Minister of Finance and Public Service, Audley Shaw
KINGSTON, Jamaica — Minister of Finance and Public Service, Audley Shaw, a short while ago disclosed that funds that should have been set aside from the existing gas tax have already been used up in the consolidated funds under the previous People’s National Party (PNP) administration.
The Jamaica Labour Party (JLP), in making its election promise to implement a threshold of $1.5 million for Pay as You Earn (PAYE) contributors planned on using an estimated $9.5 billion from the gas tax to assist in funding the expected $12.5 billion that the tax plan would cost the country.
The disclosure means that the Government has to institute other plans to fund the loss from the reallocation of revenue from the existing gas tax.
Shaw is however reassuring the country of the Government’s commitment to providing the proposed tax break to employees. He was speaking at the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ) President’s Forum this morning
All fools day come early lol,
Yes to rhatid
This issue is bigger than where the $9.5 billion went. Why did the aspirant Prime Minister promise something that he did not have? I warned against this. Was it the intent or expectation for the prior government to collect the gas taxes and hoard it? By promising something that he did not have, Andrew Holiness was being politically reckless.
If the PNP knew that the funds weren’t available, why did they not say something? It is plausible that they were waiting for this to explode in Andrew’s face. Hopefully, they can account for the appropriation of said funds. Politics as usual.
On top of that, they are promising that the remainder of the funds will come from better tax compliance and tax amnesty and the people bought that. LOL!
What are they going to tell us if the ‘promised’ tax amnesty does not work out; not to mention the better tax compliance that was also promised?
“Never make a politician (aaa-aaah) grant you a favour; (doo-doo-doo-doo) they will always want (aaa-aaah) to control you forever, eh! (forever, forever)” ~ Bob Marley
There is no such thing as a good politician.
From United States to Jamaica politician take people for fools..How can u promise people thing on a budget that is not set by u? How come’s after u win the election u know that the money gone..man stop mek poor people fi fool cuz u Mr Shaw spend more than that to mek sure u win yu seat su give the people what was promise
Same old Audley Shaw. Who yuh thinkyuh fooling tthough sir, everybody know yah liad and trickster longtime that’s why them never choose you to be the leader of the party. Find the people dem money ooooooo!!!!!
Yessir !! Welcome to the world of the top liars and lawyers. The Jamaica liad Party. Mi a tell yu too gang control Jamaica ….dem nuh ramp fi se dem cah and nah
LOL!@that idiot lalibela bout where the money went…Mi hate bumboclat fool like yuh…because unuh willingly fool and don’t read yet love chat chat bout weh PNP do wid money…obviously it spend because dem collect it fi spend it lol You think shaw neva know this ? You really think PNP theif 9 billion ? Do you not know corruption in 2015 was at its lowest level in Ja’s history ? Why not just accept di plan neva sound or practical from morning ? There was no way to make up 31 billion in loss revenue using any means. That 12 billion dollar figure is freaking lower than the actually 31b cost of the plan – he reached 12 billion by proposing to raise taxes on those making over 5m per year..yet the lying f**ka stated him can do something to help them..
Read this carefully
Here are the facts
Jamaica got trick and dem confuse the lickkle hungry belly people dem weh would vote for dog if the bark promise dem 5 grand – dem gwuan like dem have it worse than everybody else in the world..
Now the numbers – you need to read these two articles to form your judgement
Article 1
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/commentary/20160327/editorial-cabinets-paye-dilemma
The plan was so f**ked up it made people making 1.79m per year get a lower take home than those making 1.5 or less..So you as manager ago take home less than people you’re managing. This nuh right unda any circumstances and honestly this means people ago waan pay cut and which f**king company naw go willing fi pay you less ? Then who ago pay for your pay cut ? and you naw pay no tax ? poor bloodclat people – this was always the problem.. Back to the numbers
The article point out to “The cost of this fix could, credible estimates suggest, be between an additional $6 billion and $17 billion, which could mean higher taxes. The Government, in the event, could consider widening the net of the general consumption tax, increasing the tax on petrol, or even consider a tax on financial transactions, which it once ridiculed”
Think about that ? just fi mek this proposal fair and logical and nuh cause major chaos it would cost another 6b and 17b. This is so f**king awful. Who ago feel the pain of more tax pon gas ? seriously ? SHaw inna himself must realize it better fi tek di political hit or even hand back the gov to PNP than go through wid this because it can cause major disruption.
