SECURITY GUARD ASKS ANDREW HOLNESS FOR HELP

HOLNESS
‎Shuwanah Getfield
5 hrs ·
A MUST READ!!!!!am a security officer an am telling u just like the police our wrk is never dne..u r hired to carry out 1 specific duty and at the end of the day we end up doing several others which is not in our job description but if we were seeing what we were wrking for it wud do justice!am 30,I hav never looked for handouts,but just once I wud like to see my reason for wrkin! Can my PRIME MINISTER plz plz do something for security officers plz!we really do deserve it!am really trying to help my family,but becus of low rates and pay shortage this task is tedious…. I might get fired after this but we all hav rites.I knw people can atest to this.its as if we as security has no rites…I hope this group can get this message out there so that Mr.Andrew holiness can see and knw wat we r going thru!am a wrkin mother of 3 and my kids and all other kids deserve a future and good education but wat is purpose of working and still being unable to giv them this?security deserves better.TO MY PRIME MINISTER:MR.ANDREW HOLNESS✌

48 thoughts on “SECURITY GUARD ASKS ANDREW HOLNESS FOR HELP

1. That letter need to be re-written in Standard English. Attempting to read that letter had me thinking that English is not the official language of the land and that English is not taught in schools. Since most people speak Patois, English is at least our lingua franca and as such, we still need to have a command of said language.
    Along with soliciting for educational assistance for her children, she should also see if she can secure the same assistance for herself.
    Hopefully, after this letter is transliterated to English, it is then presented to the Prime Minister.

2. Workers rights in Jamaica will probably get worse under this administration and would have probably gotten worse even if the PNP was returned .Look at who he met with first .He met with people who represents a certain aspect of Jamaica ,the 21 family thing that we thought we had put behind us .
    To be honest we have some of the best civil and employment laws but daily they are abused ,lawyers won’t even take up your case as they too are connected to this cruel establishment and judges will simply dismiss your case The trade unions are linked very closely to both political parties and will only help in minor cases .
    Way forward ?
    Stop worshipping politicians and rich people and realise that this is our Jamaica that our foreparents fight to free ,Do not ask for favours or handouts when the law gives you more ,come together in groups to sue the government for the inability or unwillingness to protect you within the laws of the land.Do not side with or seek to protect people who make money from breaking the law ,people such as drug dealers,scammers,money launderers ,tax avoiders,gunmen,operators of brothels and go go clubs where illegal activities take place,employers who refuse to pay the correct wage .Please report all illegal activities when you can to the relevant authorities nad also make reports to NGO and other organisations that can help.
    It is our Jamaica.

3. C’mon Lali… this letter was not incoherent, a few mispelt words are there, yes but i understood the letter.

4. Him just get in the office why you never ask Portia. I understand your plight though its hard to raise three kids with the peanuts they pay. The goods and service cost the same as America. They need to do better the minimum wage should be at least 18gr a week. Vote for me I will see to it. Lol

1. Maybe these leaches shouldn’t have kids….did you ever think about that? These hoodrats just keep breeding up the place, getting free healthcare and have no way to support their bastards. Use birth control, tie your tubes and stop having 6 kids for 6 different man, hoping you will get support for all these kids.
      No one should set minimum wage….let the market dictate the wage levels. I don’t want anyone telling me how much I should pay a worker.

5. Jamaica is not as humble as it once was@JAy its a classism warfare and it is more intense than ever before!

6. @Lali one can only assume that ur Socio Economic background would class u among “the articulate minorities”.
    A needed lesson in Standard English was all u took from a mother’s cry for help who’s probably among Jamaica’s ” inarticulate majority “. Your thoughts to me are beyond insulting. Take a bow, u have out done Mr Pickersgill on insulting Jamaicans. My Jamaican friend with her CPA in Accounts and a mother of four Jamaican boys who are Computer Programmers,Tech and Pharmacist couldn’t write Standard Jamaican English to save their lives. Lali take your British crack taking self brain from out of the clouds. Because your always missing the point. By the way Lali, like u, i assumed that your British, and all British smoke crack.U write like an educated dunce. Always assuming, making an ass out of u, yourself and you. Don’t bother to come for me with your Oxford Dictionary 2020 fingers.Lali, kiss-kitty-k-y-minus-plus-. I found that in Collins dictionary For the dunce.By Lali.

1. No no no In truth that letter was poorly written I don’t think Lali was condescending in stating so but the fact of the matter is that over 30% of the Jcan population does not have good command of the English language which is sad to know, so yes the letter COULD be rewritten but at the same time SHOULDNT so as to show the prime what battles and tasks are ahead of him. Enough emphasis is not been placed on education I think and really without it we are doomed

1. Holness need to work on creating some adult education programs, where adults can go and learn English, Mathematics and Technology skills. However, Lali did came across shady.

