GIRL ALMOST DIED BECAUSE SHE LEFT TAMPON IN FOR 9 DAYS

A student in England who forgot to remove her tampon for nine days was told by doctors that had she left it in for one more day, she likely would have died. Emily Pankhurst, from Maidston, Kent, spent three days in intensive care and now, about a month after the incident, struggles to walk due to fatigue, Kent Online reported.
Pankhurst, 20, said she wants to share her story as a warning to others who may not be paying attention to their body during stress.
“I was going through an extremely stressful time, trying to complete deadlines for essays and everything on top of me,” she told Kent Online. “I started complaining of fatigue, high temperature and constant headaches, which I believed were stress-related. However, down below I noticed abnormal discharge appear straight after my regular period.”
Despite seeing a doctor, she was not given an internal exam and was told to take a swap herself at home, the news site reported. Her mother insisted she shower and examine herself to see if she might have forgotten about a tampon.
“I went ahead and showered and to my shock, she was right. I found a nasty, smelly, foul tampon that had gotten so far up I couldn’t feel a thing,” Parkhurst told Kent Online.
After removing the tampon, which was completely black, Parkhurst felt cold, confused and had a pounding headache. She was rushed to the hospital while her blood pressure plummeted, and doctors determined her symptoms were a sign of sepsis, the news site reported.
“The doctors and nurses rushed to my bedside. I was sent straight to X-ray to determine whether the infection had spread to my vital organs. Luckily it hadn’t,” she told Kent Online. “I had an internal examination, which I hadn’t received before, and they found major infection. My body had experienced toxic shock syndrome through battling sepsis.”
Parkhurst credits her mother with recognizing the abnormal symptoms and potentially saving her life. She now uses crutches to strengthen her legs and struggles with basic tasks.
“Girls my age are not aware of the dangers of using tampons,” Parkhurst told Kent Online. “It is so important to keep an eye on your health, especially during stressful life experiences. I hope my story can help others like myself to take care of their health and not take their life for granted, because you never know what might be around the corner.”

20 thoughts on “GIRL ALMOST DIED BECAUSE SHE LEFT TAMPON IN FOR 9 DAYS

1. Nooo dis nuh tru, mi feel she is a sex addict who love feel sumn inside her vajay!!! A period dis we a talk bout inuh! How can a woman forget that its just not possible!!! Whe shi piss daily shi nuh si di string heng dung? Shi nuh change tampons regularly? Shi must tink like dead dog!!! u know wah… mi gone.

1. I work in a doctor’s office and it has been a regular thing lately. Leave it in for up to 3 days and come to the doctor to remove it. They are simply nasty.

2. Good Morning Met,Metters,Peepers nd Others…..
    Suh yuh mean fi tell mi seh she wear one tampon a day cause if she did a change 3-4times a dat she would make it her duty not to forget…secondly the string is out so when wiping after peeing yuh nuh feel the string or when yah bade and wash out yuh pus-c yuh nuh feel the phuck’n string…this is straight nastiness

1. Have you seen the long fingernails some women wear on a daily basis? How can you properly wash your vagina with those long and disgusting fingernails?
      Some naive women use Tampons as a form of birth control, so it is no wonder some of these Tampons get so far up inside some of these women (no string hanging outside). From way back (~1980s), women have been getting septic shock syndrome from using Tampons. Why women continue to use them is not clear.

3. Bwoy I tell u I thank God for my good old granny. When it came to cleaning myself shi never ramp wid me. Ur telling me u have dis pum pum for 20 good years a bleed for about 10 to 8 years n u forget in tampon. U mean to tell me her pum pum never get a good clean wash in 9 days. I wear tampon n I get uncomfortable after 3 hours. This is just plain nastiness. Can u imagine how when she’s not on her period how she don’t bade her front in days. Lawd thank u granny I have a new love for u after dis story all dem box n lick wasn’t for nutin

4. Meed think it was a typo are sumin…9 days. How is dat even friggin possible? Shi nuh bade, are piss are nuttin an feel di string?? WTF…no iyah dis yah teck di cake. Nasty plus tax to rass…cah fram mi bawn… :siul :siul

5. How can forget a tampon in your body for 7-8 days? dah person nuh hab no juju feelings? she nasty bad or have some mental problems caz dah nuh right and if a period she deh si why she put it up deh…it nuh muss overflow? dear God..and she never smell nuttn? a har maddah haffi tell her seh fi bath and check if she have in a tampon, why would the mother come to such a conclusion? something like dis happen already? bwaay dis is so crazy!!!

6. Is it me or? But the minute the tampon is full n starts expanding I feel a lot of discomfort so a which part inna fi har big Bombo she shub that tampon meck it lost fi days? Oh n the older style ones don’t have no string a must one a dem she had but where was it fi 9 days a must ninenight it did gone to rass smh NASTY does not fully describe this gal

7. I don’t understand how she left it in for more than 2hrs. When I use to used Tamps 2-3hrs tops. She nuh wash properly.

8. You’ll be surprised how often this occur. Many of my FNP associates have seen women in the office/clinic for this same issues. I drove myself mad one night cause i couldnt find mine..I already removed it, it was the thin purple one for light days and can be easily missed.

9. I am a nurse and this is very common. You would be surprise what is removed from vaginas and rectum on a day to day basis. From condoms, tampons, fruits, the list goes on.
    Toxic shock syndrome is not as common in the US, because the FDA made a lot of safe feminine products.
    best of luck to her

10. I have heard of this happening before but i cant understand how can someone forget a tampon inside of themselves. H

11. This is disgusting on so many levels how the heck you forget a tampon in your vagina for 9days? a lil advice stop use tampons okay. it’s unnatural and unhealthy try sticking to pads and pads only. 0_o