T&T COURT ORDERS SCHOLARSHIP WINNER TO REPAY $3M IN SCHOLARSHIP MONEY

A Trinidad and Tobago High Court has ordered a national scholarship winner to repay more than TT$3 million to the state after he failed to honour the conditions of his scholarship.
Justice Nadia Kangaloo ordered that Dr Ryan Wellington, a 2003 Open National Scholarship recipient repay the government TT$1.7 million with interest in the sum of TT$1.3 million and thereafter continuing at a rate of 7.75 per cent.
He is also to repay the prescribed costs of TT$194,227.98. There is a stay of execution of the ruling until April 15.
The Ministry of Education said that Dr Wellington, who currently resides abroad, was awarded the scholarship in 2003 to obtain a Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) at the Royal College of Surgeons, Dublin, Ireland, for five years.
Neteller-money-scam-Optimized
“Pursuant to such award, the scholar signed a Scholarship Agreement on 6th September, 2004 with the Government of Trinidad and Tobago whereby he agreed to report immediately to the Scholarship Division of the Ministry of Public Administration (MPA) upon the conclusion of his course of study and make himself available for employment with the Government for a period of at least five years. The MPA was responsible for the Administration of Scholarships at that time. The Ministry of Education (MOE) now has such responsibility.”
It said that the obligation to repay the loan would be waived automatically once he served the period of five years in Trinidad and Tobago.
During the trial on Monday, Dr Wellington’s attorney made an application for an adjournment of the matter, but the application was denied by Justice Kangaloo on the basis that the scholar was given sufficient notice of the commencement of the trial.

10 thoughts on “T&T COURT ORDERS SCHOLARSHIP WINNER TO REPAY $3M IN SCHOLARSHIP MONEY

1. Good, why should the tax payer pick up the tab for his education only for him to turn his back on them.T&T nuh have Millon’s to just waste. We (inna the Caribbean) need good, highly qualified doctors (Europe have enough docs for their people). So I know that’s why he got the scholarship inna di first place. Him disgusting bad coming like any jancrow belly.

2. Yuh Neva read di fine print Dr. Wellington….yuh country give you di means fi further yuh education and den yuh run wey and don’t look back pan dem…go serve di ppl of t& t first or go back di money….I agree…

3. Dem Mr Dicta. U couldn’t give dem 5 years of u time? Since d money sweet u so u muss a mek nuff so pay back dis likkle “smalls”

4. It was not an unreasonable request, five years is not a long time over 40year career. Him tun tapannaris and tink him too good fi care fi him country ppl now. How him gwine be doctor widdout any integrity…kmt

5. Common practice in the Cbbean. Usually the scholars earn enough in one year overseas to pay off the bond. No tangible return on investments for the govt.