1. Shady how? Forgive me for coming across in a condescending regard. That was not my intent. I run into the same problems with my Indian, Korean and Vietnamese co-workers; they are not the best when it comes to the written language and as such, they impact productivity.

2. That is how they behave whenever they migrate to England and learn the good English Language. They start to act brand new on their people. I am all for education, but I avoid those kind of Jamaicans. Espacially, the ones in England. They are very judgmental and like to call people dunce. Yes, the letter wasn’t written perfectly, but if the writer was some educated person with multiple degrees, I’m sure she wouldn’t be doing security guard work. Therefore, there was no need to start bashing her writing skills or education level.

7. There’s so many things that Andrew Holness has to take care of ya now. Whole heap!! Mi feel it fe da lady ya still.. Jah know, a nuff people a complain bout dem low wages and de living conditions in JA. A nuff people need help in all areas of life. So Miss Lady, wid de amount a damage wey get done over de years, Andrew cannot fix everything overnight. Gi de man some time fe go ova tings, and know wey fe start! Rome wasn’t built in a day!

8. Stop pretending Andrew is some sort of saviour here to fix it all and that the governments before where very cruel dictatorship .Andrew’s government will not be much different from the ones before .He will be restricted by our very limited resources and he will come to learn that we are affected by conditions beyond our shores and that his promises are based on dreams rather than reality .
    There are stuff that he can address that he will most likely not be able to address ,out of not wanting to upset powerful people or out of keeping promises he made to his sponsors .The majority of the things that need fixing in Jamaica will not be fixed over night but over a few generations .
    Looking back where we were in 1962,we have made some enormous strides ,especially in the areas of education and infrastructure development .We are a poor country that spend too much on crime solving and we need to focus on crime prevention.
    I don’t know all the answrs and Andrew will not be able to keep nearly all of his promises .I respect the PNP for not making wild promises as I think politics of promises are from the eighties and should have stayed there .

1. I wish ur leach of a mother had drank you instead, everything unnu tun round n cuss the ppl dem bout dem pickney is not fi dem
        Fault say ur f@ck don’t sweet u , u too f@cking brite, and shit for brains if the government don’t set the wage scale it leaves roofless shithouse like u to abuse the workers can’t stand unnu kmft

9. WOW, kudos to the ones who are impressed with that letter or the ones who did not find any issues with that letter. I am am not dismissing the plight of that person; however, when we represent ourselves, we’ve got to be a coherent/cogent as possible.
    Sometimes the medicine will be bitter. Before individuals can be helped, they have to help themselves.

10. Gingerngarlic Tea, all that I have done is represent myself in a manner that is reflective of an individual who tethered himself to education. Castigate me for not being impressed with a letter that is the antithesis of that which is cogent—power to you.
    British, far from it; I am Afrocentric as they come. If that letter was properly written, I would have to wait until I got toward the end to realize that it was a mother soliciting for assistance. Seemingly, you are allergic to intelligence or coherency.
    Given that you are insulted by the truth, what does that say about you? Shame on those professionals that you listed if they don’t have the capacity to communicate in Standard English (SE). Their incompetence does not justify the incompetence of this person.

11. jAY, let’s give Andrew a change. Without data points, we can’t plot graphs or extrapolate. No doubt about it, the last time the JLP was in power, they decimated our relationships with our international partners and it was the PNP were the ones who reconciled those relationships.
    This were so bad with the prior administration, so much so that the Americans saw it necessary to go on the record stating that they are going to work with the JLP. This is similar to when Michael Manley came into power after Gilbert.
    I don’t have a scintilla of time to entertain partisan politics; it is all about sustainable solutions.

12. Lali AKA anti Jamaican if I answer u today met band mi.Because when I finish drag u afrocentric ass through the patois speaking areas of Jamaica.

1. :ngakak GingagNgarlictea. Me tink you was holistic in nature…but yah kill me wid laughing :sup2:
      Lali! Leave Guardie letta alone. Poor thing a try not to expose herself fi kip de likkle work.
      Miss, there will be a special wage increase and full payment for overtime and such. It was reported last week. Bless your heart at least you trying in life.

13. @Life Lesson, I have never visited Europe in my life–much less England. If you and @Gingerngarlic tea possessed know anything about the English language, you would know better than that.
    As I have contended for years: “Mankind should strive to be its own ‘worst’ critic and (if applicable), its only critic. If not, we will meet our demise and cease to exist.”
    Don’t fault me for highlighting a concern that desperately needs to be addressed.

14. If Lali feel the lady should write a more educated letter mi waa know if that a nuh him opinion? Why jump pan him and den derail the ting fi meaningless argument? Who understand it understand it oo…And its fitting because if she dont want to be pushed around on her job the best thing to do is to go get an education…security every whey always hafi work outside a dem job description…a jus so it set

1. Met, thank you for the re-focus. All of a sudden, I am an anti-Jamaican because I am stressing education. Jamaicans are some of the most intelligent and articulate people the world has ever seen. As Mutabaruka would say, wow!

