A 32 year-old Trinidadian male and his 21 year-old common-law Jamaican born wife have been held by police in connection with the abuse of a minor depicted in a video that went viral on social media and subsequently aired on television on Wednesday 22nd October, 2015.
The suspects were held today, Thursday 22nd, October, 2015, at around 1:25pm, by officers of the Southern Divison CID, Operational Unit under Inspector Don Gajadhar, in a room on the second floor of an apartment building, located at No. 26 Manjack Street, Vistabella.
The couple of Hutton Street, St Joseph, face charges related to cruelty as provided for under the new Childrens’ Act.
The police acting on information had the two storey apartment building under surveillance. The officers raided the apartment after a male matching the description of one of the suspect’s was seen exiting an outer door of the apartment.
Both suspects were held and are now detained at the San Fernando Police Station for subsequent transfer to the Child Protection Unit of the Northern Division.
Other officers involved in the capture of the suspects include PC Bacchus, PC Harrypersad, PC Snaggs, PC Rampersad and PC Ali all of the Southern Division CID, Operational Unit.
Police have arrested the couple believed to be the ones seen in a viral video, savagely beating an infant girl.
They were held at Jarvis Street, Vistabella shortly before 2p.m. The arrest came after tip from a citizen who spotted the two at a house.
Thousands of people had taken to social media to comment and call for the arrest and prosecution of the couple.
The infant, who appeared to be about two years old, was slapped repeatedly by a bareback man as he fed her milk from a plastic bottle.
The man, who was seated on a couch, pulled the child’s head backwards and threw the milk into her mouth. But when she refused, the man slapped her causing the child to fall over.
The ordeal was recorded by a womam who spoke in a Jamaican accent. The woman urged the child to drink the milk and was heard saying “yuh look for that”.
The video, which is two minutes, 12 seconds long, was shared multiple times on Facebook.
Police said the man and woman were identified and would be detained for questioning.
The woman is a Jamaican national, it was learned.
Investigators said the couple, who live in St Joseph, were seen leaving their home in a white Nissan B-15 car.
The couple is being questioned at the Marabella Police Station.
puck she must serve had time and a bet them gwine deport had ass right back to Jamaica,mussi think being common law wife hold huh grounds as to him give him 5-10 hard labour and if release put his ass on probation as him slip haul his ass back in deh,hope the lil girl goes into the care of better environment
Simplicity, WELL said…. But probation is not enough !
Deny that f**ker of ALL solid foods for the rest of his life and feed him through a tube with liquids only. That sure kill him ! Cuz he loves to nyaam .
Did u see the picture they post of him in Trinidad wearing his superman underwear? He jealous he still not a pickney .
As for her, I am disappointed that a woman would stand there , tape and watch this go on .perhaps she was abused herself,but no excuse . A. Man would have to KILL me first before he hurts my children or any child for that matter standing within my presence I don’t care if is not mine my blood .
The probes is that we have all forgotten that it takes a village to raise a child.-all the children in the world belongs to us. Let us protect the children . Good work police .
N.B Its not their child ..you can hear him saying that he told the mother that she does not like the milk .It seems the mother left the baby with them
Good morning update this story .apparently they were preparing to flee the country .
They were caught in a very fancy apartment in the south of Trinidad. The public turned them in . Even the picture of their house was a very comfortable living place. Word on the street is that his birth baby died at the hospital not too long ago because he beat the mother while she was pregnant .
I hope these bastards get no bail . Even if she was abused, there are tons of places she can run, hide, seek social service help . This is Trinidad, these services are widely available and funded by the government .
I can tell u one day thing, her hot couple pictures look nothin like how stressed and unglamorous she looked when she was captured last night .
I hope the law deals with him accordingly , because the public is waiting
Not one child , two…I think they were caught the night before and are now in jail