `–||||||||———]. POOOOW POOOOOW POOOOOW POOOOOW
. _==o ______ _____________|.
…;.)—.(_.(__) /.
..// (\) ),——’.
.//___//.
./`—-’//.
.‘——– – .
” I do believe , Khole loves and care deeply for Lamar …. who knows the real facts or even how Khole might have tied her best to help Lamar ? I’m not gonna sit here and say its her fault or she didn’t do her best . ( I just can imagine how hard it is to deal with anyone that has an addiction let alone your husband ) prayers for Lamar
I agree wid dis article cuz I bin saying di media is to be blamed, cuz dem make dis ting about di Kardashians from di get go…. as if him dying Dont make a strong enuff headline dem keep injecting di Kardashians in every ting written/televised about Lamar……am through wit even blaming Kardashians fi anything cuz di media is di real culprit behind dem, di media fi quite sometime bin stooping too low to som ratchet level fi ratings/views, jus like we tink celebs must be role models I think media shud have a responsibility in wat dey report. We all know publicity is how all reality tv stars thrive wedda its good are bad am I to believe di media don’t know dis? This is a site I loved dearly and somtimes I don’t even like wen I see a thread about dese ppl but I guess met can’t escape dem like mi self yah and a nuh try mi nuh try dem every f**king where yuh turn, di media is what creat dis dam circus.
Mi doe like di Kardashians..cant stand not one of them..all of them make me sick but u have people wey waa read bout dem so u know how dat go
lamar open him eyes and a ask for his kids
He is cussing Khloe but he is a media attention seeking whore same as the Kardashians.
He claims he knows Lamar pains yet he is an enabler by supplying the shores and drugs.
Khloe is not to be blamed for Lamar’s illness both physical and mentally.
He is a product of his environment(look at his dad).
Khloe was at her happiest with him but he was happier with the drugs.
The Kardashian’s are not my favorite set of people but she was and is by his side when it matters the most.
Met,
I really like the fact that u posted this. I do believe that people get caught up with SM a bit TOOO much!
While I do have a few SM accounts… Mi cyaa badda sometime. Dis one vex cah yuh nuh like enough picture… U didn’t retweet this… Dem ago delete yuh…. Like no one cares!
Im like… I have a life and as a mother you have to spend QT with your kids plus work 9-5 sometimes 6… Etc. I don’t have time to nor do I feel like being in front of a PC/ phone after leaving work.
I have to take time out to enjoy life and take it in. No one seem do that anymore… Everybody wants to be a celebrity.
THAT FAMILY IS BREATHING OXYGEN BETTER USED FOR PLANT LIFE. THEM IS A WASTE OF LIFE, DEM DISGUSTING AND THE MEDIA HYPE ABOUT THEM IS DEPLORABLE. LAMAR I’M PRAYING HIM PULL THROUGH AND DO JUST LIKE THE ARTICLE SAY. KICK THE GARBAGE TO THE CURB AND STEP OUT A NEW AND IMPROVED MAN.
him damn lucky, dem obsess with white pussy so you must take the good and bad it comes with. rarely after a divorce from a black woman, a black man turns to crack but this one takes the cake. i guess the o.j simpson, tiger woods and the many other cases wassn’t enough. i am starting to believe they were really raping white women back then as this phenom of obsession isn’t spontaneous.