Article #2
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/focus/20160221/crunching-numbers-paye-proposal#.VsnRCYA8qQs.twitter
Me ago post some quotes from this article ..but it’s worth a read
“However, it is estimated that such a proposal would cost approximately J$31.247 billion per annum, a level of revenue loss that is simply unaffordable in the context of the current economic reform programme endorsed by the IMF.”
“In its current format, the proposal would create an administrative nightmare for employers and this will be further compounded where marginal relief mechanisms are incorporated to deal with the inequities noted above.”
“any marginal relief rate above 35% produces a very steep increase in effective tax rates above annual income of $1.5 million. Even at a marginal relief rate of 35%, the cost of the JLP proposal with marginal relief would be approximately $19 billion”
So all when dem increase tax pon fi people making 1.5 and above it ago still be 19b – aka this naw one thing fi fo wid gas tax…the shit just neva did ago add up
Article 3..here is shaw promising fi help people making 5m per year – seriously ? how much people dem ago help so ? whynot seh him ago help di people weh na-have shit ? Why di lucky ones wid good jobs deserve so much support – corrupt mindset of JLP…
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/news/20160311/shaw-says-tax-relief-coming-higher-level-earners-too
@LOL, satta please. Saying that the money has been spent is not enough. Please mitigate your hostility. Do you know that the purpose of that tax was to raise funds to maintain the roadways, et al? I have been on the record many a times stating that the JLP was underestimating the cost of the tax cut and I have questioned the wisdom of creating such a tax shortfall. Especially since Andrew stated that the money would come from better tax compliance, tax amnesty and the gas tax.
Again @LOL, satta, my question is valid, transparency is imperative. Stating that last year was the least corrupt of years does not mean that there wasn’t any corruption. Please get out of there with your partisan self.
If the funds did available times 2 the plan still couldn’t work. If the money suppose to spend pon roadways why Shaw think him can tek it tun inna fund fi offset tax breaks ?
Mi concern is the bankrupt ideas proposed by JLP..Man haffi partisan when the other party damn lie and honestly lack good ideas to bring the country forward. This is the best of Andrew ? LMAO…This is what him come up with ? What next ? At the very least Portia wasn’t experimenting with the country – she had a steady hand but the f**ing licky licky people dem sell her out fi get 18k weh nuh exist. It’s embarrassing and sad reflection of Jamaican public sphere when things like this happen. It’s better to lose while making sound suggestions instead of proposing lies to idiots to gain power and nuh have a clue of what to do. Deep inna my heart mi hope dem wreck di country so people know neva fi trust JLP again for another 20 years like the last time. In my eyes JLP is not even a good opposition as they’re dishonest and willing to do anything to win back power. Mi nuh like see black people get taken for fools at no point and seeing how black JLP a deal wid the people suggest no respect for Jamaicans. But Lalibela, mek mi tell yuh this – Jamaicans nuh hate nothing more than a con man lol..And when you promise dem anything – 10 years down the line dem remember it – the public a set good fi JLP next round and you better pray and home it nuh come soon.
How him can earmark money while being in opposition? And den a come a talk say pnp use the money? That’s jus bullshit. Mi did done see all this a happen a swear. Mi know a some big f**kery tax ago come in fi offset dat if it even happen any at all. April Fools!! Dumb f**kin labourite supporters. Audley Shaw and the whole jlp a the biggest connist dem in history. Dem push Andrew up a front cause him a new face and the ppl will tek to him but a same old jlp bullshit!
How can someone promise something they don’t have ?
I called this the day they mentioned the plan. It’s the same thing they did last time. Made promises then went into office complaining about what pnp did.
But to howmJmaican ppl foolish just will still remove d tax but not on the set date but enough time to use it in another election.
Ppl should put pressure on jlp I personally know a lot of ppl looking forward to the extra money.