Many of you are aware that the Chinese are building new highways in Jamaica and now people will have to pay tolls because the roads are made so that they cannot be avoided. You have to pay tolls one way or the other..Anyway, I am hearing that the land was not sold to China to build the roads, Jamaica made a deal with them. China was given a section of land close to Dunns river in exchange for the new high way……..The government does not know what China intends to do with that land………..nor does the citizens of Jamaica
China whey have pollution problems whey dem nuh care fi address ..why would jamaica give them any land beside Dunns River?? This is the big problem that the people had with the PNP..selling things out and whey dem a do wid di money from the sales………no one knows..cause if dem a collect tolls pan di road and di tolls a go to dem???????? where is that money going??
If ah coulda shake awf yuh hand…..Ask dem again Met, ask dem again :2thumbup :2thumbup :2thumbup
Going to the lady richer than obama.
Yes the selling outs were a Major issue!!! I remember as a youth i used to go back in memory lane abt coney park on mandela and all i used to say was everything ja sell out and as i got older i realise it was the party in power controled the sales of things here!! PNP :cd
G four more years would have been 4 more years of selling so mi nuh know how people a gwaan like PNP did really have Jamaica’s interest at heart..Dem nuh invest in production…dem import everything and the duty is so expensive , the people pay the penalty. They needed to go man..
Dem have big investment minister whey neva a invest ina jamaica a overseas him did a go look di invest di 5b when dem stop him because the company didnt have a good reputation. The atrocities that the PNP has done will be Jamaica’s undoing for years to come. Have KD Knight a UDC scoping out what next to sell and has never taken those monies or any IMF money n invest it back ina di country..PNP put plaster pan festering sores whey wudda tun bed sore ………not saying JLP better but there must be laws in place that will make sure the govt submits a proposal to the country before selling any landmark
:thumbup
No amusment park here none and that place was very amusing!! Smh pot i dnt consider pot and play as one!! Oh gosh who remember the water slides and the roller coaster??? NUTTN NUH DEH YAH AS FUN!!!
I have a question for you guys since i am not jamaican. Which workers were used to make these highways????
Jamaicans do di heavy work and chiney do the planning etc
Ok then cause the reason y i asked is because china made a deal with my small island and their requirements it must be chinese people to build the structure. Come to find out the sent over a whole plane of prisioners and a good percentage stayed on the island. The chinese embassy helped them gain status and open businesses as well. China does nothing if they will not gain from it.
China is trying to set up shop everywhere but its up to the government to see that the deals are good..they were in cuba too but only to manufacture medicine……. Castro not playing no games with them.
The section of the toll that just opened was first commissioned to another foreign company. They had engineering problems and was unable to complete the project. This is after jamaica spent $150 million US. The Chinese made a smart business move for them. They made a deal because they could have solved all the issues. The deal is, they paid back jamaica the $150 million that they spent with the other company that couldn’t produce, in return they will build the toll and collect from it for **50 YEARS** to make back their money then they will give it back to jamaica. The 1200 acres of land is said be to have been “given” to the Chinese and they will build hotels and casinos. Perhaps the price for those lands was in the $150 million they gave back to jamaica. The Chinese did good for themselves , they even had their flag along the road throughout construction. Chinese workers were also used with some Jamaicans. The THEN prime minister had been warned by other foreign leaders that doing business with China will not help the people of the Island. Unbeknownst to them..the THEN prime minister just didn’t give a flying F*CK about the people of the land just the “circle”.
Dem seh vote POWA POWA and PNP mean Jamaica good..wicked serpent dem.
1200 acres of land fi build hotels?? Das why dem a seh hotel a go build..These people are vile man.
@truther,
Thats the gist of the situation except for a few things.
For example there wasn’t a “engineering problem” as if they weren’t able to do the job.
The other company saw structurally they would have issues in the long run with the proposed plans to connect the two parts of highway to st.Ann.They even threaten lawsuit to the PSM administration at one point. The chinese came in and bought out the remainder of the deal and continued the project.
But here is the catch,the chinese are not more technically advanced than the previous people so i think they just said f@@rk it and do it regardless.not like it was a simple thing of oh lets change this or that for it to work.They ran into geological issues.Remember the chinese feed them people poison just make a buck,they dont care.Also the PSM admin have been warned by many scientist after the haiti quake that jamaica should be prepared and still nothing.
There is a lot of things on that level that the people are not aware of.And how the hell they gonna know or take the time to find out when all their energy is spent on survival?
Aye sah!
So dem a remove big rocks without expertise or caution ??
@truther. Thanks for the info. China has a bad habit of dumping their unwanted in the the deal. I bet if u look deeper nuff of the chinese workers have stayed on the island and probably now own small shops. And if thats how the deal go then they will be making more than 150 million US. Jamaica would be at a loss. I pay you back you 150 million US and collect mandatory for 50 years plus u gave me 1200 acres of land that i will turn around and build hotels and casinos that they will profit off of. China is not good for the caribbean in my opinion. They will make the 150 million US in a heartbeat
About time people willing to address real issues come on the site.
:maafaganwati
Be back in a bit.
@AntzNest. You’re SPOT on. Bless up!
Like him or not..thats why a lot of people find trump’s ideology appealing
I have confirmed that most of the chinese workers here are in fact prisoners. Unnu a talk bout road? Worry about the bauxite companies the want to buy.
Whey yuh dus seh??????????????????????????????????
I hear dem a tangle wid di bauxite but dem fi tell di public how many jamaicans suffer cancer because of alpart and still a battle cancer
How dem nuh come a dispute nothing being said here? lol Stupid is what stupid does. What lie Portia dem try fi feed di public nuh normal..
@ HeavyD and PP. I Would be glad to tell u all that the chinese have done in my small island. And if they just took job with geological issues then i am 110% sure that the roads will not last a good 2 years. They build the stadium on my island and it started to rot after a year. The prisoners while working started stealing neighboring farmers live stock. So you know say a real criminals dem dump on the islands
Which island are you from if you mind me asking??
Antigua
Okay
@HeavyD is right!!, they want the bauxite also. After that is accomplished, lookout for the islands water. After all , isn’t JPS privatised? So why not water commission? Around 2003 or 2004 the Chinese was willing to invest $500 million US in the islands water infrastructure. I have no clue what happened to that deal as I am “out of the loop”. Let’s also not forget about goat island. This is how China does business WORLDWIDE. The road in Jamaica is nothing compared to the fact that they own the oil in Sudan. They also own part of a very big oil company in Canada , which was the first time in history Canada sold a state owned company to a foreign entity. China is next super power. America even owes them trillions.
@ Mista Man…very good point sir!!
A wah she get out a all dem deal deh? dem fi check er affairs fi di rest a er life……how diss bring money back inna di country ?
The Chinese are all over the Caribbean. They just completed building a new Stadium in Grenada.
If given the chance Portia woulda start sell the very ppl dem of Jamaica smh
Portia get couple Chinese frock kimono she was sporting several months ago with some ugly boot.I believe it was posted on here too..lol
She give a way the land and her profit from the deal was some Chinese frack meanwhile China govt laughing at her like this Prime minister so stupid..dem like fi think them smarter than everybody else.I am sure nuff more of her shenanigans gonna be unveiled now that that the next party party in power.It always happens.Not into the whole pnp jlp business but I just hope for a better Jamaica.
All true above. Not to mention she was trying to sell the gold mine we have in Jamaica and protected maroon land. Thank God for the maroons that keep fighting. All when dem burn down we oldest abeng blowers me and kill him, she or no politician will NEVER get maroon land.