1. True true but it makes me wonder a which school or what kinda schooling some of them have …cause primary school set it suh it look like nuff a dem flunk primary school man

1. Too many children in one class for primary schools…Its not like one time where teacher could spend time with the children …suh nuff a dem lost

15. What a sad bunch. I like Lali completely lost as to what she was trying to say until the end. I hear her plight…..however her letter showcases a lot of what is wrong with Jamaica right now…unfair wages…AND the lack of education….
    Someone must be from England to mention it? Pathetic….what in the hell is wrong with Black people to want better for their fellow Black people? What is wrong with addressing the damn problem? What is wrong with wanting to be able to read through a letter without trying to decipher it? English isn’t the first language? I’m confused…worse I don’t think that is supposed to be patois….it’s her best effort….a lot of people’s best effort and it’s sad…

16. Let me use this platform to tell My Prime Minister Mr Holness u have my support in wanting to the ghetto youths and less fortunate.At Met,Metty,Shan thanks for allowing me as well as all class and creed the opportunity to inform,be informed,laugh,cry,sympathise,emphasise and vent. Shout out to all Jamaican CEO’S exec all over the world, the Jamaican students at Cambridge,Havard or whatever University. Miss Kitty u ratings large a u say “beauty and brains”. Ragashanti the stone that the builder refuse.(Jamaica was the builder) a u say “laugh, learn and grow”. The mothers with their children with any type of disabilities be strong. Bob Marley the legend, dead but not forgotten seem like u met Lali when u did the tune ” War”. Until the Philosophy that holds one man inferior to another…… Chuuuune

1. GGT dem fi do better…Mi admire Kitty and as a fellow sketel u know mi cyah stand hear Kitty wid di patois not that mi nuh like mi dialect but mi cyah tek di put on ting..mi is a sketel mi born suh and gwine dead same way so cause a so ghetto set it still..But the letter writer badda mi in a way where………she nuh realize that if u waa dictate how u work etc u haffi up u game..she want holness fix dat just fi she n she need fixing oo

1. Met, yuh know seh a you cause me fi re-think the who Patois thing. It is very relevant but it does not supplant English. Patois is an integral part of our cultural identity. However, it has its limitations.
        The most glaring having to do with the fact that it is very fragmented. It it were to be standardized, we would be able to better utilize it. Even then, Patois dependency will still adversely impact us, as we are not independent enough to dictate terms.
        As I have said before, if Patios were to become our principal language, all official documents, book, et al would have to be translated to Patois and that would further limit us on the international stage–especially after a few generations. None the less, Patois is an integral part of who we are.

1. I love my patois very veryyyyyyyyyyy much but english is important and I think it is a shame when Jamaicans cant even spell some basic english words it look real bad oo

2. GingernGarlic tea, LOL, you are funny; I won’t be critiquing that which you just wrote. Bob Marley got those lyrics from a speech that Haile Selassie gave to the League of Nations and those lyrics have nothing to do with what we are talking about today.
      Dig this: “Never make a politician grant you a favor. They will always want to control you forever.” ~ Bob Marley

17. Well,I live in England,work in education,including adult education and I can say most English people dunce like bat and have very weak command of the language,example it is normal to mix up brought with bought.Honestly that is so normal in the UK that it find it’s way to their social media and there is another problem.They can’t tell the difference between they’re,there and their.
    In conclusion,majority of Jamaicans speak only Jamaican and write a mixture of Jamaican and English.Language is for communication and if you understand me and me understand weh you a seh ,everything shoulda criss from dessuh?
    And it is not about derailing a topic,sometimes the discussion just head in another direction.

18. It’s time to eradicate the plantation school system we have. School should me 100% free, and the standard age of graduation through all 12 grades should be 18.
    Too much young people finish school and take on full adult life early, or they stop going to school because of money. Schooling must be 100% free…and enough of this subjects crap! It help add to the classism system. If a child a dunce a just their station in life that, but they should go all the way till age 18.

19. I don’t think the letter should be re-written for two reasons.
    1. I understand what she said and what her plights are. 2. It highlights the disparities in our society (education wise) and that is something the “new” prime minister needs to hear and in this case see. Let’s be honest if this was a “well articulated” letter with an extensive vocabulary we would be asking different questions like
    1. How she sound so bright and she a security guard.
    2. She can get a better job with har education (assuming she is educated) and many other questions.
    So the letter should stay as is, all it need is a air-mail envelope and a stamp!

1. A pleasant goodnight to you…i am the person who wrote that letter….thanks for understanding…. However I didn’t want to come off to the prime minister as this well articulated person…I did graduate high school with 3 three cxcs with a grade 2 in the English language… I am an intelligent person that knows how to have a constructive conversation..But in truth and fact most security officer do not have proper education. I have 3 kids and am always working to take care of them…so my kids are not a bother to anyone ..furthurmore they attend good schools..my intelligence capacity does not defy who I am.thank you.