Lawyers for Juliet Holness, wife of the Leader of Opposition Andrew Holness, this morning filed a defamation suit against Dr Peter Phillips for statements allegedly made by him and associates of the People’s National Party (PNP) between 13 -16 February, 2016.
According to a release from the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), in addition to the defamation claim, Mrs Holness, through her attorney-at-law Chukwuemeka Cameron, is asking the Court to determine whether Dr Phillips breached the rights of Jamaican citizens to a free and fair election in launching a media campaign based on false statements with the intent to mislead voters.
“This lawsuit goes much further than merely seeking damages for defamation,” Mrs Holness said in the release.
“More importantly, it seeks to preserve and defend our cherished democratic process. It is imperative that we protect the dignity of free and fair elections for which our forefathers fought and sacrificed throughout our history.”
Concerns were raised as to whether Dr Phillips abused his office as Minister of Finance and Planning by knowingly making false statements in an attempt to influence the outcome of the 2016 general elections.
“Never again should the state apparatus be used in such a vulgar manner at the expense of the rights of Jamaicans,” Holness said.
Dr Phillips was given two weeks to file an acknowledgment of service.
A so it fi go! These mofokrs fi over 40 years a walk pon we as if slave revolt and independence mek fi dem alone.
Others lawsuits on behalf of the people should flood the courts. These motherfu***ng judges siddug pon dem bumbo wid nothing fi do wid dem criminal politician friends and family.
Me wan know whey we bloodc###t money de! Not even a fuking quatty eva lef ova fi surplus.. Nuff a dem politicians fi dead hot because a years a sin dem rack up.
Juliet don’t ease up because yu nah nothing fi gain but more iron inna you backbone. Nu bow a bumboooo.
Potty mouth Phantom Phoenix. Your vocabulary is severely limited.
Limited like the pay load yu puppa leggo inna yu mumma big cesspool pussC why yu retarded bumbo a breath this day yah.
Don’t fuk wid me dis evening yah me still a have cramps bitch!
She is suing more than Peter Phillips. She and her brother will be coming after you next for printing that story about Landells.
————————————————————————-
Juliet Holness, Brother File Suit Against Phillips And Four Other PNP Sympathisers
The wife of the Leader of the Opposition Juliet Holness and her brother Stephen Landell have filed a lawsuit against the Minister of Finance and Planning Dr Peter Phillips and four others arising from what they described as false, malicious and defamatory statements made against Mrs Holness twice this month.
The other defendants:
1. Omar Newell, a PNP executive member; the general secretary of The Patriots, the PNP Region II secretary and operator of a twitter account
2. Dorothy Buchanan, the operator of a Facebook account, a PNP sympathiser and the mother of PNP St Elizabeth South West, Hugh Buchanan
3. Kadia Francis, the operator of a Facebook account special assistant to Arnaldo Brown at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
4. Kerron (Zabby) Woods Saunders, the operator of a Facebook account.a franchise protection officer at Jamaica Urban Transit Company, a PNP sympathiser.
Attorney-at-law Chukwuemeka Cameron who is representing the claimants explained that it was not just an ordinary libel suit that was filed but it is also a claim in which declarations are being sought from the court to protect the rights of citizens to free and fair elections.
Mrs Holness is seeking several declarations, one of which is that, by publishing the untrue statement Dr Phillips created conditions that are not conducive to the attainment of free and fair elections.
She is also seeking an injunction to bar the defendants from making any further alleged defamatory comments.
http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/article/lead-stories/20160223/juliet-holness-brother-file-suit-against-phillips-and-four-other-pnp
Das too much time she find during this busy campaigning period.
Lolol…me wsn know if the blogger don’t see that comminalities run rampant against all who she a sue.
Poor Shani a highlight all the phuckry she a sue out dem backside for.
Met a nuh Sue Holness shi name ???
Met free and clear. This is a rebel website and no fuks are given. Juliet well aware of the democratic process of free press and public policies.
The rise of Michelle Obamerr…
THAT BITCH IS ON TEAM TOO FU@KING MUCH!!!!! SHE NEED FI GUH CAPTURE EACH AND EVERY SEAT, BENCH, POST, STUMP AND STOOL INNA THE NATIONAL STADIUM, NANNYVILLE AND IT’S ENVIRONS!!!!! IRK MI RASS NERVES!!!!! AH WHO DEM MAN???????
She is exercising her rights. Too much coward de a yard a mek people address and last name frighten dem. I will NOT support tribal politics, but I damn will will support anyone using the constitution for a good cause. We got cheated out of a debate, put up wid all kind a diversion and the wickedest act was the attempt to stir up political violence.
Again! Me a big up the youth dem fi not allowing these devils fi send dem go kill dem friends and neighbor fi no ballot box!!!! Nuff respect fi dat!
Dem trick de older head dem but today’s youth have access to information and dem own way of earning things.. Politician can kip dem pittance.
Rayyyyyy fi dat
Yes PP but she can wait till after election she deal wid dat…But what the PNP used worked against them because the polls saying JLP gaining momentum . It was a very big insult how Portia really call election when she feel like and then dont do no debate.
She have fi file now Met while the propaganda media still a look mixup fi run wid 😀
You no see porsha say she call election because it mark har 10th anniversary pon de “throne”…bax in a face thing dat! She should a call it from Oct- Nov then see she done did know she want it pon that day…then she come a second time wid out debate…she did it the first time around.
Pp a who piss u off today mi sista. ??? Yu kno mi always deppon u side ….but sue coulda wait or even ignore a so Jamaican politics stay…and nuh kill mi but a Poorsa a win back these are mad ppl
The appetite for power:lapar
:ngakak it mek nuff nyam rockstone.:D
They can sue each other for all I care
PP if you a rebel one more time yuhsii!!!! :afro:
:maafaganwati
G. Go a yu bed and have a good work day In a de hours.
Silly season is rampant I see, how does this help Jamaica move forward and prosper.
Sad to say they are public figures and as such can defend themselves publicly so not a thing not going to come out of it
She is an idiot and pp even foola..